We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhh... It's a secret.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel
Ranked #78 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I decided to choose the Los Angeles Athletic Club as our accommodation whilst traveling across the USA. We travelled from San Fran to L.A via bus and caught a quick 15 minute cab ($13- incl tip) from Union to LAAC.

We were given the keys to our room and directions to the facilities within the Athletic Club and Hotel.

Pros:
- tasteful very masculine decor fitting in with the old world feel of the hotel itself. Think dark woods, lithographs of 1920's men doing ridiculous poses and bronze statues decorating the hallways and common areas.
- amazingly large room. For the price that we were paying my husband and I were impressed with the rooms space. Yes it is a bit dark but it was furnished with leather and had 8 different lights to utilize.
- free WiFi. With owning an iPad it was really easy to see suggestions for meals and activities to participate in
-comfortable bed with beautiful linen. I might sound overly female about this but the bed (King Size Suite) was AMAZING. The blankets were heavy and warm and the pillows were down.
- breakfast buffet was delish. I don't eat eggs but it was a protein lovers delight!
- facilities were top class. Basketball conditioning classes, Swedish massage and a full pool in downtown la is a sight to baffle you. I forgot my suit at home so needed to buy one. The staff at the pool were friendly and helpful and I paid for a speedo suit much cheaper than I would've at home- and this was at hotel prices!


Cons:
- It does get deserted at night and the homeless will follow you into TA food stores (chipotle/subway). Heads down and don't engage with them and you won't find it a problem. It looks a bit eerie outside at nighttime but we caught the metro and walked to our hotel and didn't have a problem. Common sense goes a long way.
- some staff do look a bit disinterested and otherwise occupied. However. Be approachable and they will happily answer your questions. Be surly and a pain in the bum and of course you'll have problems.
This hotel is a well hidden gem and an oasis after spending long exhausting days checking out the sights and sounds of Hollywood.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank MrsShrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

At first I was hesitant about staying in a hotel/ athletic club. I was actually going to stay at one of the other well know hotel chains. I am so glad I didn't. I love this place. My first visit to LA and this hotel was very convenient for my family. My husband loved the gym, my son (11) loved the pool, my daughter (18 months) loved the fresh fruit every morning for breakfast. I loved the omlettes and everything else, especially the steam room. It was a 9 -10 block walk to Staple center , which was great. There is a 7-11 across the street for any late night cravings. Two blocks up is a Walgreen/ Rite Aid. I guess this is important for those traveling with young ones. They always need something. Also the Metro was two blocks away. We took that to Hollywood Blvd for our tour. Parking was $12.00 a night which isn't bad. The staff wasn't too knowledge about places to eat locally besides a Thai and Sushi. But we found an IHOP, California Pizza Kitchen, and Morton Steak all in walking distance. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit. Hope this helps

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schynel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Lots of history here, so much to explore and if you stay as a guest you have full rein of the gym, all 5 or 6 floors of it! I lived here for a month back in 2006 when there was a delay in my apt building opening. I liked it then, but love it now since it's been renovated. I stayed here for my wedding weekend in Feb/12 as did over 30 of my wedding guests. Everyone loved the hotel, the service, the location and the rooftop! Highly recommend. Excellent pricing too. Teri in group services was the best to work with. Oh and the free breakfast is SO good, hot and cold items, not just continental.

Room Tip: 12 floor is the top and so has the best views. Suites are small, so for a family, you are better of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutecdnchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I was pleasantly surprised when I booked the LAAC to attend the Pac12 basketball tournament at Staples Center. The hotel is about 1 mile away so within walking distance. The building is definitely older but has been remodeled and kept up to date while still retaining the feel of an older era. The room was large by current standards. The long desk was very convenient. The LCD TV was mounted on one side while the other side was perfect for my laptop, with power connections and the free WIFI. The King bed was very comfortable, with a cushy but firm pillow top. The included breakfast buffet was very good. Lots of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs that were not dry from the warming pan and made to order omelets. Checkin was a little slow but overall service was good and the staff was friendly. The room rate was not cheap but I was very happy with this facility.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

At first I was a little taken back that my wife booked us into an "Athletics Facility" but upon arriving I was instantly charmed. They kept the old-school boys club look on the restaurant floor which was very cool to behold. Lots of sports facilities (yoga, squash, full basketball/volleyball gym, length pool, sports shops, bar and lounge, etc).

We loved the dark feel and all the decorations. The pictures of the 1920's dudes flexing kept us amused when we were exploring every floor. Rooms were excellently decorated and very clean. We had a king bed and it was a very comfortable sleep. Good AC unit which I used, to my wife's displeasure, since they kept the rooms a little warm for my taste but I am from Canada :D

We had our breakfasts included and that was a personal favorite. The omelet chef is a genius...best omelets ever. Full buffet with lots of healthy options including yogurt and fresh cut fruit, milk, juice, etc and the bacon, sausage, eggs, french toast staples as well. We never had dinner here so I can not speak to that.

Great location since the Metro is just 2 blocks away and you are right in the Jewelery District. Pretty close to Macy's as well.

Also, when staying here definitely do not miss the opportunity to go to Bottega Louie across the street and get the Chicken Parm (biggest I have ever had).

I have nothing but the best to say about this place and will probably stay here again if we come back to LA.

Room Tip: There really is no view since you are smack downtown and the 3 floors of rooms are exactly the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Gorgeous decor that reminds me of MAD MEN, with a dark men's club feel. Only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because the bathrooms seem to have missed the modernization trend. As noted in some reviews, LAAC is right in downtown LA so there are homeless people around especially at night. But less than a mile walk to the disney concert hall, near fabulous restaurants, and a good value. I'll come back.

Room Tip: Avoid 1224, right next to the housekeeping closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was not expecting too much as most of this building is a gym. Boy was I wrong....I stayed in the Bruin Suite for a few nights and this hotel has made my top 3 list in ALL of LA. The furniture was comfortable. Amazing bed. Nice low lighting. A kitchenette, living room and huge master! I simply can't say enough about this gorgeous place to stay. I wish I could have stayed even longer for business because I so looked forward to the end of my work day where I could go unwind in this perfect hotel room.

You will not find another hotel room in LA that is as unique and beautiful as this was!

Room Tip: Bottega Louie Restaurant is only 2 blocks away..it's not to much $$ and the food is great! Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IHeartTravel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
771 reviews
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#106 of 354 in Los Angeles
36 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#152 of 354 in Los Angeles
455 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#77 of 354 in Los Angeles
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel

Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-1601
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £174 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing