We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was told Hyatt just bought it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
Ranked #32 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is now a Hyatt and I believe some level of refurb is ongoing.

All in all a good, large hotel with all you'd expect from a Hyatt, but I have to say my room, while large and comfortable was a little uninspiring and dated, and didn't smell fresh. There was a bit of a musty odour.

The bar/restaurant is OK but nothing special. Breakfast was very good; excellent authentic huevos rancheros from the Mexican chef.

Overall, fine but uninspiring. Location seemed good and central for restaurants etc, but I don't know downtown LA.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

I was there for a conference, and the facilities were fine but nothing extraordinary.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms that have recently been completely refurbished to avoid getting a tired o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Everyone connected to the wedding party agreed - the bed and pillows are very comfortable! They also liked the large, nice lobby. Other than that, the hotel is what you would expect. If you will be two people to a room, make sure to say so, otherwise you may have an issue with storage space for your things. Also, the larger rooms have a comfortable chair to sit in, some of the others only have a desk chair. The housekeeping staff was great. If you need to be downtown, this works well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First time in LA and we did not know what to expect. The hotel is situated in the financial district and is in a good location, walking distant of restaurants and shops.
The hotel is under currently being renovated and will look stunning when finished. The staff were very helpful and professional
The rooms were a good size with 2 queen sized beds.

We ordered a pizza and sat in the bar to eat it, the bar was nice and relaxing, after being out for the day t was nice to just chill and relax in the bar, again we could not fault the staff or the service.

We never ate breakfast in the hotel, but if you went up the escalator from the lobby and cross the bridge into the other building opposite, on the left hand side was a cafe which opened at 7.00 am, you got an excellent breakfast in the cafe.

A good experience overall, would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Although under remodeling, it was done very inconspicuously. Very nice room décor, with a great rain shower and very comfortable beds. The people at the front desk were very accommodating. The ballrooms were large enough for rehearsing almost 300 of us. The blocks are extra long in LA, but we were able to walk to many of the sites, especially the Disney Concert Hall, affordable places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel as part of a vacation tour. In the middle of our stay, the reception staff started to harass us to provide credit card for deposit. We told that there is no need to be worried because our car is kept in the hotel park and we will pay when we check out. Until then, the staff locked our room keys each time we left room and did not allow the tour leader to check out. We felt very sorry for being put in such a situation. The attitude of the staff was over protected for 100usd expense only. We decided not to spend any money for this hotel and left earlier then our time. I do not recommend this hotel to any one as they do not know how to treat a customer.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank OG D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The LA Hotel Downtown is undergoing a makeover! It was a Marriott earlier and is being rebranded as the Hyatt Regency! There are changes that are visible - and, it surely has the potential to be a great hotel in the LA Downtown area.

The staff at this property are fantastic and have a very positive attitude to go beyond the last mile in their service.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators and not overlooking the busy road below. Choose a high floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aneesh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First time in LA for myself and my Fiancé combining attending a conference and spending a few days exploring the city
LA Downtown hotel provided a great location within easy reach of downtown LA and conference centre.
Staff very helpful and professional, especially reception staff member from Limerick!
Food quite good, though breakfast buffet could be better, not the best selection ever experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank atomicstevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#45 of 354 in Los Angeles
730 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#97 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The L.A. Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L.A. Hotel Downtown

Address: 333 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1001
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £152 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The L.A. Hotel Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the financial district of downtown Los Angeles. 400 Guest rooms and 69 suites are among the most comfortable and spacious in the downtown area. The L.A. Hotel Downtown offers a beautiful outdoor heated pool, a restaurant and one lounge. Close proximity to many attractions including Staples Center, LA Convention Center, L.A. Live, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Cathedral, Dodger Stadium, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studios and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The L.A. Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Los Angeles Downtown Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing