We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and room was terrible. No hot water.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Ranked #186 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights and had no hot water for 2. Was never told of the issue until we approached them. The room was falling apart, towel rails and shower curtain about to break, chipped tiles everywhere and the old fridge was loud. Only positive was the location. Still waiting on apparent refund.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOLLYWOODLIBERTY, Manager at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our property. We regret to hear that you were disappointed during your recent stay with us. We always try to go above and beyond for our guest and it seems we feel short of this goal. We value you as a guest and hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future as we are under new ownership and will be doing major renovations on all of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

I think this hotel deserves a little more praise than it is getting. Sure its no 5*, but for the price and location, it is AMAZING! Our room was huge and when you're on holiday in LA, how much time are you actually spending in the hotel anyway? The bed gave us a great nights sleep and the shower had hot water, I couldn't ask for more. Would recommend staying here and will do again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOLLYWOODLIBERTY, Manager at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

On behalf of the entire Liberty Hotel Team, we would like to thank you for your kind recognition. It is our goal to continuously exceed our guest’s expectations and it’s rewarding to know that we exceeded yours! We will share your comments regarding our staff. Thank you for spending your vacation with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Pros: Good location, cheap for the area, safe, comfy parking. There are more cons, but the cheap price is the main pro. Don't expect something fancy and you'll be okay.

Cons: Breakfast was quite lousy (we didn't expect much, but even for low expactation it was bad). Water pressure in the shower was low, so if you wanted hot shower - you had to settle for a weak stream of water (we were in town during a few rainy, rather cold days...). Wireless connection in room was bed, but once we got outside the room it was quite ok. The staff didn't really speak English (but rather Spanish).

Room Tip: We stayed at the room which is near the rear entrance door (the door to the parking lot) - don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Da Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOLLYWOODLIBERTY, Manager at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our property. We regret to hear that you were disappointed during your recent stay with us. We always try to go above and beyond for our guest and it seems we feel short of this goal. We value you as a guest and hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future as we are under new ownership and will be doing major renovations on all of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I had read all the TA reviews about this place and decided to give it a go. I explained all about it to my partner and we agreed it was worth the chance because of its price and location. When it came to the day, however, we couldn't bring ourselves to sleep there. The young man who checked us in was very helpful and friendly. The room was everything that has been said on here before. Large room, dark, musty, aged, oversized furniture.. Non smoking hotel but cigarette burn in bed cover. Sheets yellow with age. This hotel could be a gold mine with a little effort. Why on earth they don't grab a paint brush is beyond me. My partner took one look and said "can't do it" so we booked another hotel, accepting we wouldn't get a refund on this one. I know people say you only sleep but it just didn't feel like we would sleep very well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jod65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Rooms have water damage, cracked tile, dirty and smelly. Old broken furniture in hallway. Windows needs to be replaced. Hotel needs to be remodeled. AC didn't work well. Towel had hair on them. Worse hotel we ever stayed in. I took a walk in the morning with my mother we were startled by a homeless man going pee in the alley. No ice machine and the vending machine didn't work. The staff was very nice. The
parking was a tight fit. NOT HAPPY!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dgonzales5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOLLYWOODLIBERTY, Manager at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our property. We regret to hear that you were disappointed during your recent stay with us. We always try to go above and beyond for our guest and it seems we feel short of this goal. We value you as a guest and hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future as we are under new ownership and will be doing major renovations on all of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Great location, really can't be beat...close to EVERYTHING. Strange hotel, strange staff...looks very nice from the outside, but the inside is a different story. If security is on your list, avoid this one. No deadbolts, no peepholes, first floor room window came out in my hands when I tried to open it. Room does not have coffee makers as advertised...or clocks for that matter. 1980's TV also did not work. If you are looking for a great value, and really don't care about your room...this place works.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronnibfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Positives....location. Was pretty quiet and close to the strip.

Negatives...condition of place. Run down, needs doing up. A/c was noisy, carpets poor, bed uncomfortable, old tv units and cupboards in walkways made it difficult to walk through with suitcases.

It's not great. 3.5/10

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#158 of 355 in Los Angeles
188 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,188 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#70 of 355 in Los Angeles
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#81 of 355 in Los Angeles
352 reviews
Hollywood
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood
#160 of 355 in Los Angeles
763 reviews
Hollywood
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood VIP Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood VIP Hotel

Address: 1770 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4303 (Formerly Hollywood Liberty Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £89 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood VIP Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel is a hotel where each guest is delighted by a clean, well-maintained room, a friendly staff, and by travel value in the amenities of each hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hollywood VIP Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing