We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saharan Motor Hotel
Ranked #198 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were a group of 4 travellers from Poland who stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Although the hotel seemed a bit pricey to us, we knew we wouldn't find any cheaper accommodation right in the heart of LA. And the location was terrific! The rooms were clean and we were positively surprised by waffle maker in the breakfast area. In general, the hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

If your searching for just your basic clean room in the center of Hollywood, then this is a good place. I did not have any problems at all, the desk clerk was nice and there is a grocery store across the street. The only problem was traffic congestion due to roadwork on Sunset. ..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Steveandlanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Saharan is a good option for budget travellers. It is in a good location, the staff is friendly, it is clean and beds were comfortable. There was a small fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and flat screen TV with lots of channels, as well as free on-demand TV. There was a phone and an A/C. The A/C worked very well, but was very noisy. Parking was included and we always found a spot. Complimentary breakfast was served every morning in the lobby, and there was even a waffle maker. There was a nice pool with sunbeds as well as tables and chairs. On the downside, you must expect traffic noise from Sunset Blvd, as well as the side streets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from Sunset Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were amazed to find accommodation in the heart of LA for just £75 a night, so we really didn't expect what we got. The rooms are a little sad and could do with a bit of redecoration. Our room was clean and we had clean towels each day. The only thing we were a little concerned with was the electrics, as there was 5 items all plugged into the same socket, and the pins form the lamp were quite bent, but it seemed to plug in. We liked the fact that the parking is round the back under a height restriction. you can choose to park under cover or in the open - we chose the open and we could see the car from our room. We didn't use the pool, but its bigger than you expect and very clean. We were surprised by the breakfast, we just expected a coffee machine and maybe a toaster, there was though a waffle maker, bagels, muffins and fresh juice. People seem to keep mentioning the staff on the desk - in person we had no problems with them, but did have issues over the phone, as the guy was busy with someone at the desk and he was going to call me back, until I said I was in England, and he said in that case I will be with you in a mo, but he kept me holding and holding. Also the strip club is actually a 'nude caberat' and its a few doors down from the motel. we walked past it on both evening and didn't see or hear anyone. Overall this was good value, as I don't know any other city you can stay for this price in the heart if it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here 16/04 to 20/04 in room 243. Value for money you can't beat this place. The location is good, the rooms are very clean, there is a fridge and TV. I had specifically emailed them before my stay to enquire about a room safe and was told they had them, but when we got there I was told that the room we were in didn't have one - bit of a downer. The guy on reception gets a bad write up on TA, but he was quite helpful, had a problem with our AC and he was straight there. Our TV broke on the final night and he offered to move us to a different room. Parking is very tight, you have to be a good driver to get out. Overall I'd recommend this hotel if you want somewhere safe that won't break the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a difficult review for me. After 20 hours of travelling and standing in queues I was tired and not in the mood for problems. I had asked for a quiet room with a fridge some 12 months or so when i had booked the place. On arrival i found the receptionist difficult and rather stern and snappy. No smiles, no welcome just "Sign this" and "Give me your I.D and Credit card". Then we ended up with a room at the front of the hotel overlooking one of the busiest roads in America - Sunset Boulevard and without a fridge (I am diabetic and needed a fridge and had written to the hotel requesting such some 4 weeks beforehand). I got nowhere with the evening reception man and he told me to see the receptionist the next morning about a fridge which i did and eventually got .

The Motel looks rather tired and dated painted in a 70s colour scheme of burnt orange, red and white but they were repainting it as we came away. The stair wells were grubby and the doors to the rooms were all marked and scuffed. Parking was tight but adequate.

Once in the room I found it to be very clean and reasonably comfortable. Great TV, good hot shower, comfortable beds and clean bedding. The sink was old and cracked and the bath plug mechanism didnt work so unable to have a bath but made do with showers.

The bottom line is that this Motel is in a great location for Hollywood and not apparently frequented by the many drop outs and hobbo's that you see dossing outside of a lot of the other motels on the strip. The room was clean, there was somewhere to park free, most facilities were good and the breakfast in the Motel reception was busy of a morning but adequate.

The reception staff seem to have a "can't do that" attitude and frankly need a personality transplant. What is the point of asking for special requests on their website if they are not going to provide them? However the rest was OK and I would use the place again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinglepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

seeing a strip club next door gave us a fright but there wasn't a drama at all. room was good with great a/c. bed was pretty uncomfortable but that was the only downside. brilliant location to everything as we didn't have a car. walking was a easy option and only a 5 min walk to the station if we needed to go further. did have a squeaky roof from the room above but we went that fussy about it.
staff were helpful enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy_boy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#92 of 358 in Los Angeles
354 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#163 of 358 in Los Angeles
188 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#125 of 358 in Los Angeles
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#185 of 358 in Los Angeles
391 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#119 of 358 in Los Angeles
724 reviews
Hollywood
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saharan Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saharan Motor Hotel

Address: 7212 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90046-3406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £81 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saharan Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hollywood, California, the newly remodeled Saharan Hotel is an oasis of hospitality on world-famous Sunset Boulevard. Our friendly, boutique-style hotel delivers a special blend of contemporary flare with vintage Hollywood service. Whether sightseeing or working, the Saharan is an intimate, comfortable lodging that will make you feel like a Hollywood star! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Saharan Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saharan Motor Los Angeles
Hotel Saharan Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing