We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty good but not worth for this price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
USA Hostels Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pretty good but not worth for this price”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It's quite convenient and clean. Some of staffs are helpful, but not all. Two staffs saw me carrying 2 big luggages down the stairs. They didn't offer any help but talking to each other. Another thing is walking tour. I paid 15$ for beverly hill tour. Because it was paid tour, I expected something special. What I got was just walking with absolutely unattended guide! He said very few things while kept walking. Especially when we went back to hostel, it's like the tour finished in the last place without telling us before, and that's it! So disappointed of that tour. Everything else was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 273jean605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    359
    99
    29
    28
See reviews for
10
73
523
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good rooms and facilities. Location not great but that's probably more due to my dislike of the Hollywood area - a bit dingy. Air con was off one night which was annoying - as was showing keys everytime you entered to staff I had talked with at length ten minutes before hand.... But other than that great

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. From the moment I checked in, ever staff member I came in contact with was wonderful. Great service. I'd say they all exceeded my expectations, but especially Kim (KJ) who, when I was violently ill the morning I had to fly out, was really great. She brought me water, and just talked to me and made me feel less embarrassed. When I was obviously deemed unfit to fly and came back to extend my stay, she was very helpful and accommodating and continued to check up on how I was going. She was very caring and I'm glad she was there.

I found the entire building very clean as well, and the front desk is strict with checking that everybody has a key, even when they are busy, One person managed to slip by without showing a key, and a staff member promptly chased them down the hall. I never doubted the security of the building!

I didn't find the noise at night a problem. I came in late one night and some people were playing music on the patio, and the staff cracked down on it right away. One night I woke up to loud talking outside, but I just popped my headphones in and was fine. It happened one out of seven nights.

Without question, I would recommend this hostel and would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to light, choose a bunk that will not expose you to the bathroom light. Unfortu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Good for the price. I prefer private room, which is worth it! Check in is earlier than most places. Great that I was able to leave bags and check in later. Staff was cool, non pretentious.
Will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missTennyonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great selection of free activities, outside patio area and free breakfast. Clean rooms with bathroom facilities in rooms. Half a block from Hollywood boulevard, so easy to get out and see big attractions, though having said that definitely plan to get out of Hollywood and see more of LA, you get over it pretty quick... Bring a big lock for your lockers, and power points in the lockers definitely a plus!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A very good hostel that provides plenty of activities to keep you busy. The location is great, just off the walk of fame. The rooms were all nicely finished and the showers were in good working condition. The included breakfast was good too. Only downside is that it can get a little loud but that's to be expected being in a hostel in Central LA!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesEytonJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hostel are wonderful. So friendly and helpful, and there seems to be loads of them everywhere always working hard.

The hostel has a great front patio, with comfy seating and parasols, perfect for chilling out and the barbecue.

On alternate evenings they do either all you can eat dinner in the kitchen (curry, pasta) or a barbecue outside for $6. Pretty good value! There's a free breakfast everyday, with make your own pancakes, toast and fruit.

Very informative front desk, on arrival you're given a map with places to see/eat in the area.

Good wifi connection

The hostel runs several day trips and walking tours, Beverly Hills, Runyon canyon, shuttle to Santa Monica and venice beach, pub crawls in the evenings.

Only downside is the bathrooms are always busy, because there is just 1 per dorm room plus one in the lobby and one in the common room.

Also there's only one computer terminal which doesn't have a USB port.

Great stay and met some lovely people, although wouldn't stay again probably as Hollywood is NOT the place to be in LA, it's pretty boring. Stay in Venice or Santa Monica!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#10 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Hollywood

Property: USA Hostels Hollywood
Address: 1624 Schrader Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Hollywood,only a half block to the Walk of Fame and 5 blocks to the Chinese and Egyptian Theatres. We organize daily activities and tours making for a very social environment. Also offered is a free daily breakfast of baked goods, fresh fruit, all-you-can-make pancakes, oatmeal, fruit juice, coffee and tea. All dorms and privates are with bath and our large garden patio and lounge are great places to hang out after a day of touring We also offer a free beach shuttle 3 times per week and a weekly trip to Magic Mountain. No other hostel in Los Angeles offers as much as we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your USA Hostels Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing