We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review”
Review of Venice Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Venice Beach House
Ranked #14 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2012

my likes,
- abbot kinney room, very cozy with lovely patio
- very homely hotel house, cozy and homely
- location great for venice shops, bars and restaurants
- own car park and parking available by the street-side
- good location to get out of venice
- very relaxing and quiet location about 2.5 minutes from the beach

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Espergaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

We loved this spot and were sorry to leave. It's a beautiful craftsman house with remarkable original detail, and the location near the beach is fantastic. The staff were very nice; the breakfasts ample and delicious; the rooms quiet; the bathrooms spacious and clean. There are many lovely spots in the surrounding garden to hang out, read, eat breakfast, or have a drink, so be sure to leave time just to enjoy the place. The tired condition of the mattresses did produce quite a few laughs among our family, but we would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We spent 4 days here last summer, to be honest, the house is may be 50 meters from the beach, very close to the Venice pier. Nested in a beautiful garden, you'll want to enjoy a glass of wine in the patio after a busy day in LA and a dive in the ocean. The rooms are beautiful, our kids had an appartment downstairs with their private bathroom. Our room upstairs was cosy. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. We'll be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at Venice Beach House for one night in March 2012. The house has a lot of character but is in need of some serious updating in terms of drapery, carpet, linens. My husband, daughter and I stayed in the Aimee McPherson suite at the back of the house. It needs freshening up to get the musty feel out of it. I felt like I was staying in my Grandma's basement. Also, beware that the yahoos party until 3am and are always walking past the house howling at the top of their lungs (perhaps this is what Venice Beach is always like??)
I think this property would be lovely on a warm sunny day, as the grounds are beautiful and the beach is a stone's throw away. Unfortunately we had a cold, drizzly day. It is in a good location, you can walk anywhere you would like to go in Venice Beach and the price is right.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms looked cheerier and sunnier than the rooms at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickering4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

As long as you remember that this is a beach house, built in the first ten years of the 20th century, then you probably won't be disappointed. It is a period house, very relaxed, slightly eccentric, only yards from Venice beach. We had the Aimee Macpherson Suite for 3 nights in April; the room was very large but the decor was a bit tired. Breakfast itself was fine but there should be more tables made available for guests. Overall we enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NDW_Wimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Venice Beach House is a delightful escape just a block off the bustling Venice boardwalk. Despite its proximity to the beach, it is a quiet oasis, full of entirely charming Victorian detail. Each room has a historical theme and our room (the Abbott Kinney, after the founder of Venice Beach) had a sweet tiny balcony that overlooked the verdant courtyard. The staff was helpful, breakfast was fine, and it was a wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here for the last part of our honeymoon and i have to say, it was such a treat, it was a pity we couldn't stay longer than the 2 nights we were booked in. The staff are really helpful and the location is perfect if you want to be amongst the Venice Beach vibe. This was my first time to LA so I was thrilled with having the beach 2 seconds away. The breakfast is great and the female staff are all very friendly and nice and helpful. One thing about LA is the distance it takes to get around, so taxi rides can be expensive if you don't have your own hire car. We bused it a few times which was fine. I didn't think i'd like LA as much as i did and am keen to head back. If i do, i definitely would look into staying at Venice Beach house again. Oh i forgot to mention how beautiful the bathroom is too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahGinFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
802 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,366 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#97 of 355 in Los Angeles
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#61 of 355 in Los Angeles
554 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach House

Address: 15 30th Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4378
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: £156 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Venice Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Venice Beach House is a restored craftsman house just a 3-minute walk from the beach. A daily breakfast and free Wi-Fi are provided at this charming B&B. The individually decorated rooms and suites at the Venice Beach House have a sitting area with cable TV. Each has a private terrace with lush garden views. Select suites feature spa tubs. A daily breakfast with eggs, yogurt, and fresh fruit can be enjoyed on the covered terrace. After a day of exploring, guests can relax with an afternoon tea service featuring homemade cake or biscuits. Beach House Venice features an on-site library and room to relax in the common area. Guests can lounge in a comfortable chair with a book by a stone fireplace. Featuring sightseeing, dining and shopping opportunities, Abbot Kinney Boulevard, Santa Monica Pier and 3rd Street Promenade are within 3 miles of the bed and breakfast. Venice Beach is a great choice for travelers interested in beach walks, people watching and sunny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Venice Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach House Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing