We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its' reputation”
Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bel-Air
Ranked #1 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Having previously stayed at the Beverley Hills Hotel,we decided to opt for the Bel Air on our last trip to Los Angeles.

The hotel's location is beautiful - high up in the leafy streets of Bel Air. Friendly welcome by the parking attendants (who remembered our names throughout the stay). Very good personal attention from the reception staff - completely avoiding the Reception Desk.

We had a garden suite with private patio. Very private, and beautifully appointed. Very spacious with separate dressing room. Furnishings are eclectic, and very comfortable. We were slightly disappointed that it was not cold enough to warrant lighting the fire. The private patio peaceful and lush, with water feature. We checked in after a long flight from London, and the hotel was the perfect place to unwind. WiFi was easy to use inside and outside.

We spent the first afternoon around the famous oval swimming pool. Service at the pool was slow to start (couldn't find anyone at first!), but very attentive from then on. We absolutely loved the grounds and gardens - a real oasis, and spent about an hour wandering around.

Breakfast was a real event - try and grab one of the tables overlooking the stream. Loads of visitors and guests alike all trying to look and act important - very entertaining.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

Located on 11 acres in a very upscale neighborhood across from beautiful UCLA campus the Bel Air takes you back in time. Everyone knows your name here, or tries too and it makes a nice impression. The rooms are decorated like a modern grandma and the current construction is noisy and dusty. We moved rooms once to get away from the construction noise only to have a room next to the road. A very busy road. $1600/night and it would have been nice to have quiet.
Food was fine, we ate light in the bar with the piano player.
Service great. Brunch food was ordinary fare. Good neighborhood for walks or jogging and campus has some nice museums if you aren't into the LA scene.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samsbbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

You have high expectations when you are booking the Hotel Bel Air, you expect the best and the good news is you get it. The actual property itself is stunning, beautiful gardens and very tranquil.

On check-in we were delighted to be upgraded and the room (#103) was lovely. Not huge but extremely well appointed. I'm a nit-picker but I couldn't find a fault. It was also very conveniently located right across from the pool entrance. It had a small semi-private terrace.

The quality of the amenities was all first class and the staff were extremely professional and helpful.

You don't expect the extras to be cheap at this kind of hotel... and they're not. A small, and I mean small, lunch by the pool was $100. Parking is also an additional $25 a day - a lot but no more than any other hotel in LA. The valets were also very charming and welcoming.

Any complaints? Well just one. The service at the pool for lunch was very slow. We waited 45 mins for our food which is not really acceptable at any price, let alone the prices here.

If you stay here, you won't be disappointed though. Treat yourself, you'll feel like a movie star and you might even find a few by the pool! (we did)

Way more discreet and exclusive than the Beverly Hills Hotel which is also great but feels much more mass market.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank napple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

my sister was getting married here at hotel bel-air so our family stayed here as well. and we had such a nice time here. the rooms are immaculate and beautiful and the landscaping was perfect in every way. the wedding reception was actually held at this courtyard right in front of our room but while they were setting things up for the reception, we didn't hear much noise.

the service was just great and i would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lcpstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

The service I received at Hotel Bel Air was flawless. From the minute I arrived to the moment I left, the staff was genuine, friendly, attentive, and made me feel welcome. The property/ grounds were impeccably maintained and gorgeous from the front entrance to the most remote location. It's private, secluded, and luxurious, yet not intimidating and pretentious. I would recommend Hotel Bel Air to anyone who is looking for a romantic getaway, looking to get away from the real world, or is traveling with a pet, they have a fantastic program for dogs! This is one hotel that you must enjoy once in your life...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank squef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My wife and I have just spent five days at the Bel-Air. In my view, it is probably the best small hotel in the world, and will certainly be so when its new spa is opened. The hotel is ravishingly beautiful and sits in exquisite gardens. The pool is stunning, rooms are perfect, and the food is exceptional. However, what really sets the Bel-Air apart is the extraordinary quality of staff. They manage to deliver perfect service, but with great charm and personality, and without being obsequious. That is very difficult to achieve and is very rare.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bigal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

It's just sad to watch it happen. A hotel with a great staff and great location is slowly, slowly declining. The Hotel used to be the highlight of several trips a year for us. Lauren Bacall taught one of my daughters to swim in the pool, Brendan Fraser charmed my kids with some of his wedding cake, and Reese Witherspoon helped me find a watch we lost by the pool. Today, the property starts to feel musty and neglected despite the terrific staff (some of whom we've know for over 20 years). The coveted north wing rooms with their own parking are no longer - cranky furniture, just plain weird bathrooms, and smokey fireplaces aren't kept up. The once plush cottages and beautiful grounds are running down - the jarring mixture of extraordinary plush and cut corners starts to grate on us at over $1000 per night. Musty old Reagan-era types get a smart salute from the Manager and Kathleen Turner's natural underarms flow in the bar while civilians get sniffy treatment from the newer staff members who just don't have the grace of the good old days - like 2005. If there was one place that should be able to deliver on luxury and coddling, it should be the Bel Air. It just isn't cutting it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PeterJanopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,202 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#10 of 355 in Los Angeles
645 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077-2909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £455 - £1,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. This Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing