We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$434
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$497
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The LINE(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$397
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$574
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$534
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$554
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$520
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$1,132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$496
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
227
166
46
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
166
46
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasketball courtathletic facilitiesrunning trackprivate clubdowntown lajewelry districtindoor trackmen's locker roombottega louiespa facilitiescharlie chaplinla historyolive streetswimming pooldowntown hotelunique hotelbreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The LAAC is pulling off a really difficult and admirable feat - contemporizing while staying true to their 100 year legacy. The public spaces are beautiful and historic while subtlety updated. The athletic facilities are solid and well maintained. Food, dining and service are excellent. The newly renovated areas are something.

Be aware they are under construction to add more spa and a poolside restaurant so there are some space constrictions by the pool and gym.

Overnight guests get day passes to the athletic facilities.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank kentrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is gorgeous, the spa and sports facilities excellent but the flows are difficult to overcome: lousy reception staff, very bad Wi-Fi (mentioned it, no one ever came), bad lighting everywhere so the place is very dark, I never understood how the shower worked, the burger I ordered was dried and the room service was incapable to tell me where the red wines were from and what grapes they were.
Additional: no complementary water in the room, noisy work were done on the 5th floor, no one at the reception was capable to say how long they would last for and the TV channels was soooooo difficult to operate that we give up watching it.
This place has to decide if it really want to be a hotel but right now it there is nothing luxurious about it.
Almost forgot: the area is full of homeless people.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CDFBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our friends got hitched at this beautiful venue.
They where very accomodating and helpful.
The staff was friendly and proffessional.
The hotel is clean and stylish.
I loved my experience at the Los Anegeles Athletic Club even though it was brief.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoë B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen C, Manager at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to say such nice things about your visit with us. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay no matter how short it was. I truly hope this means we'll get to see you again sometimes soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

City of Angels and my hometown is getting a massive face lift !
Very happy to living in downtown where the buzz is definitely on trend with old buildings , dilapidated and classic undergoing renovations everywhere and new high rise condos and hotels are being built all over the city !
Revisiting Los Angeles Athletic Club and appreciating the modern twist with classic decor and ambience !
Love ❤️

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank garsilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen C, Manager at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Well hello, Neighbor!
We're so pleased that you took a moment to come and check things out over here. There are such classic historic buildings downtown and very few have the consistency of purpose that we have managed (over 100 years in this building as a health club and hotel). We're so glad you like the direction we're taking. There's more to come, so come back and visit for updates!
See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Lovely place to stay. I would defiantly stay here again. The rooms were very well appointed and clean. The club facilities were outstanding. My only regret was i was only staying 1 night. Breakfast was very good.
Loved the fact this was a non tipping hotel as a overseas guest this made me very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Natalie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen C, Manager at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Natalie,
We'll have to find a way to get you here for a few more nights! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave your impressions of our hotel. I'm going to share your comments with our staff; they will be so proud that you noticed the rooms were clean in particular! We're so glad you felt comfortable here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews