We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you're desperate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Gardens Hotel
Ranked #210 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't stay here unless you're desperate.”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Unfortunately I had stuffed up our reservations and booked the wrong month at another hotel!!

We were in Hollywood and desperate for a room for 2 nights - the staff at the other hotels had sent us here - I wish we hadn't been but there were very few places available and we had already tried other hotels that were booked out.

The lobby is nice and yes it's free car parking and free wi-fi in the lobby only.... BUT the rooms were old and yukky. The bathrooms are getting very very old and a bit mouldy. The rooms were dusty and the carpet didn't look like it had been vacuumed properly, the door to the balcony wouldn't open properly.

Not nice - I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    68
    63
    56
    45
See reviews for
95
46
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Good location, very close to Hollywood. Big rooms with separate kitchen. There is a pool. Breakfast is terrible for us Europeans, but we didn't expect ´t more. Overall good place to stay at when you explore Hollywood and Universal area, very close to Mullholland drive and scenic drives.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The room was very clean and the place was quiet. Except for the night we heard the poltergeist! I can't claim that everyone will be visited but we thought it was a gas! Only the next day did we find out that this was where Janis Joplin died!

This is a piece of Hollywood history. Check it out!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask the clerk to point out the room where Janis Joplin died!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CalifTravelerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGB1022, Manager at Highland Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to take advantage of our loyalty rate for return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights in April 2012. I usually dismiss extremely poor reviews as most of the time it's somebody who is overly sensitive, however, I wish I never stayed here.

Apart from the lobby, the rest of the hotel is straight from the prehistoric era. The bathroom is a joke, there's nowhere to put your clothing or toiletries, I'm only 5'9" and the shower was tiny for me, if you're 6'+ you will be hating life, shower temp and pressure were dismal.

The rooms furniture was all falling apart and aged, certainly didn't look clean either, featuring blood stains. We had to prop the fridge up to be able to even open it. The beds were wobbly and noisy, comfort was not a highlight.

The internet, don't even bother. We were lucky enough to have a room at the end of the building and we pinched WiFi from the neighbourning hotel.

The hallways had gaping holes in the walls and dust/dirt from contractors doing work. You'd walk down the hallway and leave footprints on the carpet.

Front desk staff were blunt and didn't seem to care much at all.

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Period.
Do.Not.Book.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KOzols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGB1022, Manager at Highland Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. The hallway was being renovated during your stay and has been completed. We would have been happy to relocate you to another part of the hotel if we had known of your dissatisfaction. The hotel is constantly being renovated and updated. If you return we would be happy to upgrade you to a newly remodeled room at no extra charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

It's a very welcoming and comfortable hotel to stay at while visiting la. It's very convienient and pleasant ... I recommend this place also because it has a pool, large rooms, Internet and its close to hollywood blvd as well as restaurants and stores

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillcist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Over all, I was very happy with what I got for the price I payed. But that doesn't mean I was impressed with the hotel itself. There are difinitely much better nicer hotels.

My boyfriend and I got a 2 bed with a kitchen because that's all that was available when we tried to book last minute. So it was over our budget, but not too much over. And it was worth it since we were able to save money and cook some of our own meals in the kitchen.

The kitchen actually wasn't too great. It had a handful of mismatching silverwear, two small pots, a few plates, and a few cups. I was dissapointed they didn't have a pan. They also didn't have a dishwasher, or even anything to wash the dishes with! I figured that room service might take care of that, but they didn't. So we had to get our own sponge and dish soap.

The beds weren't very comfortable. My boyfriend had back pain every morning when he woke up.

The rooms were pretty clean, but what we found in the bathroom was disgusting. It was this jumble of.... what looked to be black larva! I'm not really sure what it was, but it was wiggling around and it was gross. There were multiple of them. We just washed it down the drain.

The room had a TV with a lot of channels, so that was nice for when we just wanted to wind down and relax. They had a pool, which was great because it was scorching hot when we went in August. However, the pool was extremely chlorinated. Even worse than a water park!

The location was fabulous. We would walk just a little bit and right there was Hollywood/Highland. They had a Metro Station close by as well, so we could get around very easily.

In a nut shell, our trip was great and the hotel wasn't too much of a problem. If we had more money we could have gotten a nicer hotel, so we knew what we were getting ourselves into. Get this hotel if you're looking for a great location and a cheap price. Don't get it if you have more money to spend and you want something more upscale.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celeste C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights, and i wish we didnt!
The reception area is quite modern and clean, but thats it! Our room was old and not the cleanest ive seen, but it was ok. The room also smelled like propane gas, because of the stove in the kitchen. This was very unconfortable as we had to sleep there. We had the doors open when we were in the room, even at night, but it didnt get any better. The porch door was big, but we had to close it when we went outside because there was no lock on the screen door.

The reseption told me that there were no wifi in the rooms, only in the reception, but i logged on from my room anyways.
The pool was dirty and there were very few seats around.
The breakfast REALLY dissapointed me. Coffee and a danish is NOT breakfast!

But even though this hotel has A LOT to learn and improve, they have a good location not far from the Hollywood Bouleward. They also have a garage underneath the hotel.

I wont recommend to stay here unless its an emergency...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ER2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#186 of 350 in Los Angeles
378 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#190 of 350 in Los Angeles
583 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#90 of 350 in Los Angeles
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,132 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Gardens Hotel

Property: Highland Gardens Hotel
Address: 7047 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Gardens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Highland Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Gardens Los Angeles
Hotel Highland Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing