We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather sleep in a dumpster!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'd rather sleep in a dumpster!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Guarantee your room with a credit card and then be surprised at the front desk that it'll be an extra $10 for using your credit card to pay. Don't worry, after the condescending suggestion to use the bank machine just out the front door, you'll cave and pay.

Be prepared to sleep in your clothes as the sheets are stained and smelly. Try to hold it in because you won't be interested in using the washroom either, at all. They will only change your towels if you ask, after they open your door in the morning, without knocking (room 301).

Don't every ask Simon any questions or favours, ever. He's vindictive, arrogant and clueless. Simon says, if you're late for breakfast by 1 minute, no breakfast. He physically removes the waffle maker, laughs, and then offers a piece of toast in consolation.

Stay away, you've been warned.

Room Tip: Don't chose any room, seriously. Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BretskiGretzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    15
    13
    25
See reviews for
2
19
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MAdrid
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked rooms there for our holidays... Ok, the location is good during the day, and it is steps away from Venice Beach... but during the night the area is quite unsafe.

The bathroom stinked and they did not fix it properly, although we asked. The beds were not very clean.

There is a common room where you are allowed to stay up to 3 a.m... but nobody cares about noise and the rooms are not properly isolated, so if you are in a room nearby, forget about sleeping.

We said we had had a personal problem and maybe needed to leave some days before and they said they would be charging the stay the same (although we were telling them in advance with respect to the night we would be leaving).

And the price for private rooms is not even that cheap... we stayed there because we went to L.A during peak days and everywhere else was full... but for the same money or just a bit more, you can find much better places.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hostel has everything I'd want from a hostel, great staff, clean rooms, breakfast and dinner and was in the heart of Venice beach! Cudnt complain about anything and I am hoping to return in a few days!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raindance_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

One star because of the location in relation to Venice Beach. There are signs everywhere saying, "Anyone caught smoking weed in or around the premises will be asked to leave immediately and you will lose your deposit," which by the way is $100 if your an American. When I asked why a hundred dollars they responded that Europeans are preyed upon in California. As far as smoking goes, apparently its ok to smoke as many cigarettes as you'd like and you have no choice but to inhale the second-hand mess. I thought smoking was illegal in all US establishments but these guys don't care.
In terms of meeting people, you will always have to talk with your dorm roommates which is fine because they are the only friendly people in the hostel. Wont get much small talk from the employees. If your a skateboarder they ask you to leave it in a skateboard rack downstairs wtf? They have signs for everything other than breakfast where you must choose between a waffle or toast. Dont stay here unless your a cigarette smoker who wants to be huddled up indoors away from all the late night sketchy Venice locals.
Venice is a MUST see, but theres no need to stay overnight in this hostel that charges more than every other hostel California wide. Unless your a surfer, theres no need to stay in Venice overnight. Seriously someone call the state health department on these guys.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, stay in a dorm and talk to the travelers. These hostel workers always seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

nice location 1 min walk to the venice beach strip, stayed in a double private room with my girlfriend and it was massive, felt like a hotel. they offer free dinner and breakfast too which is good because the place is expensive. not a bad place if you want pay a bit more and have some space.

Room Tip: 302 double private was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Where does one begin? seriously i cannot find fault with this hostel, the only thing i hate is smoking is permitted everywhere, but while i was on vacation i felt so was evryone else so i endured it, i didn't want to spoil their fun, the waffle and pancake mix is awesome and i gorged every morning and i was delighted with the free dinner too, the staff were top notch so friendly, cian, selly, Yoshi Tom. Jason, Carl, cute girl with glasses who's cian's girlfriend (she knows who she is) and Justin i think that's his name, there was so many cool characters they made my holiday, i stayed there in November and i will be staying there again this year, the tv is brilliant, they have pool and i thought kitchen was very well equipped i loved my stay there, there is such a relaxed atmosphere, yep it's noisy but it just shows people are having a great time, if you seek a good nights sleep, maybe go to a hotel, but the beds were clean and bathrooms and all common areas spick and span, Carl was mega for giving directions, it's a wonderful hostel...and as a manager of a hostel myself i should know. oh yes and Mao's is the best and there is a Subway too. the internet was free so i was able to keep and eye on hostel back home ha ha

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrymanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The worst I have stayed in!!!!! Our toilet broke twice then I was told to fix it myself which is what I had to do on a daily basis. Our room 312 was extremely dirty although they make you leave the room between 11am-1pm so the cleaner cleans, what a joke. The carpet was sticky. The room was very smelly, the bed terrible, the kitchenette dirty dirty dirty. The room is so old and reminded me of something our of a horror movie. At night the staff would sit outside our window, smoke, drink and talk loudly until 3am - no respect for anyone. The staff were hopeless, the hostel is gross. Save your money and don't stay here, there must be something better. Its old, dirty, gross and I can't believe they charge so much. What a joke. The only good thing is that is close to where it all happens.

Room Tip: Don't stay here - its a waste of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah197923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#84 of 351 in Los Angeles
512 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,289 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#6 of 88 in Los Angeles
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice Breeze Suites
Venice Breeze Suites
#4 of 88 in Los Angeles
439 reviews
Venice
Su Casa Venice Beach
Su Casa Venice Beach
#21 of 90 in Los Angeles
118 reviews
Venice
Boutique 444
Boutique 444
#31 of 90 in Los Angeles
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel

Property: Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel
Address: 1515 Pacific Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3611
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing