We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #22 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, average services”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great hotel location, next to the Staples Arena, where i had business. Lots of activities and restaurant.
Room was ok, large bathroom, clean, needed a few extras but ok.
Big disapointment was the wifi and parking...not for free.
Staff was not really visible - Everyone looked like they had somewhere to go. and if you dont share tips around there is no minimum attention.
Breakfast was ok, lots of choices and good food.
Overall, very central and worth the price. Staff need to be more down to earth and realise that people are people and need attention even if you have onr not huge mountains of gold.

Room Tip: Upper floors and ask for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiaeeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna l, Sr. Admin Assistant at JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Der ZiaeeA,

Thank you for staying at the JW Marriott Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE!
We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us improve our services to our guests. Please, accept our sincere apologies in regards of our staff service. Your feedback has been shared with the Leaders in the Front Office. Also note that your comment in regards of wifi and parking have been taken into great consideration. We hope we'll be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future when your travels bring you back to Los Angeles! Once again, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    738
    188
    68
    46
See reviews for
337
379
94
1,000
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

You really can't beat the location if you're in LA for a game, touring downtown, or attending a concert. The staff is friendly and eager to please.

The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable with great amenities.

My only complaint is the expense - $42 valet parking (though if you want to see a Ferrari, Rolls-Royce, Maserati, or any other high-end car all you have to do is wander the parking garage) is bad enough. A small pizza and a 8 oz bottle of soda will run delivered to your room will run you $35.

On the other hand, as a platinum Marriott guest, I was given a voucher for breakfast in the restaurant for Sunday morning since the concierge lounge was closed. That was well worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcmanke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The service is terrible. They also charge the guests for internet (12.50 a night) while the public can come in and use it for free. Funny how holiday inn can provide it to their guests for free.
If you are having anything sent over night forget having them notify you when it comes in. That would be you obligation to check. The shower amenities are so so, especially for the price you are paying.
I also called the hotel manager twice to complain about a problem (David McDaniel) and never even had the courtesy to return t least one of the calls.
I guess Marriott has gotten to big for their britches and will soak their guests while smiling.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwe2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna l, Sr. Admin Assistant at JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Kwe2351,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback in regards to our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all comments, as it helps us improve the services we provide to our guests. We would like to apologize for the opportunities you encountered at our property. Your feedback has been shared with our Ladies and Gentlemen to assure a recurrence can be prevented for future visits. Once again, thank you for sharing your review, and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
1,695 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I've stayed at 5+ JWs in the last few months around the world. This one is pretty nice. Its a big hotel but with plenty of staff around you can always get what you need. The location is excellent if you need to be downtown. Just steps from the Staples center and all the downtown hot spots. The rooms are very nice minus a few issues: The blinds don't do a great job of blocking out the light and the cord to raise/lower them (my room had 5 sets) are in hard to reach spots. The water in the shower was warm, not hot. No turn down service!

The lounge was very good. The pool was a hot spot for people watching. Valet parking was excellent but it cost more to park for 3 hours than it did for overnight.

I'd stay again.

Room Tip: 21 is the top floor. Pool and executive lounge on 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is a nice modern JW in a good location. There are lots of restaurants and bars on the door step. The room was a good size, well appointed and very modern and fresh. However, probably the least helpful and least friendly staff I have encountered in a Marriott (I normally stay around 120 nights a year in Marriott) right from arrival through to departure.
We drove to the JW and when we pulled up we asked for self parking, as it says on the website but the attendant informed us there was only Valet at a staggering $42 a day when we asked if there was anywhere else to park, he said he didn't know - despite the fact there is a car park right next door and across the road. We parked right across the road fro $20 for 24 hours.
We had concierge lounge access, the staff in there are very unfriendly. Breakfast is served until 10am but arrive after 9.45 and you are out of luck, no apologies when its packed away its done. They also an out of real basics like croissant and orange juice 3 days out of the 4 we stayed.
Long waits at reception, no engagement from the staff they just process you.
In short, perfectly good hotel and great Accommodation in good location and will be good for you if service isn't important.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna l, Sr. Admin Asst. at JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am sorry to hear the service you received was substandard. Service is a core focus of the Marriott brand, and is certainly something we strive to provide in a manner that exceeds expectations. We are constantly working with staff on their service levels, and we look forward to welcoming you back and demonstrating a much better customer service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel on business in January 2014. I was very pleased with my room and the hotel itself. Great atmosphere and vibe. My room overlooked the Staples Center and I could hear the cheering for The Lakers. I thought it was pretty neat, but may bother some people. The Nokia Theater is right there too. The People's Choice Awards were going on while I was there so we had a couple of star sightings. I'm not sure I would seek out this area of LA to setup camp on a vacation, but if you need to be in this area the JW Marriott Los Angeles at LA Live is a good choice.

Check out Casa Nostra Ristorante for amazing Italian food!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollFace73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were in town visiting family and stayed at the JW. Hotel was very nice and the rooftop pool was fun. Only downfall, the hotel was located in kind of a crumby area. the only things we found close were a couple sports bar and ESPN bar that was pretty cool.
So be sure to rent a car so your not stuck in the area.
We saw a Red Sox vs Angels game while in town so that was fun too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna l, Sr. Admin Asst. at JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Jeff M,

Thank you for your candid and constructive review. We greatly value your insight and have taken the opportunity to share your comments with our team in order to improve our service delivery. We look forward to having you with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#39 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
600 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#68 of 351 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing