We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funny but quite dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel
Reviewed 28 December 2012

well probably it's not possible to find anything so cheap nearby. But the receptionists made an error in our booking and while we were supposed to have a 3-people room for our group, we were assigned to a big room with several guys: not so nice because I had my big camera and some expensive equipment. The guys were used to come in the room veeeery late in the night (early morning) so that was quite annoying. The hostel is quite dirty too. Probably good if you want a hippy atmosphere and you don't mind of frills.

Room Tip: just be sure they really booked a room for you! in our case they made a mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

Perfect location!
Arrived at close to midnight and reception were still open to greet us and sort out our room.
The room was massive, and we had our own computer with free internet which was heaven!
It is a bit outdated but great value for money and the location was awesome. Would definitley stay here again I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanutbuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hostel is ideally located. The facilities are very good. Clean bathroom and sufficent space for a backpacker. I really loved the paintings on the walls in the bedrooms. Good size kitchen. On our trip we didn't interact much with the other guests, luck of the draw I guess; however we made friends with some of the staff. I will for sure stay here again if I visit Venice beach again,

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Loved the time we spent here. Probably the best location in Venice as it joins onto the Venice sign and is just 1 min walk from the beach. The hostel provides free coffee and waffles in the morning and I met some really interesting people whilst staying here, all of which were very friendly! We even went to san fran with one of the guys we met!
The only issue you could have was that smoking is permitted in the common room so it could get rather smokey, but to me this just added to the Venice Beach atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Was concerned with previous reviews. However enjoyed an excellent stay. Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Room was basic but clean and spacious - definatley recommend private room ! Location was great just off Venice beach, restaurants and off licence near by. Not a massive amount of Night life around in the way of bars and clubs but a good opportunity for a cheap night in with a few beers meeting new people

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damiankirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

DONT EVERRRRR STAY HERE!!! If I could, I wish I could sit out there everyday just to let everyone know HOW DISGUSTING and VILE this place is. BUGS all over the bed, room and bathroom. Drugged out bums having KEYES TO ROOMS...I know because they got into my room in the middle of the night. When I tried to get a refund, the owner WOULD NOT meet with me. Finally, after me going back day after day I finally caught him. His answer was that he will NEVER give a refund.I called the cops and of course they did NOTHING.

PLEASE JUST SLEEP IN YOUR CAR! YOU'RE SAFER AND CLEANER.

Room Tip: Sad to say but too many travelers overlooked my girlfriend's review from 2007 ("Desk Agents...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RastaSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Firstly this is a terrible service, that claims to offer so much! We arrived at first and they had lost our booking and they admitted that even if you book on hostelworld it often gets lost and there was nothing they could do!
They finally found our booking, but admitted that we could not check in till 3pm YOU DO NOT PAY 45 DOLLARS to receive such service. Finally I was put it into a 'private' room which represented more a prison cell which was damp and has pieces of brick falling on my bed. Free dinner was also offered what i received was a bowl of stale rice. This is an awful hostel, and we moved to the other Venice beach hostel on yale avenue which is brilliant. Do not stay here, the staff are clumsy and cocky1

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willrichards26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#259 of 355 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
798 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#5 of 101 in Los Angeles
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#11 of 101 in Los Angeles
108 reviews
Santa Monica
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
#12 of 101 in Los Angeles
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel

Address: 1515 Pacific Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3611
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: £36 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing