We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous with one small but important exception.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel
Ranked #96 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2010

I stayed here with a friend for several days this month. What a unique and elegant place. Our room was beautiful, large and elegant, the free breakfast was delicious and generous, the common rooms and athletic facilities are beautifully restored and maintained. There is a romantic and nostalgic quality that reminds one of expensive private clubs of another era.

The only problem? THERE WAS NO COFFEE AVAILABLE FROM ANY SOURCE OTHER THAN THE 7-11 ACROSS THE STREET BEFORE BREAKFAST WAS SERVED (no room service, no coffee pot in lobby, no coffee maker in room). WHO WANTS TO GET DRESSED AND CROSS THE STREET IN DOWNTOWN LA JUST TO GET A CUP OF COFFEE? Since only three floors of this lovely club contain hotel rooms, it would be SO easy and convenient to place a coffee service in the elegant, marble elevator lobby of each floor beginning at 6 AM and to maintain it until 8 AM.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

I have stayed at almost every hotel in downtown L.A. and this hotel is by far my favorite for the price. The rooms are newly renovated and the beds were very comfortable. I had read other reviews that the rooms are small but the rooms with 2 queen beds are large. The breakfast was great and the service was fantastic. I will defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We just spent a night at the LAAC on a Friday night discount special that included parking and a full breakfast. If you want a good hotel with incredible gym facilities this is the place. The staff members are very friendly, and the breakfast was top notch with very high quality ingredients such as dates, fresh squeezed OJ, real smoked bacon, croissants etc. The Frette sheets and towels and king sized bed were also really good. The only issue was that on a Friday night there were some parties going on and you could hear the music from a distance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2nynbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

If you need to stay downtown, then this is a great choice. Built in 1912, the Club is an actual athletic facility with rooms on the 10th-12th floors. Since it's not a hotel, there are limited hours for the restaurants and athletic facilities, especially on weekends. So if you're counting on using the pool during your stay, then call ahead for the schedule. That being said...the King Deluxe room I had was just like the photo. It's nicely decorated with Restoration Hardware fixtures and fittings and Frette sheets and towels. The only thing I would note is that some may find the decor a bit dark: brown linen wall paper, brown carpets, etc. so you may want one of the other rooms that have a different decor scheme, but don't look as nice on the website (didn't see them personally). The common areas are well-decorated with California impressionist and other original paintings and portraits from the late 1900s through the 1940s (I think). The athletic facilities are stae of the art, and there's a rooftop sundeck, which I didn't personally see, but was used for a wedding one night (my room was so quiet, I heard no noise at all from the wedding). Loads of free channels on the flatscreen.

You're given a nice bowl of fruit (nothing rare and exotic, but fresh) at check-in and the breakfast buffet in the morning is very filling: cereal, yogurt, fruit and french toast (weekdays there are omelet and waffle stations). The service in the restaurant is outstanding and very attentive, even though I had a voucher which stated that a tip at breakfast was unnecessary. The only other thing I had at the Club was an excellent tuna melt in the sports bar.

The Club is close to publc transport-- a block away from the Santa Monica 10 express and near the 7th Street and Pershing Square Metro stations. It's also close to Bottega Louie, 7 Grand and other trendy nightspots as well as a Big Lots. It's reasonably close to the Staples Center as well as a Ralphs, so if you don't feel safe walking around at night, a cab wouldn't break the bank. Again, if I needed to stay downtown again, I'd definitely stay here. Great atmosphere but, again, remember: it's not a hotel.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
3  Thank Kalisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I stayed at the Los Angeles Athletic Club last night and couldn't have been more pleased. Great room, great beds, extremely nice staff from front desk to dining room wait staff. I wish we had time to use the athletic facilities. Very interesting place with loads of character. I would definitely return and have already told friends and family about our wonderful stay. I usually don't write reviews, but this place is special. Got a great deal on Travelzoo, but I'd return and pay full price. If you're looking for a place with class that isn't your cookie cutter hotel don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The LAAC has proved to be a pleasant surprise because it is a club rather than a hotel and is there for the benefit of the members. Your price includes free (excellent) breakfast, room safe, free internet and reasonable parking rates. To top this, the rooms are fabulous, big with great decor and safe with great TV facilities free and pay channels as well as a large swimming pool and fitness facilities. Yes, the area is not outstanding, but it is just fine with convenience stores nearby and it’s easy to get to the Metro. If you want to go further afield hire a car. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotters1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Excellent and interesting. I took advantage of the athletic facilties and had a first-class facial. The parking is cheaper than most downtown garages. When I told my seatmate (a native Angeleno) that I was staying downtown, he said, "Cool! People don't know how great downtown is getting!" The room was swank for the price, and the service was excellent, including a little fruit and cheese in the room on arrival. An episode of "Mad Men" had been filmed in the pool area (very 1930s looking) the week before. I heard all about Don Draper from the spa staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#91 of 358 in Los Angeles
75 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 358 in Los Angeles
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#81 of 358 in Los Angeles
456 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel

Address: 431 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90014-1601
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £165 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing