We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #236 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Canterbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ok for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our first night in LA, not knowing the area and wanting something cheap to start off with. The hotel is right on the beach, but in a rough area. Lots of homeless people around, but they were friendly and didn't bother you much. Hotel is basic, but clean and staff were nice. Wouldn't stay again because of the area. It's's fine for the odd night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    174
    131
    69
    117
See reviews for
102
191
67
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

If you go a few hundred yards, you can stay at Shutters for $700 a night. But even if you could, don't.

Clean rooms, everything's works well (h2o pressure etc) and right on the edge of Venice. Great host, awesome value, very very sparse.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed at The Cadillac Hotel for one night in their one bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. The room was the perfect amount of space and intimacy. The room was clean and modern with just that 1920's style building design. The bed was absolutely fabulous; big, soft and comfortable. As far as the neighborhood, you are set at the best spot in Venice; you can enjoy chic dining or a local bar and its walking distance to Chaya, Subway and many other places on Main Street. There are some funny homeless people walking around , but if you know Venice they are mostly harmless and just a few frustrated artists. I have to stay the service was great and unpretentious, like the hotel and thats exactly what I was looking for, a hotel that felt luxurious without all that corporate attitude or fluff. Thank You Cadillac- can't wait to return:)))

Room Tip: I chose the best room available- private , quiet and plenty of space- also a small kitchen area;)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

I came to Venice for the half marathon they put on every year but I've never stayed at the Cadillac Hotel. I decided to try it out after a terrible experience at the place i normally stay down the boardwalk. The Cadillac is a simple place, average amenities and minimalist decor but the location is perfect for anyone into beach sports and I couldn't have chosen better for my purposes last weekend....I see all reviewers have noticed the homeless (it's Venice, of course you have!) but I've never found them to be dangerous, I've even made friends with some over the years and they cheered me on in the race.

The staff at the Cadillac makes a huge effort to keep you comfortable...the property itself may only be three star quality but the staff makes up for anything lacking and the great rates speak for themselves.

**parking is a bit tricky but the staff walks you through all your options and they were happy to help me out when I needed assistance.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vangrouvy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

While the Cadillac is no 4 seasons, the knowledgeable staff, clean rooms and local feel make up for it. The staff know all the hotspots, where to find free parking, and which places to visit to get the real Venice local experience. Stay here if you love to travel and experience cultures NOT if you are looking to stay in the hotel spa. Have fun!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_lite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a small, older beachside hotel with friendly staff and a pleasant atmosphere. Rooms are clean and bright. Close to everything. Fun Venice vibe with the usual boardwalk antics and happenings. Near to Santa Monica Pier fun zone. Staff is knowledgable about tours and places to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowball52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I visited this perfectly situated hotel on a weekend get away with my boyfriend. Sure the hotel is not swanky by any means, but it is quintessential Venice (what more could you want?) It's amazing location, helpful staff, nearby good eats, and artsy vibe can only be topped by the incredible sunsets. I would highly recommend to any one on a budget wanting to the most out of this famed Los Angeles neighborhood.

Room Tip: The newly renovated fourth floor is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjpoferl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#72 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#55 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Venice
Jolly Roger Hotel
Jolly Roger Hotel
#10 of 11 in Marina del Rey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Venice
Venice Breeze Suites
Venice Breeze Suites
#5 of 84 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Property: Cadillac Hotel
Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing