We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous Amenities, but fundamentally an Athletic Club - not a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Ranked #80 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Tremendous Amenities, but fundamentally an Athletic Club - not a Hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the LA Athletic Club (LAAC) while enjoying a wedding weekend in downtown LA.

Our deluxe room was spacious and well-designed. The bathroom was rather small and plain, but sufficient.

Access to a world-class gym, swimming pool, and basketball court was a huge plus, but the wedding activities did not afford us the opportunity to partake. And be warned - downtown LA is no NY or Chicago as far as urban aesthetics. However, numerous restaurants and clubs surround the LAAC

Parking at the hotel was $14 daily with in/out privileges.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to enjoy easy access to the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hendrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    150
    40
    17
    11
See reviews for
43
151
38
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This hotel is a gem right in downtown Los Angeles and we have stayed there twice and have not been disappointed. The facilities are well kept and are very clubby and from the staff to the management we have received nothing but our fullest attention. We will definitely be back at the LAAC again when in LA. Congrats to the LAAC team and thanks for looking after us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissnhaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I've been staying at LAAC weekly since September as I need to be in downtown LA. Notwithstanding the reasonable price for stay plus a full breakfast, the staff service, across the board--from front desk, bellmen, waitstaff in the grill, gym staff, trainers, housekeeping--is absolutely the best I have ever experienced, anywhere--friendly, efficient, courteous. And as we travel a lot and stay in great places, that's saying a lot. Rooms and bathrooms very clean, if a bit dated and dark. Breakfast delicious and extensive. Athletic facilities are also superb and vast. Yes, like one guy said, the pads in the sauna room could be changed or refreshed, but that's a small criticism--the heat will kill all the germs anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMANDMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A flash back to the end of the 19th century private club! The L.A. Athletic Club was founded in 1880 and it plays its history throughout the hotels with many old photos, posters and memorabilia. The hotel rooms are on the last 3 floors and are modern and comfortable. The bed is ultra comfy. The room is equipped with a small fridge, coffeemaker, free WiFi, and a plate of fruit and cheese awaits you. Breakfast is included in the rate and is very good. Cereals, oatmeal, yogourt, eggs, bacon etc. plus an omelet station. Parking is just around the corner, with access from the inside and only 12$ a day.

The sports facilities are amazing - swimming pool, basket ball court, etc. Make sure to visit the ballroom, bars etc. It's so beautiful, like an old English Mansion... feels like your going to run into Captain Mustard or Miss Scarlett from the Clue game!!

We had 2 rooms - 1222 and 1224, connecting and 1224 was much bigger. We loved the hotel, but the only thing is that the area isn't super, especially at night, we were a bit uncomfortable to walk amongst the many homeless and ladies of the night... but during the day, it's fine. Do not miss going to Bottega Louie, just a block over on 7th. The bakery is amazing !

Room Tip: 1224 and 1222 are connecting rooms, with 1224 being slightly bigger with more room, and more seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Olivos, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

What a great hotel with all the history of Los Angeles behind it. This hotel is a MUST.

Courteous friendly clerks at arrival desk. All the staff we found to be extremely helpful. Full explanation of all amenities, and what amenities there are!!

Apart from 6 floors of amazing athletic facilities there are 2 floors devoted to ballrooms, conference rooms, dining rooms. All these richly decorated in the style of the last century and kept in immaculate condition.

The rooms on the top 3 floors are elegant, with all one would want included –free internet, free use of all the athletic facilities. A substantial breakfast buffet included. Parking is ideal, at a low daily rate of $12.00. A platter of fruit and cheese laid out in the room on arrival.

Great location 6 blocks from Staples Center and 7 blocks from Dorothy Chandler Pavilion.

I would really recommend anyone staying in downtown LA not to miss this delightful experience.

No question for me - that's where I would return!!!!

Room Tip: We did not try room service - only because we were out during the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
372 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Booked one night at the hotel to attend a concert. Parking was a breeze, there is a parking garage around the corner attached to the hotel and being downtown, parking is usually hard to find.

Upon entering the hotel you feel very special and know that you are at a classy hotel with the private entrance and doorman. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Our room was on the 11th. floor with some views of downtown Los Angeles, The room was decorated beautifully and well appointed. Within thirty minutes or so of settling in, housekeeping came by with a fruit and cheese plate.

For breakfast we had 2 passes to their buffet which had an omelet chef and many choices of fresh fruit, cereals, French toast, bacon, sausage, hash browns and waffles. We were also granted free access to all the other amenities for their members.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will use it again the next time we are in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiabloDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed at the Los Angeles Athletic Club for three nights in October 2012 and highly recommend it to any traveler.

I was having trouble finding a reasonably priced hotel downtown when a friend recommended LAAC where you can stay without membership. The location was perfect and within easy walking distance of the offices I was visiting. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and stores to pick up supplies.

Shortly after checking into a lovely deluxe room, I received a call advising me that I been upgraded to a suite! I never get upgrades and have no idea what prompted this very kind offer, but I happily accepted!

The suite was amazing - a generous sized living area with comfortable couch, work space and wet bar with mini fridge, a very spacious bedroom with a comfortable bed and second work space, and a large bathroom. The suite was clean and well maintained. The rate included wifi which was fast. The corner suite views were also fabulous.

It is one of the rare occasions where I can say both the deluxe room I was briefly in and the suite I ended up staying in looked exactly like the photos on LAAC's website. I can even pick out the suite I stayed in from the photos on LAAC website (images 7 and 8 of 10 on the suite description page - http://www.laac.com/Default.aspx?p=DynamicModule&pageid=245369&ssid=101362&vnf=1).

The staff were always friendly and attentive. I needed to check out two days early - it was not a problem and the reception staff took the extra two days off my bill.

I can recommend the included breakfast buffet. A nice touch for any traveler, particularly a business traveller on an expense budget. LAAC do not short change their guests as the breakfast was amazing - both hot and cold buffets with ample tasty selections.

For parking, go around the corner to the public parking garage on Olive Street. You can access the hotel through the garage and obtain the discounted hotel daily rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iznik8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#90 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#142 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#36 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Property: The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-1601
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing