We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Venice Beach
Ranked #10 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I have to admit, when we drove up to the Inn At Venice Beach, I wasn't sure what to expect. The blue and yellow stucco exterior didn't really give any clues. But, as they say, appearances can be deceiving.

The lobby was just a sample of things to come. It was modern and sleek, white and wood. A painting hung that said "It's not polite to stare" which I found amusing. Alfonso, the desk clerk, was extremely friendly and helpful. He helped us book a tour with Amazing LA Tours (see my review elsewhere) and suggested restaurants to eat at and things to do. I really enjoyed chatting with him. He mentioned that the hotel owner liked to renovate every 4-5 years and there were indeed some renovations and repainting going on, but this did not detract from our pleasant stay there.

There is a computer in the lobby for guests to use and free wi-fi. I found the wi-fi to be a little spotty and weak on our first floor room, but otherwise it was OK.

Our room was just the right size and featured a large flat screen TV, a cute little sitting area with two orange chairs, local photography for decor and a nice firm bed. The hotel was very quiet.

The Inn serves a continental breakfast with coffee, tea, cereal, pastries, toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs and yogurt in a pleasant breakfast room. There is also an inner courtyard with tables and chairs and a water fountain.

While not quite on the beach, it's just a two block walk from the beach. A surf shop, several restaurants, a Starbucks and a Coldstone Creamery are all within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillKeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

The hotel is in a very good location for access to Venice Beach.

When we checked in, reception told us that they had just finished renovating and that we were the first to stay in our room. The renovation generally looked very good, which I guess could be described as a neutral-modern look. For a hotel in this price range it looked good. There was still some noise at the hotel with the external painters finishing off their work. It looked like they had gone by the last day of our stay though.

The breakfast was continental (bagels, toast, cereals, muffins, juice, yoghurt etc) and all very good. Breakfast is had in an internal courtyard which is pretty cute. They had cookies at reception each afternoon which was a nice touch.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

All in all, it was a good stay and a good value hotel I'd recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Venice Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The best aspect of this hotel is its location - near the Venice Beach pier, right at the edge of Marina Del Rey, easy access to the restaurants on Washington Blvd and the Venice canals. The rooms were a nice surprise, renovated recently and now sporting a chic look and big flat-screen TV's. My room faced the neighborhood side street and I was getting some conversational noise late at night, probably not helped by the noticeable gap in the wall around the air conditioner. The breakfast is pretty much standard for a free hotel breakfast, but the inner courtyard area by the breakfast room has some nice ambience.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank technicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Hotel pictures don't represent what you'll really find--which is the first mark down. The building is an old cheap Motel 6 type building that has been poorly and inexpensively renovated. Overpriced by $90-100. Window AC are old, don't fit in the space inch opening to outside), and are noisy. Disappointed.

Room Tip: I just would not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JBtravelsSf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice419, Manager at Inn at Venice Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

I sincerely apologize for noise problem you experienced during your visit.
Your feedback is important to us and it is because of guest's like yourself,
that we continue to make progress by taking that feedback, and making
changes that will have a positive impact our guests stay. We have come up
with a solution to the noise issue and will continue to listen to our
guest's experience to further improve our guest's satisfaction. We are also
in the process of uploading new images on our website of our newly renovated
and redesigned hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Maggie Oliva
General Manager
Inn at Venice Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were pretty excited to visit L.A and stay at Venice Beach as we have friends living just 1-3 blocks away.

What we liked from the start was the hospitality. Rasha was the one who received us and she was indeed very funny and welcoming. We had just got off a 23hrs flight and she was definitely a breath of fresh air!

The room was comfortable and very very clean which I totally love. The house-keeping team is really sweet and does a very thorough job of it, every single day. The bathroom is small but we didn't mind it as it is extremely clean (I am very fussy with toilet cleanliness especially)

Alfonso helped us a lot with the Disneyland tour which we thoroughly enjoy. The place feels very personable, friendly and comfortable.

We were there when there was a huge commotion at the inn. (Helicopters buzzing around on top of us + policemen everywhere!) Very terrified!! But Rasha and Cassie made us feel better with their warmth and attentiveness. They are real sweethearts those two! Even the other staff (gosh can't recall his name but he told me he was of Egyptian-descent) was always very helpful when it comes to taxis, sight-seeing tips etc.

Breakfast was really basic. Nothing to shout about. The Inn is kitch-y, the TV probably need replacing, as does the furniture but the staff there made the place special. They could do with a refurbishment or two (hopefully they've done so already)

It's just next to a great Mexican place (can be noisy during weekends if your room is facing towards the beachside) and just down the road there is a drugstore, so it's really convenient.

The only real complaint I have is probably the fact that they don't have a security guard on the premise. There are quite a few drunkards/rowdy people coming into the inn or just hanging about at times and having a security personnel would be a good idea I think!

We stayed from April- May 2011.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarizzaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

You are only 1 block off the beach from here so the location is good for that purpose. We picked this hotel as a lower cost option to the pricer properties in the area. Only stayed one night as we wanted to be close to our morning appointment. The hotel lobby was under renovation during our stay, but the staff was doing their best to minimize the inconvenience. Rooms are small, but clean and newly renovated. Wifi on site so that is helpful. Adequate breakfast in the morning. Only down side is the hotel is located on a very busy street that is only quiet for a few hours in after midnight. It would be helpful if the hotel put in some insulated windows to minimize the noise from the street.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face Washington Blvd if possible. The traffic noise only stops between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJames88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice419, General Manager at Inn at Venice Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I am glad to hear that you found value in your stay with us. I am also happy to share that as part of our renovation; we will be upgrading our windows to dual glazed finishes. We look forward to having noise from Washington Boulevard be a thing of the past.


Maggie Oliva
General Manager
Inn at Venice Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

First, the good: The hotel is clean and in a great location, just off Washington Square in Venice Beach.

ow, the bad: We made our reservation through Southwest Airline's website in a package deal with our plane tickets. Weekend rates were slightly higher than weekday rates, as was expected, but the overall price was good. When we checked in we were told that we'd already paid (though the charge hadn't shown up on our credit card statement). Upon checkout, we asked for a receipt and were refused. Specifically we were told that since they'd already charged us (they hadn't), we didn't need to sign off on the charges, so a receipt wouldn't be provided. Uh okay... Then the charge shows up on our card, much higher than the rate we agreed to when making our reservation. After speaking with the manager on the phone, we were told that because the reservation was made with a third party (not an Inn staff member over the phone), the rates could change without notice and a refund would not be issued. We again asked for an itemized receipt and was given the run around. When the manager finally agreed to provide a receipt, he made it difficult. We had to receive a faxed form, fill it out, and fax it back just to have him snail mail a receipt (or so he said...we've yet to receive it).

The other issue was that the Inn was under construction. To be fair, we knew this was happening as it was mentioned in our reservation confirmation. However, it was stated on that confirmation (and posted all over the Inn) that the construction would be confined to 9am-5pm Monday through Friday. This was not the case at all! Construction noise could be heard at all hours on all days that we were staying there (Thursday-Sunday). Additionally, the water was turned off not only during the posted construction times, but on Saturday as well. When we mentioned this to the manager while discussing the room rate increase, he stated that he knew for a fact the water was not off on Saturday during our stay. After arguing, he finally said he'd take $30 off the bill after discussing the water situation with his construction crew.

All in all, we weren't in the room much during our trip. When we were, it was a constant source of irritation. We won't stay here again because of the poor customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice419, General Manager at Inn at Venice Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced regarding the challenge with retrieval of your receipt and the interruption with our renovation.

We value you as a guest, please call me directly so I may personally demonstrate my concern.

Maggie Oliva
General Manager
Inn at Venice Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#13 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,395 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,441 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,137 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#104 of 358 in Los Angeles
527 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#60 of 358 in Los Angeles
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Venice Beach

Address: 327 Washington Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £180 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Venice Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s never a shortage of things to amaze you around Venice Beach. And when you stay with us, there’s never a shortage of ways to save, either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Venice Beach Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing