We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
Ranked #32 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellant stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have no complaints about the hotel, it was very good for myself and my family. we had stayed here based off reviews and pricing, and was pleased. easy access, excellent front desk and concerige, close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    420
    215
    81
    58
See reviews for
155
266
90
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed there for a business trip where the company paid for my stay so I can't comment on the price or value I the hotel, but I was very happy with the stay. My room wasn't filthy, but there was a Cheerio right under the edge of the bed that wouldn't have been there if it was cleaned correctly. Everything else seemed to be cleaned okay. The bed was nice and there wasn't a lot of noise so I could sleep well, and I live out in the country so sleeping in a downtown area is sometimes difficult. The entrance was very nice, my room had been updated so I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The LA Hotel is completing a major renovation as part of its transition to Hyatt. Many of the common areas are complete, and the rest are a work in progress. The parts that are complete, especially the lobby and conference rooms, look pretty good. The rest of it is still a bit of a patchwork, some dated and some more up to date. The rooms seem larger than average. Overall, it is a very solid business hotel that is in the process of becoming current. There is really nothing wrong with it. There is just nothing to really set it apart from a typical downtown upper end business hotel other than the staff. The restaurant had a good breakfast buffet that was actually better than I expected. Otherwise, it is just a good corporate hotel.

The staff is very personable, kind and efficient. The valet and doormen are very cordial and welcoming (perhaps some of the genuinely kindest I have come across).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having grown up in Los Angeles, I did not know there was another hotel so close to the Westin Bonaventure. I decided to stay here out of curiosity for a weekend of a race in downtown LA. A banner on the front of the building stated that the hotel was undergoing renovations to become a Hyatt, but I couldn't tell there was any construction going on. The lobby was spacious and beautiful. The room was clean and spacious as well. The bed was comfortable.
There is an option to self park in the building across the street. At night, the parking lot is a little scary because it's so empty, but it ended up being cheaper than valet parking at the hotel. After the fact, valet parking when checking in would have been nicer, because you have to walk out of the parking lot building, cross the street and go up the hotel drive with all your luggage. When you have your key card, there is a path that connects from the parking building to the hotel that is convenient.
There is plenty to eat within walking distance from the hotel and a Metro stop near by too.
I had a better time at this hotel than the Bonaventure. I will remember this hotel for future needs now.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolkim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at the LA Hotel downtown LA for a conference and had such a great experience I wanted to share it.
From the bell & Valet staff to the front desk they treated me with respect and such a friendly welcome. The hotel has been completely re-modeled and the lobby and front entrance are so beautiful. From the marble floors to the amazing furniture, the lighting above the registration desk it all works together. But with all that I've been in beautiful hotels before, it's the staff that's amazing. I just can't say enough good things. This was a business trip but I was able to walk outside for a few miles in the afternoon and the surrounding area is interesting with lots of coffee and small restaurants, I wouldn't say it's a family place but if you don't mind walking it's really a beautiful area. We walked to the "Perch" for dinner and view of the city with live music,,,breathtaking view again adults, romantic and a special place.
The room was clean and well appointed, I could have slept in that bed all day!!!
Thank you, Kay

Room Tip: My room was on the PH floor with a south facing view, very nice sight of the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayzzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times since the change from Marriott to Hyatt and there has been good progress. Pros. The rooms are good if you make sure to stay away from the highway side. They are spacious and comfortable. The staff is very helpful, friendly and professional and thanks to Emanual Javier, Eric and a Victor. The only negatives are that only the lobby has been renovated and they need to focus on the restaurant and bar as all the guest hang out in this area. Also, that the housekeeping staff woke up everyone this am with loud talking. They also did an ok job of cleaning as my bathroom was not well cleaned. Overall thus was a good stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Faulkner8251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

No doubt this location makes it a great business hotel but if you are a tourist staying there on a weekend forget it. Everything around the hotel is closed and there is no complimentary wifi. The rooms are great, breakfast is good and lobby is spacious as would expect in a large downtown business hotel

Room Tip: Look elsewhere if on holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
696 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#49 of 351 in Los Angeles
708 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The L.A. Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L.A. Hotel Downtown

Property: The L.A. Hotel Downtown
Address: 333 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1001
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The L.A. Hotel Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the financial district of downtown Los Angeles. 400 Guest rooms and 69 suites are among the most comfortable and spacious in the downtown area. The L.A. Hotel Downtown offers a beautiful outdoor heated pool, a restaurant and one lounge. Close proximity to many attractions including Staples Center, LA Convention Center, L.A. Live, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Cathedral, Dodger Stadium, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studios and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The L.A. Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Los Angeles Downtown Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing