We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bel-Air
Ranked #1 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this place. It was a last minute decision to stay here before going across to Vegas, and it was definitely the right decision.

Everything is in great settings, the rooms are amazing and the staff great. They even posted a postcard back to our pals in the UK for us.

Really helpful, would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Harvor,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Hotel Bel-Air. I am so glad to hear that you decided to give us a try and thought it was ‘the right decision." From the settings, to the room, to the staff, to the service, it seems as if you enjoyed. This is just what we want to hear. We truly appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your next visit. And may we suggest a quick stop by on your way home from Vegas?

Best wishes and enjoy your visit to Las Vegas.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    97
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
138
316
38
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
202 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

All things right set to get the 5* aspects you are looking for: service; room; facilities; setting; food; location; atmosphere; breakfast; Not one thing which did not feel right about this place. A place to advise

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Lialis,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hotel Bel-Air. Your kind words mean a great deal to us and it's wonderful to know that you experienced Five Star service levels in all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
234 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Hotel Bel Air never disappoints! From the moment you step out of your car and are greeted by the friendly and attentive valets, to the second you walk into the cozy lobby, you are treated to a true 5 star experience. The hotel is nestled in the beautiful Bel Air neighborhood and you will thoroughly enjoy a daily walk in this peaceful enclave. The setting of the hotel is so refreshing after a long day of shopping or simply fighting the LA traffic. It is literally a breath of fresh air to retreat to the serene environment they have created at this property.

During this trip we stayed in one of the Canyon Suites. Other than the Loft Rooms, these are my favorite rooms in the hotel. Our room had a very large balcony with a seating area around a glass fireplace and a Jacuzzi with two lounge chairs in case you felt like a little privacy instead of heading to the pool. If you are splurging for a suite, my pick is either this or the Loft Rooms. The difference is really in the bathroom, which is a highlight in the Loft Room or the balcony/Jacuzzi which is the best feature to the Canyon Suite. If you want to be close to the spa and workout room, stay in the Loft Room. Canyon Suites are really off to themselves at the opposite end of the property.

Thank you again to Dawn, Catherine and Nathaniel for all of your assistance during our stay. The front desk ladies and gentlemen couldn't have been more kind. They truly are so helpful and kind. But you will quickly find that everyone at the hotel is quick to know your name and to greet you with a smile every time they pass you on the grounds.

Whether you sit quietly by the pond to watch the swans or just stroll the grounds admiring the amazing landscaping and foliage, you will enjoy every single second of your stay and you will quickly realize that the Hotel Bel Air is unlike any property in LA! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: I prefer the Loft Rooms or the Canyon suites. I would suggest that if you are a light sleeper, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBHAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear JBHAtlanta,

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you felt you were treated with a "true 5 star experience." This is our goal when interacting with each and every guest, so your kind words mean a great deal to our entire team. I am also so pleased to know that you took the time to enjoy our enchanting grounds. This really is one of the things that makes Hotel Bel-Air so special.

Thank you for your detailed feedback on our suites. Our Canyon view rooms and suite are among our most popular, along with our Loft rooms. So you are in good company in counting these among your favorite accommodations. As for spending time on the patio and enjoying its hot tub and outdoor fireplace, it really doesn't get better than that ....

Please know that I will also share your lovely comments regarding our team members. Thank you for referencing them by name so I can reach out to them individually and let them know how they made such a positive impact on your stay.

We, and our swans included, very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I know there are some who are not fans of the new refurbishment, but I say it works. The bedrooms and bathrooms at this hotel are an object lesson in how to get it right. This is a pretty blissful place to stay which oozes luxury at every turn. Beautiful bedlinen well appointed bathrooms with lots of fluffy towels great lighting in the bathroom, good tour of all the gadgetry in the room (ipads to control everything) from Brian and lots of technical help when we couldn't manage to get the internet to work which was greatly appreciated! Breakfast is not included in the rate but the chef's influence extends here too, with pancakes being flavoured with exotic spices and yoghurt served bircher muesli style.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Luxuryloafers,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Bel-Air. I am thirlled to know that you are fond of our new design, which speaks to a new generation of Bel-Air aesthetic while still reflecting the glamor of our storied past. It's also great to know that you enjoyed our well appointed guestrooms, complete with iPads and a variety of technological "gadgetry." And you made a great choice by choosing our pancakes for breakfast - they are my favorite!

We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polotsk, Belarus
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a lovely weekend in Bel-Air enjoying this hotel. The staff were great, and they attended to our needs immediately. This is the most beautiful hotel in Los Angeles. Tucked away in a Canyon off of Sunset Blvd this glamorous setting is the perfect hotel for that weekend getaway, wedding or private party.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAURYLCHYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear HAURYLCHYK,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you consider us the ‘most beautiful hotel in Los Angeles.’ This is a wonderful recognition, especially considering the wide selection of hotels in the city. It means a great deal to us that you felt so well cared for by our great team of service professionals. Pease know that I will share your feedback with them. And we too appreciate our enchanting location in the heart of the city ... as we like to say, so close yet so far.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is the most beautiful hotel in Los Angeles. Tucked away in a Canyon off of Sunset Blvd this glamorous setting is the perfect hotel for that weekend getaway, wedding or private party. The hotel entrance is old world. There are ponds with swans swimming around. The restaurant is one of the best in the world and the service is like no other. The rooms reek of romance. Everything about this hotel is first class. They leave out nothing. This is "the hotel" to stay in when you are in Los Angeles. You will talk about it for years.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29yankeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear 29yankeegirl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Bel-Air. Your heartfelt feedback is exactly what we strive to create for our guests and it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. If we are able to provide all guests with an exceptional experience from the moment they cross our bridge until the moment they depart, then we are doing what we are supposed to do. And it's great to hear that we did just this for you. Thank you for considering us the most beautiful hotel in Los Angeles, complete with "one of the best restaurants in the world with service like no other." Your kind words mean a great deal to me, and I will share your feedback with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Los Angeles and Hotel Bel-Air in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The gardens the bar the ambience all so beautiful. The rooms all amble along on one or two levels no elevators jus like little casitas. Rooms are beautiful some with fireplaces that they come and light for you The Beverly Hills Hotel would be better for children. This hotel is like being in a resort in the middle of LA

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Summ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Summ111,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel .... from the grounds, to the bar, to the ambiance, to the rooms. The hotel's enchanting setting, right in the heart of one of LA's most treasured neighborhoods, truly is one of the things that makes Hotel Bel-Air so special. Thank you for appreciating this unique feature of our beloved hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,142 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
710 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Property: Hotel Bel-Air
Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077-2909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. This Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing