We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, basic room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Guest Inn
Ranked #52 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The location is good, 2 blocks from the Chinese theatre.
The breakfast was just donuts as advertised, just one box of donuts for all the guests, so get them early! There are several Starbucks in the area for good coffee.
We left some of our souvenir items we had purchased on the floor in their bags. The cleaner threw them out, good thing we realised and went to the front desk. They were helpful in that they opened up the skip so we could dig through a weeks worth of trash ourselves to find it. NO apology.
There are better hotels in the area for a similar price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoasLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

Me and my friend stayed at the Hollywood Guest Inn for a month this summer and last summer. We had a blast! The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre and othe major turist attractions. The hotel is located on Sunset Blvd.
The hotel is clean and nice, and the staff are really helpful with providing sightseeing and dinner tips.Consequently, Hollywood Guest Inn is a family driven hotel with a lovely atmosphere. We had a great stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LADreamers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed in Hollywood Guest Inn for a week with my family without any problems. The location was perfect. Close to all major attractions in Hollywood. Only 5 minutes walking to Walk of Fame theaters and museums, 10 min drive to Universal Studios, Warner Brothers and Paramount. There are lot of restaurants and some of them open 24/7.
The reception is all day and night and have video surveillance. They close the gate at night to make sure vehicles are safe. We had out car parked securely in back side parking lot.
Front desk was really helpful. They helped us with directions, attractions, and all other questions we had. They are there 24/7 making sure everything goes smoothly. Anytime we had a problem they were quick to help us out.
Rooms are really good. we got 2 queens and extra bed for our son. They clean the rooms everyday. There is a flat screen TV with HBO, which is really nice to relax in the evening.
We recommend Hollywood Guest Inn to everybody. Thanks for making our trip enjoyable and easy. We will be back.

Room Tip: Nice Rooms for a Reasonable Price with Great Service at Awesome Location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Lets be honest this isnt a 5 star resort and we didnt think it would be, and if you read my reviews I am pretty well travelled. But this place was the equivalent of a dive in the middle of India.

Lets start with the location, its central yes, but its surrounded by crack heads, people with mental problems, beggars and just freaks. Yes there are some normal people but not many.

You are close to the main part and can walk to the Chinese theater.

BAD points:
-- CRACK , Walking to Mels diner for breakfast at 930am across the road we passed 6 crack heads smoking crack, urinating on the street.... talking nasty things about having sex with the poor girl walking in front of us.
-- THE BED, holy crap, its not hard its horrendous ! Its as hard as a rock. I have come across these types of mattresses in guest houses in India, absolutely no springs or softness. If you have camped on the bare earth this is the same !
-- YUMMY dissinfectant , the room smells like someone died in it and they have just cleaned up the crime scene.
-- ROOM SAFE, MAYBE NOT, the room just doesnt feel safe, we either locked our valuables in our car or we took it with us
-- PARKING, is a nightmare, there are small spots that test your skills at not scratching the sides out of your rental car, if you have to park underneath its a pain in the butt as you have to go and ask the front desk to open the gate and each time he doesnt remember you and you have to explain who you are.
-- CREDIT CARD CHARGED BEFORE YOU ARRIVE, yep at 7am on the day before we arrived my credit card was charged for the room stay, What The Feck!!

The GOOD
- Location to the crack heads (there is a rehab center on the next block)
- Location is close to the Cat and Fiddle pub, turn out of the hotel and walk / run 2 blocks to your right and you can get drunk and then forget about where you are staying
- The room was relatively quiet, we were on the 2nd floor,

Overall, DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL unless you really have you, we will never go back

Room Tip: DONT go , then you wont have to experience this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank can99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The owners of this family owned motel are very nice and when rowdy, young foreign guests did not know how to act at 10pm, the owner was quick to confront those guests. As you can see from my photo, parking is absolutely horrible even when you have a compact car! The owners will help park your car. One other negative is that there is about 2" gap from floor to bottom of guestroom door and walls are paper thin, you can hear every word next door. The area is safe to walk around in evening even tho the "bates motel" is next door, many homeless but undercover cops are everywhere in Hollywood keeping area safe. Chik-fil-A and In-N-Out Burger (California Icon) are one block away, Pharmacy type store nearby.

The beds and pillows are horrible, there were even stains all over the box spring - I was afraid to pull up the sheets and look at the top mattress. The bar size fridge would not get cold, the AC worked well, bathrooms well-kept, place is clean, shower water is hot.
Due to the sound thru the walls and parking issue, I could not have stayed longer than the 2 days we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronniwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for the feedback. We certainly will look at sound proofing the walls.
Parking is tight,due to inner city location, and we are looking for nearby parking area.
However aprox.40% of guests that check in does, by taxi or shuttle as we are in heart of
Hollywood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

It was a really nice hotel and the owner is really nice and helpful!
It's a 5 minutes walk away from Hollywood blvd.
The neighborhood is quiet, and the hotelroom looks really good and clean.
I stayed there for 4 days and I had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fokje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Very good location, close to subway and red line, everything is easy to reach, restaurants, shopping, Beverlly Hills, Sant Monica etc. The hotel has already a few years, but it's charming and stuff and management is very friendly and helpful.
We staid for 2 weeks and the room was always cleaned. Towls, bedsheets and bathroom also always had been taken care. Would choose again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodnerHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#186 of 355 in Los Angeles
389 reviews
Hollywood
Trylon Hotel
Trylon Hotel
#8 of 94 in Los Angeles
644 reviews
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
#195 of 355 in Los Angeles
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#11 of 102 in Los Angeles
113 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood La Brea Motel
Hollywood La Brea Motel
#168 of 355 in Los Angeles
255 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 102 in Los Angeles
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Guest Inn

Address: 6700 W Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-7108
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: £56 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Guest Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hollywood Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Guest Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing