We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cosy and well-located: couldn't ask for more”
Review of Dresden B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dresden B&B
Ranked #9 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Dresden B&B was an absolute pleasure to stay at. It was a shame we were only there for one night! Dresden was very accommodating and made us feel right at home. She helped us with driving instructions to our next destination and suggested places to visit. Her home is very cosy and has all the necessities. Our room was very comfortable and clean. As previous reviewers have mentioned, there is no breakfast, but there is ample space in the fridge to store your own groceries and the kitchen is well stocked with utensils. A lovely stay and definitely recommended for anyone who is looking for a non-hotel experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Dresden B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

First of all, i would like to say sorry for Mrs Dresden since i have been home for a long time, but i have something else to work with, hard to find a free time with peaceful mood to write the experience of living in Dresden B&B. Here are some tips which might help you.

1. Good Location
The biggest advantage of this B&B is its great location, from where you can work to a lot of famous places such as China Theater , Madame Tussaud and Kodak theater. The walking distance might just be around 15 mins. There are a lot of shopping malls nearby on Hollywood Blvd, where you can reach directly by walk. The house itself is very quiet at night since it is a great community, even some famous person live here, if you want to know who is that please ask Mrs Dresden :)

2. reasonable price

LA is a big city, all of the good hotels in central LA is very expensive, i spent $ 90 everyday, where you can live safely, you prepare your own food in the kitchen,the room itself also very clean.

3. Nice host

Mrs Dresden is a very friendly person, she is very helpful if you are new to this city, she knows a lot of the good places in LA and near by because she likes traveling as us, i am sure you will get a lot of good idea from her personal experience. Most importantly, she always tells you where can you get good deal, because of her i get a ticket of Madame Tussaud with half price.

In sum, i recommend her place highly, if you are from OHIO, please wear a cloth marked as OH or buckeye because she is from the BLUE side, GO BUCKEYE!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank please_call_me_miki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

When you first arrive Dresden is there to greet you and make you feel very welcomed. She shows you around the cozy little abode, and by the end of the 5 minute tour you are already feeling like it is your home as well.
She gives you spots in the fridge and kitchen to put any items you bring for food and beverages and had the coffee pot set up and ready to go in the morning.
The neighborhood is quiet and safe and very centrally located. She will give you advice on things to do and see and is happy to do it.
Now this is NOT a place for those wanting fine luxury--but, of course, anyone expecting that at the outrageously value-priced rate of $90 a night is on crack anyway!
I've already recommended my daughter and her visiting friend from Australia stay there in September

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank oceanloversd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed at Dresden's on a friends recommendation for 4 nights, and couldn't have been happier - the place is warm and cosy, and you are made to feel extremely welcome!
There is no breakfast, but every morning Dresden got the coffee maker ready to go, and freely offered up fridge space and kitchen use if you needed to make anything - but to be honest, there are such great little eating places nearby that we just went out.
There's free wifi, the bed is comfy, and the house is located really conveniently - a 10-15 minute walk to Grauman's, a block or so from Sunset, 15 minutes from Melrose Avenue, and a 40 minute walk or 5 minute taxi ride from WeHo.
To be honest though, the main selling point of this is Dresden herself - a warm, funny, and helpful lady who really does make it feel like a home away from home, and provides those little random extras - like a hairdryer and straighteners which were REALLY appreciated as our european ones didn't get particularly hot...
Will stay again if I can get the space - this place is popular!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eitrohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying with Dresden for my 7th time and as always loved every second of it. Her home so completely captures the Hollywood Los Angeles experience and I can't wait to walk through that door again. The house is so perfectly located and comfortable and real. Dresden is one of a kind, one of those rare people who make you feel happy just being in her presence. She is warm and open and giving and will guide you and advise you on every aspect of your stay in LA. Sadly, her beautiful dog Beau recently passed away, he was such a delight in the house and will be loved and missed by all the guests who had the pleasure of staying there while he was part of the experience. I highly recommend this b+b if you would like to experience living and life in LA

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dresser1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I agree with all the other reviews. Cosy, home-like feel, awesome location, Dresden is lovely, funny and helpful. We stayed for 5 nights in March 2013. I had to do some work, which was not part of my holiday plan, but it was very comfortable working away at the dining room table. So convenient for attractions along Hollywood and Sunset Blvds. No brekkie, but the kitchen is yours to use whenever you want.

I am sad to report, however, that little Bo, Dresden's now world-famous pup, passed away in January. He had a happy life and lived to a ripe old age. I am so sorry not to have met him. The house feels empty without him.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cocobean150793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed at Dresden for 3 nights in February and it is really good value. I have stayed in other B&Bs in the US and in Europe and this counts as among the good ones. If you don't have a car and are in LA for a short stay, Dresden is convenient, safe neighborhood and a friendly host. If you want to chat about LA sights or about the world at large, Dresden will accommodate you. She has good recommendations of restaurants and if you want to eat breakfast, there's coffee and tea, microwave and fridge for you to get on with it. It is home from home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,945 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,748 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,167 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#77 of 352 in Los Angeles
339 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresden B&B

Address: 1623 N Sierra Bonita Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-2815
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: £98 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dresden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing