We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you can put up with the poor quality & this is the cheapest place then I guess go, but otherwise choose more wisely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samesun Venice Beach
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“if you can put up with the poor quality & this is the cheapest place then I guess go, but otherwise choose more wisely.”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Basically if you can put up with the poor quality service and this is the cheapest place then I guess go, but otherwise choose more wisely.

1. The manager is very difficult to deal with and is really quite mean. She threatened to kick me out with no where to sleep because I asked for the price advertised on the website that she previously agreed was the price over the phone. I then had to plead with her to let me stay so I was not on the streets.

2. It's extremely cold, and the other lady who works there said "too bad, I'm not turning on the heating because some rooms will get too hot" I suggested she just buy 20 $10 wall heaters for each room, which would solve everything, and she told me to go out and get one if I didn't want to freeze because they were not going to buy heaters or turn on the heating,

3. Between the entire hostel there are just four combined shower and toilet rooms, you can guess the gridlock there.

4. As I said the price went up from $60 which was agreed to when I made the reservation, to $100 when I walked in the door, and because it was late at night, the fact I had booked in advance at a totally different price that was still advertised on their website did not matter.

I would advise you go elsewhere

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyTheQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    216
    101
    45
    57
See reviews for
6
120
245
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at the Cotel hostel last night and felt a bit used soon after our arrival. I've traveled many times around America and Europe, staying in hostels, and consider myself a pretty fair judge of them. When I reserved the private room online I was under the impression that we would have a private toilet as well (turns out only the community was ours to use) and that the price would be forty a person. The staff member didn't even consider checking my confirmation info when she charged me fifty a person and when I asked why there was a difference she was short in response. The last complaint is that its not stated clearly that every guest, even american citizens, are required to have a passport to check in. My boyfriend and both considered only taking a license on this trip and would have been on the street last night if we had. Mind you, we are both American citizens and don't need a passport to travel domestically.

I would like to say there are pros for staying at this hostel, the condition was good for a hostel. The bathrooms were very well kept and the staff was friendly. The location was prime and there was a t.v. with cable in our room...unheard of in most hostels. This review is more of a 'be prepared' message than a rant. I wouldn't want other travelers to be ill advised

Room Tip: A private may not save you verses a hotel near by, make sure you search a bit first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

After travelling around the West Coast for 4 weeks, this was undoubtedly our favourite place. The hostel is located right on Venice Beach & perfectly located for local bars, restaurants etc. It is a bit of a mission to get to from downtown LA, but it's totally worth the effort! We stayed in a private room (inc. bed lines/towels) with a shared bathroom & found this to be more than adequate. It was quiet, fairly spacious & had everything you might need. Including an American hairdryer, which let's face, is pretty important! The rooms/bathrooms are cleaned daily & we never had to wait to use the shower the entire time we were there.

The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble & all of them are so friendly & happy to take you out each night to show you the sights & sounds of Venice Beach. Equally, the lounge in the Cotel has a great atmosphere. The staff & people we met, made the stay for us, we had an awesome time hanging out with them & extended our stay from 4 days to 8 days because we just didn't want to leave.

I literally cannot think of one reason why you wouldn't stay here....!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Avoid! Unfortunately this normally adequate hostel has had a severe infestation of bed bugs. Bed bugs are extremely hard to get rid of, often taking multiple attempts by extermination teams to deal with. I pretty much have to boil my clothes and bag now.

To add insult to injury, the managent refused to issue a refund on my remaining 2 nights booked at the hostel after I checked out due to being covered in bites. Not impressed!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spacerabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

No problem! Exactly what you want out of a hostel! Great location

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mars2sports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

First off, I have read the majority of complaints about the VBC on this site and I'm kinda perplexed as to how people can be so petty.. It's a hostel, not the Mandalay Bay! AND guests that stay at a hostel should bare no reflection on the place itself.. C'mon sonnnnnn! Anyway, my review:

Kerry, Abby, Jacob, Brennan, AJ and all the staff are as good as they come in a hostel! They're happy to speak, laugh and party with you and for the most part become more like friends than staff members if you stay there long enough.
I was only due to stay for a few days and ended up staying for around 3 weeks!

As for the hostel itself.. The rooms are cleaned every day.. Two bathrooms per floor, each with hot showers plus the option to pay for an ensuite room which really isn't much more expensive. Prime location if you can get on board with the loveable crazies of Venice beach! It really is the best hostel I've visited! Go there!

Room Tip: If your staying in dorms choose an en-suite room.. It's usually only an extra $4-6 and gives you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Had the best time ever!!great staff very welcoming at night got to meet everyone in hostel and staff would take us all out right on beach so happy with my stay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan112079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,300 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#87 of 351 in Los Angeles
511 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#56 of 351 in Los Angeles
538 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
Venice Breeze Suites
Venice Breeze Suites
#4 of 89 in Los Angeles
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Venice Beach

Property: Samesun Venice Beach
Address: 25 Windward Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Venice Beach 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samesun Venice Beach is the best place to stay in Los Angeles. Located in beautiful Venice Beach, California, our hostel is friendly and affordable, perfect for international travelers. Swim, party, and live it up while you're in LA.Located in the St. Charles Hotel building, the oldest hotel in Venice, Samesun focuses on meeting new people, interacting with other backpackers, and lots of fun. Our vibrant atmosphere brings people together from all over the world and you can expect good times and new friends to come out of your experience. Our friendly staff, including many who are travelers themselves, work hard to make sure your stay is as easy and perfect as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Samesun Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Cotel Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing