We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DTLA Hub - Great Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #21 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“DTLA Hub - Great Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am a loyal Marriott Rewards Member so I am always looking for "deals" for a weekend getaway through the Elite Program. Downtown LA (DTLA) is a great destination even though I live only 45 miles south of Los Angeles. This is the 5th time I have stayed at the hotel and it never disappoints. Look for packages and special promotions - it will most likely be cheaper and it may even force you to get out of the room and explore LA Live and the downtown LA area. We opted for the package that included GRAMMY Museum + Regal Theater + Valet + $50 hotel credit + Deluxe King Room. The room was AMAZING (room 1576). It was an end unit and windows wrapped around the entire large room. The bathroom window wall (yes I said window wall) looked over Nokia Theater and Staples Center as well as the pool. The gym was really nice (they even supplied headphones which was a nice touch) and the $50 credit was perfect amount for a nice room service breakfast. Staff is always great and we always end up at the lobby bar for a nice drink and great people watching (it was the Clippers Playoff Game and FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour so lots of people in the lobby bar!). Make sure you venture out downtown. We love our favorites:

- Bottega Louie is a loud hip restaurant with great upscale pizza/salads/entrees and drink (don't forget all the macaroons and decadent desserts)
- Mas Malo for Mexican Food - ask for "chewy chips" if want something new!
- Seven Grand (a MUST for handcrafted whiskey drinks - ask the bartenders to make you something off menu - you won't be disappointed!)
- Golden Gopher - Cold beer and a great jukebox (trust me!!!)
- Cana Rum Bar (rum bowls, rum bowls, rum bowls)
- Rivera (great menu)
- Alma (make sure you make reservations in advance)
- El Cholo Cantina (wicked Cadillac Margaritas and guacamole)
- Cole's or Philippe's (The Original French Dip Sandwich). My favorite is Cole's (love the atomic pickles!)

You also have your pick from all the "chain" restaurants in LA Live, but our suggestion is to explore the restaurants in downtown - not as many tourists and better food/drink. Tip: for a great view go up to WP24 (located in Ritz Carlton) for appetizers/drinks. Also, catch a performance at Orpheum Theater - it is a great venue to see anyone perform!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe king on the end - amazing wrap around windows and bathroom window wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBMBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    744
    190
    68
    46
See reviews for
345
382
94
1,006
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel was nice. The location is great for LA Live. The rooms were good sized. Comfortable beds with nice linens. The staff was friendly
.
The 4th floor pool area is inviting and you can get some great views of LA Live and the surrounding areas.

My only complaint about the hotel would be the outrageous fee they charge hotel guests for overnight parking. I find it ridiculous, in general, that hotels charge guests to park when they are staying at their hotel but $42 per night is beyond ridiculous!!! There are no other secure parking options available so guests have to pay.

I would never stay at this hotel again based on the fee for parking. This is not Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna l, Sr. Admin Assistant at JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear christyreznor02,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay and location of our hotel! We are sorry we did not meet your expectations in regards to parking. Currently we offer a self- parking rate which is comparable to other full- service properties in downtown, but we understand your frustration with the parking rate. We appreciate your business and hope you will continue to use our facility when in Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed here for a conference for five days and rate this property a 10. I wanted to stay on a concierge level floor, but it was sold out, so front desk representative allowed us access to the executive lounge, which was also amazing. Breakfast in lounge was superb and the staff there was even better. Room was on the 15th floor and had nice view downtown. I dined on property, LA Market, a number of times and the food and service was perfect. Saw a Clippers and Lakers game and it was a 4 minute walk from the property. Room was sizeable and bed was comfy. Lobby was nice and really enjoyed the outdoor couches for waiting on cabs/car service.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best.
See more room tips
Green Features: It was nice that they employed green practices. It encouraged me to re-use towels and conserve on water consumption.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GallagherLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a problem with this hotel honoring a hotel credit applied to valet...it was an offer from Travelzoo that I confirmed by phone with a JW Marriott reservations rep...but once we arrived to check-in, we were told the credit could not be applied to valet. After some back and forth, we decided to just use it for room service the next day instead of having breakfast nearby like we had wanted. In the end it worked out okay, however for this hotel class, I think they should have honored the credit, especially since I confirmed it with a rep.

PROS:
• location and decor
• room service: coffee and food were both fresh and delicious and delivered promptly in a half hour
• corner suite had nice views

CONS:
• hotel credit issue [read above]
• lots of unused space in the suite...could have been furnished better
• no tub, just shower
• flatscreen TV had a lot of fuzzy channels...maybe the TV wasn't HD?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouseofJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you are going to stay in downtown LA, you have to stay here. Great location, it seems like it was in the middle of every thing in downtown. We stayed here to catch a Lakers game and it is literally across the street. Apparently opponents of the Lakers/Clippers stay at this hotel along with TV personalties. We ran into Doug Collins and J.A. Adande (ESPN analysts) in the lobby before a game. The room was amazing with a great view and the staff members were helpful. The bakery in the lobby probably had some of the best tasting pastries I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The rooms are very spacious, quiet and clean with stunning views of LA if you ask to stay on higher floor levels. The entrance and public spaces are impressive and modern. During the week I stayed there, we spotted several great sports athletes among the guests. The pool area was great too. Altogether a cool and agreeable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lullabymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, which is what you'd expect from a JW. We had a corner room with a view of downtown and the Hollywood sign. The room was spacious and well appointed. Mi loved the bathroom with it's huge tile shower. It got super steamy & stayed toasty warm because it's almost completely enclosed in glass.
We booked our room there because 1. I am a Marriott Rewards Gold Elite Member 2. Because of close proximity of the StaplesCenter (we were catching a Lakers game that night)
The Dallas Mavericks were their opponents and stayed in JW as well. We saw the players throughout the hotel. I would have to bet that all opposing teams (as well as a wide variety of stars) stay here or the Ritz Carlton (which is adjoined.)
The lobby is beautiful. There are many places to dine within the JW & Ritz as well as a great selection right outside at LA Live. We had a wonderful dinner at Wolfgang Pucks, which was a 2 minute walk, OUTSTANDING service at the bar of WP 24 at the Ritz Carlton & a delicious, healthy breakfast at the LA Market restaurant in the JW, the following morning.
I highly recommend booking this hotel if you are going to be in the LA area.
Oh but one tiny drawback, if you don't want to hear any noise from the street, ask for a quiet room... Ours was right on the street on a Fri night, after an NBA game. It was busy until about 3am, we were on the 10th floor & could hear it all. Didn't bother us, but it can definitely get on your nerves if you're wanting a quiet night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 350 in Los Angeles
724 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#6 of 350 in Los Angeles
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#43 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,194 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#73 of 350 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing