We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The NoMad Hotel Los Angeles(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Freehand Los Angeles(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Stillwell Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alexandria Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
O Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
217
162
45
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
162
45
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasketball courtathletic facilitiesrunning trackprivate clubdowntown lajewelry districtindoor trackmen's locker roombottega louiespa facilitiescharlie chaplinla historyolive streetswimming pooldowntown hotelunique hotelbreakfast was included
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Right downtown! Great staff....friendly and helpful! Room was comfortable for downtown. Very masculine color and furnishings. Great breakfast at Dukes with omelets made to perfection. Helped me store my stuff for a day out and getting a car to the next destination. Would certainly return here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a clean, spacious, extremely friendly/welcoming hotel in a central downtown L.A. location. Parking is reasonable and very convenient. The use of the somewhat outdated gym is a huge bonus! The bathroom was roomy and clean but due for modernization. The bed was unusually comfortable with excellent quality linens. I plan on making this my "go to" hotel whenever I need to stay in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a better view but much more early morning noise
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 608990pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The hotel surprises you with a great roof top deck and great breakfast. The staff from the front desk to maids are very nice and helpful. A 15 minute walk to the Staples Center. If you need to stay downtown, stay here. Only negative is getting coffee at breakfast. Dukes has a nice happy hour with little bites to graze on or a nice bar menu.

Room Tip: Rooms have a mini fridge and free WiFi.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobcat77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My friend and I stayed at Los Angeles Athletic Club for the first two nights of our stay in Los Angeles and also on the last night of our visit to the USA. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful at reception. The Lobby and Reception area was very pleasant and welcoming. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable and good internet connection. However the décor the bedroom was extremely dark and dull and very depressing, with dark chocolate colour walls and very dark furniture. The bathroom in both rooms that we stayed in were extremely small and old and need immediate upgrading.

This is not a cheap hotel to stay in and breakfast, which was included in our rate was very average.

However the location of the hotel is Excellent and very close to restaurants and shops and this is what we liked very much.

When we booked this hotel and read other people comments, about the neighbourhood, we were very uneasy, even thinking about cancelling our reservation. However we can assure other guests that this was not a problem.

It is correct to say that from 10.00 pm onwards there are a lot of people begging in the vicinity of the hotel, but this did not cause us any problems. We were able to get to where we wanted to and did not feel threatened in any way and there was also plenty of Police in the General Area.

We also took normal precautions and did not stay out very late at night.

So, our overall experience (despite the dark rooms) was very positive and we also felt safe and comfortable staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Group T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Los Angeles Athletic Club offers an elegant alternative to the conventional hotel experience for travelers who plan to nest downtown. The neighborhood is no place you'd want to go strolling after dark, but since I was attending a conference at the nearby Union Station, the location was ideal. Staying at the club is an extraordinary opportunity.As a guest, you enjoy access to all of the club's facilities -- pool, spa, running track, gymnasium, squash courts, you name it. And not just the athletic facilities. There is a beautiful bar, grill room, library, and fancy restaurant, all ideally suited for a business meeting in the sumptuous and heretofore exclusive setting that one would expect of a club designed for the elite of Los Angeles' business and legal communities. The hotel rooms are very handsomely decorated and well appointed although the style is definitely masculine running to slate grays with burgundy highlights. And for a room rate that is quite reasonable for downtown Los Angeles, the unexpected extras make this a great bargain -- a plate of fresh fruit and cheese waiting in the room, discount parking, a free, full breakfast in the morning. This is probably not the place to bring the kids, but for couples and business travelers, this would be my first choice in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the phone in your room to make certain the ring tone is turned on. Guests who want to sleep can turn it off, and the housekeeping staff may not notice to turn it back on. If it's off, you will still get your messages -- you just won't know they are coming in.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews