We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samesun Venice Beach
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best hostel!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I am not one to leave reviews,but I must. I have to admit I was very heistant staying here,from the rudeness of the first guy I met at arrival.Very rude and not helpful. Next day I was going to ask for a refund and leave and came across the best staff member I have come acrossed on my travels.I think her name is Abbie very helpful spent at least 30 mintues with me planning out what to do on my stay in Venice beach. Traveling alone can be scary but after talking to her this place began to feel like home,and I didn't mind the rudeness of the first guy.If you stay here ask for Abbie she is a box full of information and full of kindness.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank emily t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for the feedback. It's always great to hear that one of our staff improved your travel experience. As fellow travelers, we do know how daunting and scary it can be travelling on your own and it's great that Abby was able to ease the scariness away!

Cheers and safe travels.

Sara, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    216
    101
    45
    57
See reviews for
6
120
245
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hostel is in great place at Venice beach and you couldn't hear any noise from outside. We stayed in 4 person room and it was really compact, so it wasn't that big, but we had enough space and our own bathroom. Staff was really friendly and eager to help you with your problems. Hostel was very clean and in good condition and the housekeeper did good job every day. Also I felt that hostel was secure and I didn't have to worry about strangers wondering inside hostel. They also offered many tours and trips
Only minus was that room didn't have A/C and it was bit hot. Samesun Hostel also offered many tours and trips in LA area and in areas close by for a reasonable fee.

I would definitely recommend this hostel if you are planning to go to venice beach!

Room Tip: In great location and still rooms are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnttiL345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for the feedback! Unfortunately one of the downsides of being one of the oldest buildings in Venice is that we do not have A/C. As the summer heat approaches, we have put fans in each room and throughout the hallways to help provide additional 'ocean beach breeze' which helps with the summer sun.

Cheers and safe travels.

Sara, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hostel was very nice, the room and bathroom are ok, very clean and with a awesome view to the beach.At nigth the neibour is not so good, bad nothing bad happend to me. The location is in the middle of everywere to walk.

Room Tip: the 4 bed room is confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Macarena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights in April 2014 - would definitely return. The hostel is right on the Venice Beach Boardwalk, can roll out of bed right onto the beach... Nice base to have whilst visiting LA. It's clean, the rooms are of the standard you'd expect for a hostel, and the staff went out of their way to help me and others organise external things - car hire/trips/surf lessons etc

Only thing that could be improved if I was being really picky was breakfast, but its not anywhere near the top of reasons I'd look at picking a hostel for anyway.

Overall a great stay and met some fantastic people on the way

Room Tip: If you can choose, then ask for one with en-suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oatey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for the feedback! Glad to hear that Samesun Venice was your home base while you were in LA. The breakfast has had a new addition, oatmeal, along with the already existing toast, oranges, coffee and tea.

Cheers and safe travels,

-Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room for only 24 hrs and it was a good place to rest our heads before we headed on our flights home. I was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the rooms and the modern bathroom we had. We also had a really nice view of Venice beach from our window. It's a shame we didnt get to stay longer because they seemed to have well organized social activities for each night of the month that sounded interesting. The location is also perfect, literally 2 steps away from the boardwalk and close to great shops/bars/restaurants. There is also a taxi rank across the road, so we had no trouble getting one to the airport the night we left.The staff at reception were also REALLY helpful in giving us directions on the area and general stuff to do and see and the security was great too. Overall, a good stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bianca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at the Samesun in Vancouver and it was awesome so thought we would try out the Venice Beach spot...couldn't be anymore different. Most over priced hostel I've ever stayed in, rude staff, lack of toilets and showers, worst included breakfast I've had in any hostel across America and Canada, and very poor wifi. On the plus rooms were ok and location was pretty good! But for the price paid no where near worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeBPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Sorry to hear about your experience. For those reading, our breakfast includes toast, oatmeal, fruit, coffee and tea. Although it is not a full bar breakfast, it does provide enough energy to enjoy our daily hosted activities, as well as some self guided ones throughout the city which the staff are always offering. We have recently done additional upgrades to the wifi so the streaming capacity is better too. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of the amazing location and beautiful views the hostel had to offer.

Cheers and safe travels.

Sara, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a private room which was average. The location of the hostel is great if you want to stay close to the beach and all the fun, and the staff was really nice. Breakfast included, but it finished a little early so we never got to try it. Free wi-fi, but we had to stay in the hallway in order to stay connected..
All in all, a fair stay for a fair price in Venice beach, but nothing spectacular.

Room Tip: We had private bedroom facing the street and expected a lot of noise, especially since it was during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We recently fixed our WIFI connection, and it is accessible all throughout the hostel

Cheers and Safe Travels.

Sara - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,301 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#87 of 351 in Los Angeles
511 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#59 of 351 in Los Angeles
538 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
Venice Breeze Suites
Venice Breeze Suites
#3 of 89 in Los Angeles
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Venice Beach

Property: Samesun Venice Beach
Address: 25 Windward Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Venice Beach 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samesun Venice Beach is the best place to stay in Los Angeles. Located in beautiful Venice Beach, California, our hostel is friendly and affordable, perfect for international travelers. Swim, party, and live it up while you're in LA.Located in the St. Charles Hotel building, the oldest hotel in Venice, Samesun focuses on meeting new people, interacting with other backpackers, and lots of fun. Our vibrant atmosphere brings people together from all over the world and you can expect good times and new friends to come out of your experience. Our friendly staff, including many who are travelers themselves, work hard to make sure your stay is as easy and perfect as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Samesun Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Cotel Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing