We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Venice Suites
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Angeleno(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
US$651
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$514
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$297
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$257
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$478
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$415
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$372
US$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$317
US$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
206
121
33
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
121
33
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenice beachrooftop terracesanta monicalock boxmanager randytoaster ovenstudio apartmentvenice restaurantvintage elevatorcandle cafecooking facilitiesocean frontabbot kinneymuscle beachbeach towelstop floorthe perfect place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Before I write down my many words of praise about the Venice Suites, let me begin by pointing out a few very minor complaints.

First, the parking is about 5 or 6 blocks from the hotel. But, it is free so I feel a little spoiled for complaining about that. Second, late night check-ins must get their key from a lock box located just outside the front door. While it only took a minute and the instructions provided in advance were specifically clear, it was mildly nerve-wracking to have to get the combination correct late at night - with homeless people and shady characters everywhere. Third, the wifi (again, free) can only be accessed through an ethernet cable. Which is normally fine, but the cable that was provided us was about 1 1/2 feet long so the computer was confined to the one chair. Again, not a big deal in the grand scheme of things.

Aside from these minor quibbles, this hotel was awesome. We loved it. It was simple, clean, spacious and located directly on the beach. You literally step out the front door and you are on the beach promenade. It is just a stone's throw from the famous Muscle Beach and a nice, though maybe long for some, walk to Santa Monica. The owner of this place is so sweet, so helpful and he seemed genuinely grateful towards us for staying there. Our room had a small kitchen with a large refrigerator, a small bathroom, a little TV, a table with 2 chairs and a nice comfy queen bed. We had a partial ocean view, which was just that: a view of a little portion of the beach.

The hotel is not exactly quiet - you will hear the occasional loud, drunk person staggering by but, since we were on the 3rd floor, it wasn't preventing us from sleeping and, besides, that's part of the charm of Venice Beach. The sounds of the ocean are much more pleasant so we focused on that.

The hotel has a fantastic roof deck. This was the highlight of our stay. We sat up there one night for an hour and a half, listening to the ocean waves and the sounds of LA life around us, gazing at the airplanes and the stars that we could see and nobody else was there. Maybe we got lucky. Venice is a really fun place with lots of characters around. During the day it is wild, energetic and fun - great for people watching. There are artists, musicians and merchants everywhere and the active street life gives it an "east coast" vibe. At night, the area is a little shady and I wouldn't recommend walking around by one's self after dark. There are plenty of dining options in the area - I recommend Rose Cafe for brunch.

I would definitely stay here again. In fact, if I ever go to LA again, this is where I want to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellygobraugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The view from the beach front rooms at the Venice Suites will astound you - nothing short of stunning. The rooms are decorated with a chic and modern feel that is all too bereft in many hotels. A wonderful place that has everything you need for a short or extended stay. Get up early and eat at Figtrees Cafe (left out of Venice Suites), watch the world go by for a while then go for a dip in the ocean (it's not that cold when you get in!!). Go for a stroll along the boardwalk and take in the eclectic mix of Venice life then wonder through the romantic Venice Canals and finish off by having dinner at Mao's Kitchen. It will be a day you really won't forget and one you will want to repeat over and again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CC_CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

I was in LA on business this week and decided to stay 2 nights in Venice Beach and had the most wonderful adn amazing weekend staying at the Venice Suites. Randy is delightful, efficient, and accomodating. THe place is PERFECTLY located in teh heart of the beach, and the rooms are clean, modern with all the necessary ammentieis (wifi, ipod speakers and full kitchen). Furniture is modern and the place is immaculate. It doesn't get any better than drinking wine in the moonlight on the roofdeck overlooking the ocean. Or grab some fresh fish and bbq up there. The place is waiting for you to arrive. ENJOY! I will be back again and again. Great value. Safe. ALso, if you are looking for a 2 bedroom, their sister property 2 blocks away, the Venice Paloma Suites http://www.venicepalomasuites.com/ is PERFECT. Stayed there for 10 days with friends last summer. Simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AzuliDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We have returned to Venice suites over a period of 4 years,for a month at a time. We have small children and it has always been exciting to go back. The apartments are very clean with contemporary decor and has everything you need for a self catering holiday even with small children. Randy always makes us feel welcome. The location is perfect for fitness, playgrounds, beach and easy access into Santa Monica and further afield if you want, and great for people watching. We are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veniceEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We stayed in a Studio Apartment in the Suite. We liked that everything was in good condition. They had the basic kitchenware that is needed. Nice big refrigerator. Good working stove. Clean kitchen and bathroom. Great Bed!
The immediate location was good, but being right by the beach makes it great!
Highly Recommend it! Will come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bentjo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest, Sorry for the late reply and thank you for staying with us and writing this kind review. Please ask us for the return guest discount on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews