We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #23 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Room was excellent. The hotel is right in the heart of downtown, right by the Staples Center. It appeared to be very updated and new. The rooms were spacious, clean and very nice overall. As a only a silver level Marriott Rewards member they gave me a great room with an excellent mountain review on 18th floor.

Perfect place for my trip. Walking distance to the offices I needed to visit. All other colleagues in the hotel were pleased as well. Colleagues in nearby hotels did not have similarly good experiences.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank WakePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    712
    182
    66
    44
See reviews for
320
362
92
954
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is very nice, it is your typical upper echelon hotel, wonderful staff, very good food and a few nice choices for cocktails. We checked-in without any issues and only waited about 30 seconds on a very busy Friday. The hotel location is ok, completely depends on why you are in LA - we walked everywhere and did not have a problem but just like any major city be aware of where you are going and be sure to ask first.

The pool is just ok, they could use more shade and better pool service, we didn't come for the pool so its was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike-5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This review is intended for Courtyard by Marriott, 901 Olympic Blvd since it does not exist on Trip Advisor.

As a first experience in L.A, we loved the location in the center of L.A and next doors to the finest restaurants and the Staples center. The hotel itself wasn't great for 2 main reasons. To park your car in the basement, the valet charges you $41 per night which in nature should be complimentary for the hotel guests. Since the valet is being outsourced to a 3rd party, the hotel has the perfect formula to make the most out of your stay. As for breakfast, the reception did not proactively inform us of breakfast timings and location and we ended up eating outside while the buffet was included.
To sum up, we feel the hotel is over priced with poor standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgitani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were in la to visit the college my child will be attending in the fall. I didn't expect the jw to be as nice as it was, given the location and how busy it is. The check in was so quick and easy. We arrived before the 4pm check in and our room was ready. The front desk person was very helpful giving us info on what was going on in hotel and answered all my questions. Our room was nicely appointed and very clean! There are notices in the room letting you know about recycling, if you care to use your towels more than one time and how often they change bedding. Our room was roomy enough beds were comfortable. Pillows were a little too hard for us. I appreciated the fact that guests needed to use a room key to get to a floor on the elevator. The jw is extremely busy with conventions and what ever is going on at the staples center, so there are people there that are not guests. The hotel has several good places to eat and drink. The pool is rooftop, clean and great views. There is a rooftop Wolfgang Puck restarant and more casual cafe. We happen to be there for the NHL championship. There were so many people there but it was totally fun. The bar/restarant in the hotel was great. Staff seemed to have things under control and service was still good. When the crowd spilled out onto LA Live they closed for about 20 minutes cleaned up and opened up again not missing a beat. Our checkout was just as easy everything was in order. There is a kiosk where you can check in with your flight and print out boarding passes. If I have one minor complaint, it's that when we arrived no one asked if we needed help with our luggage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana3225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stay Saturday night! Went to see a concert at the Nokia La Arrolladora Banda El limón de Maztlan Sinaloa Mexico! From the moment Juan valet man open the door of my car to the moment I got back in my car! Everyone! every hotel employee I came across where super friendly and always with a great smell! I felt at home! Did not want to leave! BEST hotel staff! Visit Juan and Greg at the lobby bar the best! Perfect weekend thank you JW Marriott ! Oh ya the hotel is super cool !

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolochito454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at this hotel for a work conference. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and just totally LA. The check-in very painless. There is a Ritz that is attached to this hotel also. The hotel is on "lock down", so if you have friends wanting to visit you, they need a key to get up to the rooms.

Some of the rooms have walk-in showers. I would ask for a room with the walk-in shower, as they are really big and nice water pressure.

Room Tip: There are lots of neon lights, so if that may bother you, ask to stay away from them. The shades in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcki60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
672 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I would like to say outside of a few minor problems (mainly with the valet retrieval) this is probably one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. The whole hotel is part of the LA Live complex and it is something just to walk out the back of the hotel right into an entertainment complex, now if you are attending something at the Nokia Theater or the Staples Center it doesn't get any more convenient then this place. The rooms are very nice and for being a big hotel it is relativity quite as we were there when the Kings Won the Cup and outside of the roar of the crowd when they won it was not too bad and there were thousands right below us in the plaza (we had a room facing the Staples Center) so unless you are there on such a night it should be very quite. The lobby is like arriving at the airport, there is energy in the air and plenty of things going on around you, also there are plenty of dining choices and a theater right next door. Now the negative to the hotel is if you have a car you HAVE to valet park the car ($42 a night) and the retrieval process needs some work, we called down and were told that the car would be ready only to find out we had to wait an additional 15 minutes to get the car; now I understand I am not the king of the hotel and there are other folks staying there to, but when you call 30 minutes in advance how much more time do they need to have your car ready. I would have rated the hotel a 5 but took one star away due to this as it happened twice. Also bear in mind the those on the Staples side of hotel might wind up with a view of the large video wall on the side of hotel or the bright light coming off of it.

Room Tip: If bright lights and noise bother you, you might want to ask for a room facing the front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#32 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#26 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#38 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing