We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great, cool events, modern and well-equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location great, cool events, modern and well-equipped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Pretty cool hostel. huge kitchen with everything you could need to cook, juice and coffee machines (it closes at night which sucks for drinking water when you come home drunk, but may have benefits such as limiting access to knives for the same people). Breakfast is make-your-own-pancakes which is cool, free (horrible?) coffee and tea (not horrible because tea is tea). The rooms are big and all of them (maybe? at least mine) had an ensuite bathroom. Each bed has a shelf with chargers beside your bed, and a locker which can fit your big bag. The hostel is high-security showing your card on the way in. Cool porch out front, and a huge lounge and games room upstairs (TVs, etc) - was here over the superbowl weekend and the hostel made a big party in this room with FREE BEERS (the major incentive probably for the crowd of international people who had no idea what was going on in the football game). That was cool. They have a shuttle service (paid but way better than LA's non-existent public transport) between other hostels, such as one in venice beach and santa monica, as well as the aiport (SUPER HANDY) - the guy who runs this I believe is from Uruguay and was an amazing dude to talk to.
The location is good if you want to stay in the middle of in-your-face commercial bulls**t that is hollywood boulevard, but of course this is a necessity to see in LA. Close to an awesome bar (the Piano bar) and lots of tour companies where you can get a crazy person to drive you around with no seatbelts or a roof in the van, telling you that Britney spears used to live in some house which she really didn't. The hostel was modern and clean except for the French guy sleeping below me's feet (not related to the hostel, although they helped to encourage the shower). Would recommend, but maybe split your time in LA between here and other areas especially Santa Monica and Venice Beach if you want more of the beach feel

There is a YMCA gym right around the corner which is cool

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooperpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    352
    97
    29
    27
See reviews for
10
72
511
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed in this hostel for four days. The rooms were pretty nice but our bathroom was really dirty. The location is great for the walk of fame but there is not much to do in the area. L.A is so spread out that it takes forever to get anywhere. I've also been to the hostel in Santa Monica and that had a much nicer location with a lot more to do and see.
The staff was not that friendly. Don't get me wrong, some of them were but for example we had a tour guide that was just terrible. He seemed hungover and barely said a word. If he had just told me which bus to take that would have saved me 6 dollars.
The absolute worst thing about my stay here was at my last morning in the hostel I actually got yelled at by a staffmember. At check in they say breakfast is served at 6 and I had an early flight so that would just work out. When I asked about breakfast at 6 he told me he was setting it up. I waited a little and someone else came in also expecting breakfast at 6 o clock. Since I had only 5 minutes left I asked the guy if maybe he could just grab a bagel for me, and the guy just went off at me! It was horrible and I did not get the fuss over a bagel. Even if you were mate serving breakfast is that such a hassle? At that point I just decided to leave the hostel and that I would not be coming back here ever again. People like that have a horrible influence on your overal experience. I know a hostel is not a hotel but I don't think n expectations are high when I don't want to be yelled at by staff.
On my next stay I will be going to Hosteling International.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great hostel awesome centeral location walking distance to the walk of fame and can see the Hollywood sign from the windows! They offer great range of tours and services available and helpful staff will stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Prices vary for this hostel but it is one of the best hostels to stay in. Individual power sockets and privacy screens are a great idea. Good atmosphere an plenty of activites. This actually worked out one of the cheaper hostels, I would recommend to book in advance as the States is not a big hostelling country and this place is popular.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good location just off Hollywood Boulevard with free breakfast (cook your own pancakes). Great party vibe as well as there always seemed to be something going on in the common area every night. Thoroughly enjoyed the comedy night (probably because of the free beers they were doing), and open mic night wasn't too bad either.

I arrived at about 8am while check in is 11am if I remember correctly. Was quite happy that they let me sleep on a couch in the common room until my room was ready. Each room also has its own bathroom which is good unless your roommates take forever in there.

Didn't stay long enough to go on many activities but they all looked good including a free shuttle to Venice/Santa Monica Beach, shuttle to Six Flags, limo tour of Hollywood, pub crawl and walking tour to Runyon Canyon. A little pricy in my opinion but that's probably just LA and not this particular hostel.

Room Tip: The economy rooms are slightly cheaper although they are supposed to be noisier. The room I got was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember112420141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, friendly staff, free breakfast and Wi-Fi, great activities, nice lounge in the front, and good location.

I very much recommend this hostel for anyone who wants to spend a few days in LA.

Thanks for a good experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Frederik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here on Christmas, I thought a very friendly place with an excellent location. The hostel was very clean. (I just considered the kitchen a bit small, sometimes we went to breakfast and there was no place to sit).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#22 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#13 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Hollywood

Property: USA Hostels Hollywood
Address: 1624 Schrader Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Hollywood,only a half block to the Walk of Fame and 5 blocks to the Chinese and Egyptian Theatres. We organize daily activities and tours making for a very social environment. Also offered is a free daily breakfast of baked goods, fresh fruit, all-you-can-make pancakes, oatmeal, fruit juice, coffee and tea. All dorms and privates are with bath and our large garden patio and lounge are great places to hang out after a day of touring We also offer a free beach shuttle 3 times per week and a weekly trip to Magic Mountain. No other hostel in Los Angeles offers as much as we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your USA Hostels Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing