We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs, Rude Staff, The WORSE Hotel Ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saharan Motor Hotel
Ranked #189 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs, Rude Staff, The WORSE Hotel Ever!!!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is possibly the WORSE hotel I have ever had to endure. I am extremely well travelled as I have stayed in many different hotels around the world and know a bad hotel but this place is really something else.

I stayed there a few weeks ago whilst being pregnant and got savaged by BED BUGS. The obnoxious (and that is the kindest word I can find for them) staff failed to take any responsibility or show any concern at the severity of the painful bites I had experienced and what's more, refused to refund the cost of the room despite my condition or the fact that it had been caused at their establishment.

I then had to pay substantial medical bills, as I was visiting the USA, which I am currently reclaiming via my travel insurance.

Really the whole experience ruined my weekend and not matter how much of a bargain this place seems IT REALLY ISN'T WORTH IT. I really cannot it stress it enough when I say STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Saharan Motor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are saddened by your report. Our hotel does not want to ruin anyone's vacation. We are investigating your claim. Since you stayed in July, we are going back thru our records. We have a company that inspects rooms for bed bugs. Housekeeping and maintenance also do the same. The mattresses are covered in vinyl covers to prevent bedbugs. And a professional company handles any pest problems. The ownership has also attended seminars how to control bedbugs and what to do about them. All occupied guest rooms are also cleaned daily and vacuumed. We certainly do not want our guests bitten by bedbugs. It is an important priority for us. And so is each guest like you. Again we are saddened by your review, management and ownership are reviewing what happened. Our hotel was just inspected this month, as it is every month, for bedbugs by a professional pest control company. Thank you and best wishes for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    195
    184
    58
    73
See reviews for
112
215
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

If you drove past this place you might not think its any good and may skip onto a hotel with a fancier front or posh lobby but once inside it is quite surprisingly good, Will always stay here when visiting LA. Very good location, close to Hollywood walk of fame, good supermarket across the road. secure free parking and help yourself breakfast. Breakfast is served in a small lobby and there is not a huge selection but has fresh waffles. You can then take your breakfast by the pool or in your room and for those who want to get on with your day the self service is great. tourist bus stop is about 300m away. It has a pool that we never used as it was quite cool but was a nice view to have and would be nice to spend afternoon sunbathing if you wanted. Room was fairly nice, good size clean bathroom and comfortable bed and a huge range of all cable TV channels you could possible think of including premium movie channels, better than any hotel tv I have seen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NileshGorsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

When you want to spent your nights in Hollywood, you can spent it here. You're only 15 minutes from the Hollywood walk of fame. The subway station Highland is only 20 minutes away. We felt safe on street. Our car was parked at the back site of the motel. There are cameras facing the parking lot, the parking spaces itself are a little tight.We didn't use the breakfast, but we used the supermarket Ralphs for our groceries. The room is clean and has a fridge, good wifi (reception even on the street), nice bed and bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The motel was fab and what we expected. Clean, friendly and nice sized room. The breakfast is help yourself and served in reception but worked for us!

The area is dodgy though- so don't walk here on your own.. It is a 5-10 min walk to walk of fame.

There's a brill supermarket called Ralph's across the way.

The pool was slimy so we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Good value for money. if you can afford to- Stay in Beverley Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RC_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Basic budget motel a couple of blocks away from Hollywood Boulevard and walk of fame. Rooms where not all that but outfitted with basic necessities. Neighbourhood seemed a bit uninviting during late hours. Easy access to freeway which is convenient when visiting LA.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Negatif:
When we arrived in the room, it smelled very stale. It was not cleaned properly, in the bathroom were still remnants of toothpaste from previous guests .. At the reception, the staff was very unfriendly. Breakfast was not tasty and there are 3 tables available, (at the reception?!!) for eating breakfast.

Positif:
The hotel is close to most sights of Hollywood. There is parking for the cars and near the hotel is a good, and not expensive restaurant (Bossa Nova).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lvdh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hollywood, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel room had little roaches and did not smell well. The staff was very nice and they offered us to change rooms. They sent us to another room but the AC was not working. Then, they sent us to a third room, but it was upstairs and too far and we needed to carry all our luggage thru the stairs and we decided to stay in the original room. The parking was too narrow and it was very difficult to fit the car in the parking spot. The location was really nice, and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#77 of 351 in Los Angeles
329 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#112 of 351 in Los Angeles
668 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#185 of 351 in Los Angeles
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
#210 of 351 in Los Angeles
297 reviews
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saharan Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saharan Motor Hotel

Property: Saharan Motor Hotel
Address: 7212 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90046-3406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Saharan Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hollywood, California, the newly remodeled Saharan Hotel is an oasis of hospitality on world-famous Sunset Boulevard. Our friendly, boutique-style hotel delivers a special blend of contemporary flare with vintage Hollywood service. Whether sightseeing or working, the Saharan is an intimate, comfortable lodging that will make you feel like a Hollywood star! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Saharan Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saharan Motor Los Angeles
Hotel Saharan Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing