We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for a Fun Weekend Getaway”
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #247 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Place for a Fun Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hotel is quaint, clean and well situated to enjoying the Boardwalk and the Beach. Just what I would expect from a "boutique" hotel. Prices are reasonable for the location. Easy walk to Santa Monica Pier. Most reviews fail to mention that there are lots of choices for drinks and dining right nearby. Area is lacking in nightlife although "On The Waterfront" two doors over had live entertainment on Friday and Saturday night. If you want to ride public transportation, the Metro and The Big Blue Bus stops are only a couple safe blocks away, as is a CVS Pharmacy. It was definitely a great choice a weekend getaway from the cold in St. Lou!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra1love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    178
    136
    75
    124
See reviews for
112
197
67
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La-Baule-Escoublac, France
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hotel very well placed, "on" the beach (beach that you must see during the day, but have to avoid during the night ... it's the roughest place of Venice beach ...). The rooms are correct, could be a bit cleaner. Ideal for a one or two night(s) stay, not more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovemasterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, well situated on the beach, nice rooms, however the hotel needs a little bit of TLC.

Slightly run down in the corridors and the main seating area by reception, but otherwise perfectly good. Has real potential to be a luxurious hotel but it's adequate if you are staying for the location and you get what you pay for. My bedroom was comfortable and clean.

The reception staff were very friendly on arrival and helpful in suggesting tours around Hollywood and other things to do locally.

Overall a good hotel but could do with a little bit of attention in some areas.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mimimgtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 208 on second floor our stay was nice, room was clean, hotel attendants and housekeepers very helpful and friendly. We had a partial view of the beach and rooftop of the buildings across from our window, we didn't mind, didn't plan on staying in much, spent time out on the boardwalk at Venice and Santa Monica. The only things we didn't like is: no vending machines, ice machines on site, although there was a basket with chips, pretzels, regular size candy bars, breath mints and Fiji water for 3.50 for each item, expensive for small packages!!! The walk to convenience stores is about 4 blocks ,closed early by 9/10 pm including most establishments on the boardwalk right outside our hotel even on a saturday night, thought places stayed open a little later on weekends.On the up side the beach is in front of the hotel which is really nice, just wonderful!!! Parking is very limited, tight squeezes, unless you drive a compact vehicle, we had to park our vehicle in a parking garage 3 blocks away. Overall we had a nice stay and would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Ok, where to start....

We pulled up in a cab outside the hotel after a 5 hour flight from Vegas only to see the police pin some guy against the wall before arresting him.

We then check into the hotel only to be told by the receptionsist that its an extra $5 charge per day for the Wifi and its non negotionable. so even if you dont have a phone or a tablet or dont even want to use it you still have to pay it!!! Why not just incoporate it into the price and not annoy people.

Bearing in mind this has all happened before we had even seen our room i was pretty angry. We get upto our room and to say it was basic is an understatement. its like they are trying to go for an art deco kinda look but it feels more run down. there was a table in the corner with one chair, a bed and that was it. shower and toilet are ok.

There was also a note saying that the sheets are only changed every three days plus there is no air con. This is fine in the winter but can imagine it gets very hot and sweaty in the summer.

On the positive side the staff where really friendly and couldnt do enough to make you feel welcome whilst also being helpfuly at the same time.

Needed to know where the supermarket was, no problem. Needed washing doing, no problem. Needed tours booking, no problem.

All done with a smile and it makes me feel bad about my views on the state of the hotel as they were all so nice.

The best thing about this hotel without a doubt is the location. there is lots going on here and you can also go up onto the roof from 10am - 10pm i think which is pretty cool to take pictures.

Despite the state of the hotel i would more than likely stay here again as i would be prepaired for what to expect, plus the staff and location are excellent.

Overall a 3.5 out 5 hotel for me.

Tip - dont come here for a romantic break or if you dont like the smell of weed as it seems to be everywhere!

Room Tip: Go for one of the floors higher up to avoid the smell of weed coming from the tramps on venice beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The1927Clubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I am extremely happy we stayed here. Our room was the room Charlie Chaplin used to stay in. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and awesome. Our view was amazing, and the hotel is as close to Venice beach as you can get. You won't be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fried117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canakkale Province, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend staying here. The rooms are nice and clean and are really competitively priced for the area. It's right where the action happens on Venice beach or a short stroll to Santa Monica. A taxi to the airport cost us $24 + tip.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneNZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#87 of 351 in Los Angeles
511 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#59 of 351 in Los Angeles
538 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
765 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Property: Cadillac Hotel
Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing