We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most disgusting hotels I've ever stayed at!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Ranked #189 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the most disgusting hotels I've ever stayed at!!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Do NOT waste your money! This hotel is disgusting. The location is great right behind the Loews Hotel but you might as well spend the money and stay there because that is where we ended up. Dirty bed sheets with hair and snot on them (refer to pictures), a melted heater still on the wall, bars pried off the windows, half textured walls, the shower curtain falling off the wall, and one working lock on the door with the chain and the deadbolt look broken. Not to mention the terrible smell of the room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spenc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOLLYWOODLIBERTY, Manager at Hollywood Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our property. We regret to hear that you were disappointed during your recent stay with us. We always try to go above and beyond for our guest and it seems we feel short of this goal. We value you as a guest and hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future as we are under new ownership and will be doing major renovations on all of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    69
    66
    50
    97
See reviews for
73
109
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Great location, very close to all the action in Hollywood. Right around the corner from the Chinese Theater as well as plenty of Hollywood nightlife along Hollywood Ave. Easy access via the Metro and buses. Can also easily get to Universal Studios via the Metro and walk down to Sunset Ave to take the bus to Santa Monica. The hotel is a little old and not too fancy, but it's a perfect location if you're just looking to have a place to stay in the middle of Hollywood . Staff was friendly and came around each day for housekeeping. A small breakfast was served in the morning as well. The price beats much of the other hotels in the area. All in all, good value in terms of price and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephengustav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Great value for having a free parking lot half a block away from the heart of Hollywood! I suppose the pickiest of travelers might complain about it being a bit dated, but for them there are much fancier hotels (with matching pricetags) around the corner. The staff were incredily welcoming, free breakfast, hot showers, did I mention the large room, great wi-fi, convenient location, and AMAZING price! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura20072012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Really good location if you're wanting to stay in the Hollywood area. I think it might of been pretty dusty, as my allergies we very bad when I was inside my room but cleared up as soon as I left. Wifi was good and the gentlemen at the front counter was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Let's get the negative out of the way. Broken/loose tiles, toilet that rocks around, shower cubicle that fills up with water, musty smell, grey linen and towels, air con that had seen better days. Now for the positives. Free Wifi that works (which we found rare in our USA travels), comfy bed,bar fridge, microwave,iron & board in each room, you don't get these amenities even in most $300 a night hotels. A modest breakfast was supplied which was enough to start the day, the staff were friendly and helpful but the real selling point is the location, right around the corner from Hollywood Blvd close to shops and bars etc. and free parking if required. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel for the majority of travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyMouse955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Liberty on the first leg of our around the world tour. As I chose the hotel for is location and budget cost, we were happy with the room. The shower was hot and the beds were comfortable. The daily room service was good and the breakfast was enough to get you started on the days travels. We were after a room to lay our heads at night and a hot shower and this one was perfect for that. Our tours were booked at the front reception without problem, we just gave them an extra days notice. Overall happy with the hotel

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Everything said about this budget hotel located in the heart of Hollywood is probably true. There are plumbing problems among other things, but as a native Los Angelino I stayed here for two nights and parked my car safely for free! I walked to every popular destinaion easily. The staff was courteous and helpful. Anyone on a budget who wants to visit Hollywood can do so. It is a place to sleep (and park your car!). If you want first class prices, there are many to choose from. I would stay here again and pocket the money I save without a second thought or complaint.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathmandusue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#152 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Highland Gardens Hotel
#229 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#112 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Hollywood
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Property: Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Address: 1770 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4303
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Liberty Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel is a hotel where each guest is delighted by a clean, well-maintained room, a friendly staff, and by travel value in the amenities of each hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hollywood Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing