We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bel-Air
Ranked #1 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The most perfect hotel in the world, bar none. Quiet, elegant, secluded. The staff are so professional and helpful and warm. The pool is stunning and you don't want to leave the rooms. The restaraunt is the greatest place to eat and watch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear hnya,

It is absolutely wonderful to hear you feel Hotel Bel-Air is perfect. That is the highest compliment we can receive. Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us…from the service to the rooms to the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    96
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
129
308
36
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a true 5 star hotel. It is very intimate with beautiful grounds. The walkways smell like jasmine. We stayed at this hotel twice. It is not unusual to see celebrities here. Our room was beautiful with a private enclosed patio. The bed was extremely comfortable. The towels and bathrobes are luxurious. The room has an iPad for service and electronic lighting controls which are a bit more complex then need be. The products in the bathroom are ample and luxurious. There is a pool and a Wolfgang Puck. This is an excellent romantic getaway but VERY expensive. Everything is expensive- even to park you car. This is a real splurge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Andrea T,

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were provided a true Five Star experience and felt that your getaway was a very special one. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a third visit in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This Hotel has it all, it is quiet, clean, newly renovated, the service is perfect, the food is top, the hotel has great class and charm, the staff is very polite and pays attention to every details, hotel guests are of quality , not noisy parties, great pool and fitness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Olivier M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Bel-Air. I am thrilled you were so happy with all aspects of the hotel... from the rooms, to the service, to the overall ambiance. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Bel-Air in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyover Red State
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was our first visit to the Bel Air since it was renovated. The owners had the good sense to leave the grounds intact, as this is what sets it apart from almost any hotel I have ever visited. The new decor is a little modernistic for my taste, but it is done well. The light controls in the rooms are needlessly complex. Wolfgang Puck's restaurant is good, but still needs some tweaking. The major problem is with the bar. It is a nice venue and features first class entertainment, but the management allows non-BelAir types to hoot and holler during the performance without a cautionary word. I communicated this to the management during check-out and I trust it will be remedied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio and off the beaten path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear yeaux,

It was a pleasure welcoming you back to Hotel Bel-Air. We truly value and appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit, and I share your opinion that the hotel's grounds are truly enchanting. Your concern regarding the Bar & Lounge will in fact be addressed, as we strive to create an environment that is entertaining yet also pleasing and comfortable. Please accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort you experienced. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Bel-Air in the not too distant future, and once again, thank you for your candid feedback.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Bel Air Hotel is a very special place. It is situated right into Bel Air, in a neighborhood of the largest most grandiose celebrity mansions. Even weird that a hotel is there in such a residential high-end area. You get in by the parking lot, which has always 4 to 5 valets at the entrance all dressed in navy blue jackets with a unique white striped collar. After leaving your car, you need to walk over a small bridge that crosses the pond and swans, all covered by jungle like trees and a vast amount of blossoming flowers. The whole place is very secluded and service is highly personalized. Do not try going if you do not have a reservation for the restaurant or a room. In fact, there are no “rooms” as such at Bel Air, but more mini private villas. So each is a standalone small building with its own garden and stonewalls around. Are they incredibly great rooms? No, but they are comfortable and have everything you need. Bathrooms are clean and contemporary. Flat panel TVs are Bang & Olufsen. Beds are very comfy. Once you’re in you can stay there and relax, wandering in the wilderness seclusion of the property from your villa to the pool or spa, to the bar and Wolfgang Puck restaurant. In fact the restaurant has a nice outdoor setting and for guests there are secluded “alcoves” where you can hear neighbors talk but you shall never see them nor be seen, being surrounded by two walls and a third one of dense vegetation. To give you an idea how secluded it can be even inside, we were there for a few days at the same time as Shakira but only saw her once when we crossed the entrance bridge one afternoon when we were going out to the Santa Monica and Malibu. In terms of service it is strange how the Dorchester management does not seem to be able to get it right in the execution, follow-up and precision. The service is very personal, very friendly but do not expect anything close to flawless in execution. For example, if you need a taxi to catch a flight, book it yourself to make sure you do not miss the flight. We had several little things like that which we do not experience at other properties like Aman or Four Seasons, but they were so nice it was just not possible to complain! I would even say the service has somewhat of a resemblance to what you expect when you go to a secluded island resort.

Would I return? Absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BonVoyageFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear BonVoyageFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience at Hotel Bel-Air. You are right in that our location and grounds are unique and very special. Set on 12 acres in the middle of the beautiful neighborhood of Bel-Air, the hotel provides the ultimate environment for an urban retreat.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us including your dining experiences at Wolfgang Puck at Hotel Bel-Air. I am extremely concerned the service provided to you did not meet your expectations and that we were not able to execute your requests flawlessly. This certainly does not reflect the standards we hold ourselves to here at Hotel Bel-Air. Please know that I am addressing your concerns with the staff and can assure you that you will be provided with the five star service we are known for on your return visit.

We look forward to your return, hopefully it will be soon!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yountville, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We just returned from a long weekend in LA and this was my first time at the Hotel Bel-Air. I think this has to be one of my favorite hotels I've ever stayed at and definitely my favorite in LA by a landslide. Everything was great from the service to the quiet neighborhood setting to the actual property itself.

We hardly left the property since the food at the restaurant was great and the staff was so friendly (very professional but also warm and welcoming). While i loved dinner there, we especially loved the outdoor bar seating and the wonderful banquettes for breakfast. The staff even stored our wine we purchased to take to the Hollywood Bowl and then delivered it to us when we were departing for the show. I found the pool calm and relaxing as compared to the Peninsula where it practically requires man to man combat to get a chair.

We had a mid-Canyon room (#369) with a very nice patio. The decor was great and the bathroom was amazing. Next time back (and yes we're already planning it) we may try an upper canyon room for something different but our room was very quiet and close to the pool and restaurant but tucked away so it still felt very private. It was great having such a unique property as compared to most modern cookie cutter hotels. The recent renovation really did a great job of maintaining the charm while giving you every modern convenience (as compared to the Chateau Marmont which is charming but not modern or frankly comfortable).

Already looking forward to a return visit in December.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NapaTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear NapaTJ,

It was wonderful welcoming you to Hotel Bel-Air for the first time. It is even more wonderful to hear that we are not only your favorite hotel in LA, but one your top picks worldwide. This puts a huge smile on my face. I am happy you enjoyed dinner in our Wolfgang Puck restaurant, particularly the outdoor seating. When in Los Angeles, it is an absolute must to dine outside.

We are looking forward to your return visit in December and we highly encourage you to experience a new room next time. With 10 different room designs, all with different layouts, Hotel Bel-Air is truly unique in this regard and you certainly won't find any shortage of accommodation options.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

“My first time back since its two-year and $100 million renovation, I was happy to find the iconic hotel continues to host a sanctuary of calm and serenity within the city of Los Angeles. Spanish-style architecture, cascading bougainvillea, flourishing mature gardens, faultless service, delicious food, fabulous guestrooms, luxurious spa treatments, refined ambience, and the same classic charm it’s always had. An unbelievable place with a reputation it warrants. We had an absolutely delightful stay, I shall return. And soon! This famous gem of a resort within a city is now one of my very favorite places to stay … anywhere in the world”

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Consigliera-S,

It was a pleasure welcoming you back to Hotel Bel-Air. I am pleased you had a delightful stay with us and will be returning soon. It is most exciting to hear you consider us one of your favorite places to stay in the world!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Property: Hotel Bel-Air
Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077-2909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. Just opened after a two year transformation, this Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All newly renovated rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing