We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel
Ranked #82 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Don't stay here if you are looking for a boutique hotel....stay here if you want
-great value
-old world charm, lovely art
-large rooms
-free breakfast
-free sporting facilities....even squash!
-free internet
-super location
-friendly and efficient staff

The bathrooms are a bummer and so is the lighting in the rooms....get ready to overlook that. (Towels belong in a gym)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

The club is situated downtown LA - the entrance is unassuming but once you enter - you are propelled into a time gone by. Old wood, beautiful stone and woodwork.

The staff is very helpful and super attentive. The beauty of staying here are the top-notch athletic facilities, free, yes I said, free group classes of which there are many, many to choose from. A full size pool on the 6th floor and a very reasonably priced spa. While I was here I got a top-notch pedicure and the best facial I have had in years from Marianne.

I took two classes - each was good. One class in particular had a teacher who took the class through what i can only assume was her work out before dancing the ballet. She was so fun - I knew I had taken the class the next day!

The rooms and floors had beautiful décor, treatments and finishing details. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast is included and they will pack it to go for you as well. The food is reasonably priced and expertly prepared. Note that cell phones are permitted in certain areas and proper dress while inside the club.

The LAC is my first choice while in LA, it is an oasis of charm, service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desserty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The L.A. Athletic Club Hotel was conveniently located for us even though the Downtown DASH buses were not running their regular routes due to street repairs. Our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed several trips up to the roof deck for a glass of wine (that we brought up) and to look at the Downtown skyscrapers all lit up after dark. The roof deck furniture was not very comfortable but the deck is great. All in all, we had an enjoyable stay at the L.A. Athletic Club Hotel

Room Tip: Go for the top floor - one level down from the Roof Deck.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We completely miss the "old charm" of this hotel...
As for us it was just old, dirty and noisy.
The first room we were taken to was double as we had booked. Unfortunately it was a connected room (which wasnt mention). The furnitures were old. The room was not clean... very dark and you could hear the traffic noise.
We asked for a non connected room and we were told that almost all the rooms are connected. As we answered that almost is not every room we were moved to a king room. So much smaller and darker. Same dust...
So we called booking.com and they accepted to help us change our reservation.
The front desk just left us leave without proposing to call a taxi so me had to find one by ourselves.
We really dont regret that we left without spending a night there.
The club may be good but the hotel would need a remodelation...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CoraBachatera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

CoraBachatera,
Thank you for taking the time too submit a review, the feedback is much appreciated. I apologize about stay as we did not meet your expectations. During the time of your stay we were at high occupancy, with about 80% rooms already occupied, making it difficult to meet your request of a non-connecting room. We do our absolute best to meet all requests of our guests, and have been consistent, just during peak dates make it challenging. I apologize about the cleanliness of the rooms and I will discuss this matter with the Housekeeping Team, and assure you this is an isolated incident. The rooms went through a complete renovation in 2010, and go through monthly deep cleanings to keep all rooms fresh and clean. If you have any questions or concerns feel free to contact me. Mike Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked through Hotels.com. It was a little difficult to find at first but that wasnt an issue. I requested a Queen Bed and recieved 2 Double Beds, No biggie. the feel of the room was very ncie with its Dark colors. the quality of the room was great! I would definitely stay here again if im staying in downtown for an Event. This hotel has some history behind it and gives it a great feel!

I didnt get a chance to explore the hotel a great deal but perhaps on a next stay we shall!

-vernight parking is 20 bucks! (cheapest in the area i believe)
-reakfast buffet was good
-he hallways were great!
- Clean hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaida21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We reserved a standard king room and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite, which had a spacious separate living room. Felt like an apartment. The decor, furnishings and bathroom fixtures were older than most modern hotels, but it was very comfortable and the room had character. The athletic facilities and the richly historic character of the building interior are unique. The complementary breakfast buffet was unusually very good quality. The immediate neighborhood is unfortunately in need of urban development - very old shops, abandoned buildings, homeless people; nearby streets have been redeveloped and are much nicer. No problem walking to some excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bet527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was a nice change from normal modern style hotels. The Athletic club has a long history and it shows throughout the property. The room was comfortable, not large but very nice for two. The only downside is the very small bathroom. There is not much room for your toiletries. The bathroom is very nice and clean but small. The breakfast buffet was included and very good however it was the same food everyday with little to no variation. Overall I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erau1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
753 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#59 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,288 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#75 of 353 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#113 of 353 in Los Angeles
29 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#56 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,229 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#99 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel

Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-1601
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £145 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing