We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by reception staff.”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saharan Motor Hotel
Ranked #189 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Let down by reception staff.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a difficult review for me. After 20 hours of travelling and standing in queues I was tired and not in the mood for problems. I had asked for a quiet room with a fridge some 12 months or so when i had booked the place. On arrival i found the receptionist difficult and rather stern and snappy. No smiles, no welcome just "Sign this" and "Give me your I.D and Credit card". Then we ended up with a room at the front of the hotel overlooking one of the busiest roads in America - Sunset Boulevard and without a fridge (I am diabetic and needed a fridge and had written to the hotel requesting such some 4 weeks beforehand). I got nowhere with the evening reception man and he told me to see the receptionist the next morning about a fridge which i did and eventually got .

The Motel looks rather tired and dated painted in a 70s colour scheme of burnt orange, red and white but they were repainting it as we came away. The stair wells were grubby and the doors to the rooms were all marked and scuffed. Parking was tight but adequate.

Once in the room I found it to be very clean and reasonably comfortable. Great TV, good hot shower, comfortable beds and clean bedding. The sink was old and cracked and the bath plug mechanism didnt work so unable to have a bath but made do with showers.

The bottom line is that this Motel is in a great location for Hollywood and not apparently frequented by the many drop outs and hobbo's that you see dossing outside of a lot of the other motels on the strip. The room was clean, there was somewhere to park free, most facilities were good and the breakfast in the Motel reception was busy of a morning but adequate.

The reception staff seem to have a "can't do that" attitude and frankly need a personality transplant. What is the point of asking for special requests on their website if they are not going to provide them? However the rest was OK and I would use the place again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    195
    184
    58
    73
See reviews for
112
215
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

seeing a strip club next door gave us a fright but there wasn't a drama at all. room was good with great a/c. bed was pretty uncomfortable but that was the only downside. brilliant location to everything as we didn't have a car. walking was a easy option and only a 5 min walk to the station if we needed to go further. did have a squeaky roof from the room above but we went that fussy about it.
staff were helpful enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location, literally a 5 minute walk from the Walk Of Fame & there are plenty of places to eat nearby. The strip club next door caused no problems, it wasn't seedy. On arriving & checking in at the hotel, traveling from London, England we were given a room up some stairs & overlooking the parking lot. Being that we were there for 9 nights & we were both young females we were forced to struggle up the steps with our heavy suitcases. Working in a hotel myself when you see someone has come from quite far away & is there for a fairly long period of time you try to accommodate their needs, such as giving them a room on the lower floor, preferably having a half decent view of the pool or something... This is called 'smart allocation.' The room itself wasn't 100% clean, hairs inside the fridge & stains on the bedding & towels.
Every night of our stay we were awoken at any time between 2-4am with people stomping past our room or having full blown conversations at the top of their voices. We would finally get back off to sleep to be awoken again between 6-7am by people stomping past, loud music, car horns or trash collectors. We left our 'do not disturb' sign on everyday & locked our personal possessions in our suitcases as we had previously read that things had gone missing from peoples rooms & apparently the hotel does not take responsibility if anything does go missing, therefore these maids can quite obviously help themselves if they wanted to.
On one of our first days we wanted to go to Santa Monica. We asked the larger receptionist how to get there. We were simply told to go & find a 704 bus, no proper explanation as to where to go. Not knowing the area & wasting over an hour of our day trying to find out how to get there, we gave up on this idea & went to the Walk Of Fame & found out there is a 'hop on, hop off' bus service which takes you directly to & from Santa Monica. We later discovered leaflets advertising this in the reception so why did the receptionist not inform us of this service?
We had already arranged a transfer to & from the airport & we just needed to call the company to confirm our pick-up time. We went to reception & once again the larger man was on & we asked to borrow the phone, dialing the number I then had to choose an option, being as the receptionist didn't give me the base of the phone I had to ask him to do it, he responded with 'it doesn't work' but pressed it anyway, with that the phonecall got cut off. He informed me it could only make direct calls. I asked him what I was meant to do as this transfer needed arranging asap & neither of our British cell phones worked. The response I got was 'it doesn't work.' We then had no choice but to go & find a payphone. After finding one & dialing the number the operator told us this call could not be made from a payphone. By then we were panicking as we had no way of contacting our transfer that we had pre-arranged & already paid for. We left this til the next day & went back to reception again to ask for help. This time the slimmer receptionist was on, I explained I needed to make a phonecall to arrange my transfer, he asked me what room I was in, with that he said 'ok I can let you make a call from your room, i'll unlock the phone for you to use'... We went to the room, called the transfer company & sorted our transfer straight away. Why did the first guy not tell us this?!!! Why were we made to go & hunt for a payphone?! He caused an unnecessary amount of stress & panic!!!
I would definitely visit Hollywood again but I would look into staying at the 'Comfort Inn' just up the street instead!

Room Tip: Choose a different motel/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

New York, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

First off, I have to say, despite the many complaints about staff here from other reviewers, I found the management to be sweet, helpful and very kind. The manager gave directions on how to find the top attractions easily, and when I had to leave before breakfast to catch an early plane back to New York, he gave me muffins for the flight.

While this hotel is a bit older, it's got retro charm, and the rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. I had no issues with the noise others described. There is a large pool downstairs, and the hotel is steps away from a fantastic supermarket, as well as a five minute stroll to In 'n Out Burger, as well as the main sights on Hollywood Boulevard.

While yes, there are some dark areas for a woman walking alone, that's true in every city and town across the country. Use caution and you'll be fine.

The best part? This hotel is amazingly affordable and allows for visitors to stay in the heart of LA without breaking the budget. I brought my son here as he was preparing to begin his semester at Emerson College, and we both enjoyed our stay immensely.

I'm looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived at the Saharan quite late but the reception was still manned. It’s on the main road (Sunset Boulevard), and can be a bit difficult to get into if you’re turning left into it, but coming from the airport, it was on our right so a lot easier. There is plenty of parking, though it is a little cramped.
The hotel is very retro 50’s style, with two tier rooms looking out onto a central swimming pool, which is quite large but from what I can tell, not heated.

The room we had was lovely. Two large queen beds, fridge, ensuite with bath/shower and a large flatscreen TV (though no coffee machine or kettle). Very clean and kept very clean every day. My only complaint would be that it was a bit noisy from traffic, especially emergency vehicle sirens. Though we could hear people in the courtyard and on the stairs beside our room, it did get quite quiet from about 11pm onwards, which for a Friday and Saturday night is very good.

The location is superb – less than ten minutes walk from the Hollywood Walk of Fame and the Chinese Theatre. Very easy to find if you have a map or smartphone.

Opposite is a great supermarket called Ralphs, and down the road to the right we found lots of eateries like Denny’s etc.

My only cause for concern would be that the area does not look the nicest, and I was a little wary walking around after dark, especially as the shops and restaurants were spaced a little distance apart, leaving dark areas where there weren’t many people. However, we didn’t experience or see any kind of crime, so maybe it’s just tourist paranoia.

Being on Sunset Boulevard meant that we were not only close walking distance to a lot of tourist attractions, but also on a main route to lots of other places, and it was quite easy to depart from to go to other places.

If I were to make two small complaints:

1) The breakfast is minimal. As a Brit, I always feel lucky that any breakfast is included, but was a little disappointed. There is coffee and juice, a few pre-packaged muffins and the opportunity to make waffles. It’s all located in the reception area, which is a bit odd, so we tended to make coffee and retreat back to our room.

2) The receptionist / Manager was a bit abrupt. Once again, being English, we don’t expect much, so we weren’t too upset by it, but there was a gentleman in front of us who was politely enquiring about a laundry service and he was pretty much ignored and then told “NO, we don’t have one.” The man had to prompt the receptionist in order to get any information about local amenities and seemed a little intimidated by the receptionist’s brusque manner.

Overall, I’d say we really enjoyed our stay, but were glad that it was only for a couple of days as we had exhausted all the local tourist sites and the traffic noise did disrupt our sleep. The hotel was clean and well equipped as well as a fantastic location. I would recommend.

Room Tip: As far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calexico, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The front desk man (I am not sure if he was in charge but he sure acted like it) , was very rude and not helpful at all. A taxi cab was blocking our only entrance as we arrived, I called the front desk to notify him and he RUDELY answered that it was "not his problem". Then we had no remote in our bedroom, he wasn't helpful of that either. There was a cracking sound in the room that woke me up very early and kept me awake. If your near the stairs.. prepare for footsteps right next to your wall aaalll day and night. It was decent clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We chose to stay at the Saharan because of its central location on Sunset Boulevarde. We hoped that this location would mean proximity to great eating places but we ended up with a fast food meal as there seemed little else within even a long walk.

The staff were indifferent to the point of hostility, we arrived in the early evening, there was no one else for the manager to have to help but he treated us as an unwelcome interruption.

We asked him for some suggestions for a restaurant, he ignored us at first, on repeating the question he just said "take a right-heaps of places.."

I should have done some homework of course but I did kind of expect that this sort of local information would be forthcoming from the staff.

The room was okay, fridge was very noisy, there was a great deal of noise from the road and also from guests at the motel, loud voices and footsteps, also very loud cars coming and going through the night which did not make for a restful end to a long day.

The bed was a standard double, quite old but clean enough.

The Motel itself seems kind of run down and faded, something that may have related to the winter season as well as the lack of welcome from the staff.
The breakfast was dull as well with just waffles and bread products, no cereals and low quality coffee.

The good thing about the location was that it provides a good exit from LA heading north, that would be the only reason for me to stay there again.

Some sound proofing and some welcoming staff would be needed to get the place back to some of its former glory.

It was not expensive though, so on that score I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for one at the back.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Saharan Motor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are making improvements to our exterior with painting and landscaping. We have waffles and muffins for breakfast, our coffee is from Royal Cup, a major coffee vendor for hotels. We need to offer limited breakfast because we pass that saving on to our guests. Our hotel does not even charge for parking, but the other hotels in the area do. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#75 of 351 in Los Angeles
329 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#110 of 351 in Los Angeles
668 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#180 of 351 in Los Angeles
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
#209 of 351 in Los Angeles
297 reviews
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Saharan Motor Hotel

Property: Saharan Motor Hotel
Address: 7212 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90046-3406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Saharan Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hollywood, California, the newly remodeled Saharan Hotel is an oasis of hospitality on world-famous Sunset Boulevard. Our friendly, boutique-style hotel delivers a special blend of contemporary flare with vintage Hollywood service. Whether sightseeing or working, the Saharan is an intimate, comfortable lodging that will make you feel like a Hollywood star! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Saharan Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saharan Motor Los Angeles
Hotel Saharan Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing