We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hollywood Horror” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Ranked #189 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Hollywood Horror”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel can best be described as a dump. The walls had splotchy paint patches, both couches in the lobby had big torn patches. One possible bright spot is that they are hard at work remodeling the place, but that doesn't make for such a pleasant experience while in progress. When we got to our room, the lights didn't work, nor the TV, so I called the front desk, but the phone didn't work either. That the phone didn't work shouldn't have been surprising, it had exposed wires on the floor. The shower had a bad leak, water was streaming out an alarming rate, and this is in the middle of a drought. We went to the front desk and they sent a repairman, he was able to fix the leak and the light, and the phone (until the next day when it didn't work again). The sink had hot and cold running water, unfortunately both temperatures came from both spigots. I have no idea how this works, but the right spigot would run cool, then very hot and same for the left. This never was fixed, we had cold water by putting cups of hot water in the refrigerator. They ultimately had to replace the TV with a new one, but then the remote didn't work, so another trip to the front desk and they sent a new remote which only worked when they carefully positioned the cable box (which had a big metal attaching bracket about twice as long as the box). So now the top of the TV case (which had little broken shards of wood around it) has a big cable box on top with an even bigger sharp metal bracket and a remote receiver wire which they had to drape over the lamp. The room had an area appropriately sized for a closet with two narrow walls where you could attach doors, but no door, no shelves no hanging rod, just an empty space. There was a hanging rod in the bathroom, which shared space with the dining table. The shower room had a shelf for towels but no other shelves or hooks so there was no place to put your clothes. The service guy worked very hard and all the repairs took a long time. I guess he appreciated my patience, so he extended his hand to shake, but it was caked with dirt and plaster; he looked at his dirty hand, and then said “it's OK”, and extended his hand again, at that point I should have said “not OK”, but I was so flustered I shook his hand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank purpletravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    69
    65
    49
    96
See reviews for
73
105
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was on a TV Show that just aired, "Hotel Impossible"! The rooms used to be bad, but the owner turned them around. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking was easy and cheap. Location was great!!! -Kooni

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here in January. The website was misleading, room was disgusting, service was awful & they must be BURSTING with black mold because it took me over a WEEK to get over my sinus inflammation. They do NOT care about your health!

It just so happens I was flipping through the channels this week & caught a program featuring this hotel where an EXPERT came in to try to save them. Yes, they should have listened to him and shut the hotel down while they fix the MOLD MOLD MOLD & UNSAFE CONDITIONS. WOW. Shows how disgusting & greedy the owners are. Don't bring your family they obviously value quick money more than your health & safety. Rather feel safe elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank travelmama8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My family and I were at this miserable little hotel which is undergoing renovation. Downstairs looks OK when you enter. But upstairs -- WOW! Watch the loose, sort of taped down plastic covering the carpet, so you don't trip down the dirty stairs! All day long (thankfully we were out seeing the sights!) nothing but hammering and sawing, etc. Started each morning around 7:30am. AND we booked & prepaid for 2 non-smoking rooms -- received only 1. Remember, THIS is in California and non-smoking rooms are mandatory, not optional.

Their website is totally mis-leading! No Business Services center and I relied on that information since my husband needed to be able to fax his reports on Friday 2/14/14 to his office. And the fax machine they had no one could "figure it out." So he had to leave the hotel and find a 24-hour Fedex/Kinkos who handled it for him at additional cost.

Bad thrift store reject furniture in the hallways and in our rooms! I'm not kidding here -- we had to practically climb over the furniture in the hallway to get to the back stairway to get to the parking area, which we had to pay $10/day for. And there was minimal parking available back there due to construction vehicles. We returned on Friday evening to discover some of the hotel's workers had found an old pay phone and they were beating on it trying to get the money out!

Breakfast? When it was gone, it was gone. Stale tiny muffins, fresh bread & fresh croissants, milk OJ and coffee. BUT if you weren't there at 8:45am (when it started) then it was usually gone in about 20-30 minutes.

AND there was no water all Friday night -- and on Sunday morning -- again no running water. This place is a mess and you shouldn't stay there until they are finished with their renovation.
It cost me over $800 for the 2 rooms, 3 nights!!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a downstairs room -- most of them looked OK. But no water is NO WATER.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
43 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Reading most other negative reviews we were a bit apprehensive to stay here, but we gave it a go anyway. We were pleasantly surprised! The beds were spotlessly clean - so was the bathroom. The shower (water pressure) wasn't the best in the world but there was hot water, which was good enough for me. It's good value, pleasant environment, simple breakfast and excellent location (right next to restaurants and the metro was ideal).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I spent 4 nights in this hotel and the first 2 nights was really terrible, the room was really big (its a family room) with plenty of windows, and during end of December, the night was pretty cold down there, with no heater, we barely got a decent rest.
there was some renovation going on. The carpet was old and dusty, the sink and bathtub need to be replaced. A bit expensive for the rate, I guess the prime location might be the reason.
A short walk to Hollywood walk of fame, right next to Highland center. Just 5 minutes walk to metro station.
overall, not much to offer, unless you just use it for rest after cruising the city.
the staffs were very helpful , check in and out very speedy.

Room Tip: most of the room are big, even for 4 adults. avoid book for extra breakfast, since it started 8.30 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ratlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Older property. Really large room. A little updating would make this property a true gem. Very helpful staff. Nice continental breakfast
Love the convenient parking just outside our door. Only about 2 blocks from Hollywood blvd, etc
Would stay again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Unibolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#157 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Highland Gardens Hotel
#232 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#128 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Hollywood
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Property: Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Address: 1770 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4303
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Liberty Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel is a hotel where each guest is delighted by a clean, well-maintained room, a friendly staff, and by travel value in the amenities of each hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hollywood Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing