We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Reviews”
Review of Venice Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Venice Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We found this property online and booked it since it had such stellar reviews on Trip Advisor. Booking was a bit tricky as you have to sign a very binding contract and fax it back to confirm your booking. Not the easiest if you're already travelling. However, check-in was really easy, straight forward and even though there isn't parking beside the building it was quite easy to find and really close to the hotel.

We stayed in a studio and the suite itself is modern and clean; aside from the incredibly dusty wall which we cleaned ourselves. The rooftop patio is a definite bonus and we were more then happy to take advantage of that! All and all they've done a really good job on the layout of the suite and all the renovations within the hotel.

However, there are some downfalls... One is that there's not a lot of soundproofing as you would expect from an older building. You definitely run the risk of keeping your upstairs neighbours hours which in our case was pretty much all night for most of our stay. The second is that there is no housekeeping which is definitely something you'd expect if you're spending $1000 for a week. If we wanted our room cleaned we had to pre-arrange it at a cost of $30 which I found strange.

All and all the place was great but personally t I don't think it's somewhere I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindsayDarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venice_suites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Hi LindsayDarling,

Thank you for your review and for your recent stay with us here at Venice Beach.
We provide unique housing accommodations for guests that desire an alternative to a conventional hotel experience.
We are an extended stay property and are best suited for guests who are looking for private furnished self contained apartments (with full kitchens) on the beach for a stay of two weeks or longer; though we are happy to accommodate guests who want to stay for shorter stays as well. We provide weekly maid and housekeeping service and all linens and towels are replaced at that time. For our guests who wish to have extra housekeeping service we will provide it for an additional $30.00 fee. We also provide a coin-operated laundry room if you prefer to launder your towels in between housekeeping visits.
We provide an easy check-in and check-out service; your key cards are in a designated lock box when you arrive, when you leave simply drop off the key cards in the office mail slot. Your credit card will be charged upon arrival and the receipt is left at your apartment. To provide this feature we require, in advance, a signed contract which authorizes us to bill your credit card for the apartment which you are renting for a specified number of nights.
We have installed beautiful hardwood floors in all of our apartments. This is a great alternative to sand filled carpets here at the beach. For guests concerned about the noise transmission through the hardwood floors we highly recommend renting one of the 4th (top) floor units.
I make all attempts to revise and simplify the “Information Packet” which explains all of our policies and procedures, including the ones outlined above. I email this packet to all of our guests prior to their arrival to inform them or our specialized services. I am sorry if you misunderstood some of these details prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,
Randy
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

In LA, my home town, I always stay at Venice Suites.This was my fifth visit. My suite, as always, was clean and decorated in attractive midcentury modern taste. The view from the living room window was just was I needed after this tough winter in New York: sand, ocean, palm tree, lifeguard stand, sea birds, sky.

Venice Suites is not a hotel; it is not the Ritz-Carlton or the Hilton or even the Travelodge. There is no porter, room service, business center, gift shop, etc. Instead, you will enjoy staying in your own apartment with a comfortable living room and a bedroom with spacious walk-in closet, a furnished kitchenette with dishwasher, microwave, etc. (buy food at a local supermarket and make your own breakfasts and lunches). The parking lot, an underground garage on Main and Navy, in the same building as Chaya Venice restaurant and Exhale Yoga (two places I enjoy very much), is a ten-minute walk away. I am a 64-year-old female and travel solo. I often get back late at night and have never felt afraid walking back from the garage.

Venice Suites is right on Ocean Front Walk, which especially on a sunny weekend day, is one of the great venues of the world for people-watching and participating in activities including biking (bike rental places everywhere, skateboards too), swimming, surfing, walking -- on the beach or on the boardwalk -- shopping, eating, drinking, and interacting with the various friendly characters who live and earn their living around here. However, don't stay here if the following things offend you: drumming, loud music, tattoos, counterculture people, people of color, stands with people selling their homemade arts and crafts items. If you can enjoy this scene, rather than gawking at it, you will be happy here.

One other word of advice: don't confuse this property with the dumpy Venice Beach Suites, down the boardwalk about quarter of a mile, which I checked into by mistake the first time I came here. Venice Suites' manager Randy was very helpful getting me re-situated.

Room Tip: Reserve early and get a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ellens25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were lucky to find this property for a last minute visit. Our room, #41, has gorgeous beach views. The queen bed was comfortable but too small for my tall husband who opted to sleep on the sofa bed which was still small, although comfortable. (We usually get a king bed or two beds but we had no time to look too much.) While we enjoyed our early morning walks along Ocean Front, it did become very busy and noisy at night on the weekends. During the week was much quieter except for the occasional homeless person, or two, shouting. Once there was quite a loud, profane argument but it ended quickly. Generally, we were quite surprised how quiet it was at night during the week nights. There is a great roof patio with very comfortable lounge chairs. The elevator was never a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank veryoldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

These apartments are in a great location, very clean and modern. They have everything you could possibly need whilst on holidays/working long or short stays. Don't hesitate to to stay here. We had a beach front room, the atmosphere on the board walk was awesome.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in a room with a beach front view, we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Located on the Venice Broad walk, superb locations...lovely rooms....even better amenities...the roof top is an amazing place to hang out...Ideal place for a week off or a long stay in LA. Highly recomnded for long stay and the price at which it is a bargain. Try and get a room facing the beach....!!

Room Tip: Beach Facing Rooms should be the first choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HItesh_Bansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The room was very comfterable and located right on the boardwalk in the center of all of the fun :) I got the type 4 partial ocean view which as very charming and quiet with a nice partial view :) it has a great rooftop overlook with chase lounge chairs, perfect for snuggling up and watching the sunset. Randy the concierge is amazing and very accommodating, for our original planned trip had to be cancelled a few days before our arrival due to a family tradgedy. Randy was kind enough to give us a full refund, as well as a few kind words. We were very pleased with his kindness, so we were sure to rebook at this hotel when we were able to reschedule.. We areveryglad that we did :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

stayed here with my family , would recomend this place for people on long stay as is completely furnished with kitchen appliances and is self sufficient . The manager Randy is very helpful and informaiton provided at the time of booking is very self explanatory . The praking spot is a few small blocks away , which is something one needs to get used to.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeptiPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#56 of 355 in Los Angeles
560 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 355 in Los Angeles
808 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#100 of 355 in Los Angeles
526 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,434 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Suites

Address: 417 Ocean Front Walk, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: £105 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new breed of swanky beachfront living and "Live Like a Local" in our stylish Venice Beach Boardwalk Hotel. The sleekly styled Venice Suites offers apartment-style living perfect for business trips, as well as vacationers desiring additional travel comforts and the room to spread out. Our historic boardwalk & beachfront building consists of furnished studio and one bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens. Each of our apartments high ceilings, oakwood floors, cable HDTV with premium movie channels, queen size beds, lounge chairs, dinning table and chairs and so much more. We pride ourselves on having the best rooftop terrace of any hotel on the Venice Beach boardwalk with a gas barbeque, cooking area, sectional couch, dining tables, sun chairs and spectacular panoramic views of the ocean, mountains and Los Angeles. Amenities include free high-speed wireless Internet, parking at $10/day and a self service laundry facility. We are the only Venice Beach boardwalk hotel where you step out our front door and on to the sand. We are within walking or biking distance to everything including boutique shops and restaurants from Abbott Kinney Blvd to the Santa Monica Pier. For the best rates please contact us directly via phone or email. The best online rates are available only on our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Venice Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing