We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Get A Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #21 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I decided to have a romantic get a way before the Holidays. The JW is a wonderful property. The room was great and very well decorated. Lobby was festive and the Christmas tree was a great photo opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25R0bertD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,194 - 1,200 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here for a conference which happened to coincide with the premiere of the Hunger Games Catching Fire. I was on the 17th floor, but the party sounded like it was right outside my room. A fire alarm went off in the morning forcing me to walk down the 17 flights of stairs. The lobby plays an endless loop of all the parties put on in the LA Live area, which I suppose is supposed to impress people. On the plus side, the rooms were nicely appointed and spacious. Stay here if you're caught up in the Hollywood or celebrity scene, but otherwise, look for somewhere quieter and less pretentious.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is one.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoiseBaylorBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We used valet parking for a recent stay (because you have to). We parked the car on Saturday and picked it up on Monday. When we were on our way home, we discovered that an iPod and auxiliary cable were missing. I called the hotel, and they emailed me a claim form. I filled out the form and sent it to Maarco & Associates in Woodland Hills, the claims administrator for the parking lot. They said that their sign at the front says they're not responsible for items left in the vehicle, so they're off the hook. I thought it was interesting that the hotel told me that "This stuff hardly ever happens--this stuff never happens." Hmm. I hope the valet's kid liked his/her iPod they got for Christmas.

No complaints about the hotel itself. It's great, but the parking situation sucks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We loved this hotel. Stayed here 27th dec for 1 night. Check in was quick & pleasant, room lovely, view not great, shower not bathtub, just what I wanted. We went & had a drink in the bar to toast our visit to LA, expensive, but worth it for the ambience, service & great Christmas decorations all around. When we went out to eat that evening it was magical to step out the door straight out to the Tree, skating rink 7 hundreds of people looking at all the lights & enjoying the holiday. We had breakfast next morning, great menu choices, we all enjoyed it.
We would stay in this hotel again as we enjoyed everything about it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeBeeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were visiting LA for 3 days and had tickets for a concert at the Staples Center which is why I chose this hotel. The hotel was perfectly placed for attending the concert and there are a number of places to eat in the LA Live area, we all enjoyed the Yardhouse.

The pool was very clean and great for a morning swim. We didn't eat in the hotel as both the food and drink prices were fairly expensive.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

From a tourist perspective we found it easy to get to Hollywood on the subway. It's a 10 min walk to the subway station and the area felt safe enough.

There is also a regular bus service that goes out to Santa Monica. The stop is a couple of blocks from the hotel so very convenient.

If we hadn't been attending a concert at the Staples Center then I wouldn't have chosen this area as a tourist. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the JW Marriott and would recommend it if you need to stay in downtown LA.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have not been in LA for a number of years, but was pleasantly surprised at my stay with the JW Marriott at LA Live. The room was large, bathroom and shower outstanding, the service was great, and the location was the best you could ask for. Staples Center is 50 yards away, great restaurants, shopping and people activities were included in the LA Live center. This is the only place to stay.... Our experienced was made even better when the Michigan State Spartans won their game in dramatic fashion, to take home the 2014 Rose Bowl. All things considered, this was the place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PISTONS15U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the JW for 5 nights on the second leg of a wonderful Cali vacation - right before the Michigan /Stanford Rose Bowl Game. Needless to say - the Michigan energy at the hotel was at a fever pitch. Despite all this I would like to report a remarkable instance of customer service. On Dec. 31st, our daughter met us at the hotel ready to hike up to the Griffith observatory - highly recommended. I had a backpack, fanny pack etc. At the start of the hike I noticed that the fanny pack with my drivers license, cash and Amex card wasn't there. Must have left it at the hotel? Went on the hike, had a fabulous meal in Los Feliz, toured downtown LA, finally making it back to the JW around 4pm. Went to the room - no fanny pack - flying out the next day. There was a message on the phone - lost and found had an item they thought belonged to me! The gal brought my fanny pack to the room - she said one of the bellman brought it to the front desk and they turned it into her. Wow. Customer service is alive and well at the JW in LA. I can't thank you enough for a wonderful stay which could have had a very stressful ending. Happy New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#6 of 352 in Los Angeles
618 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 352 in Los Angeles
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#57 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,228 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#75 of 352 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £242 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing