We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice in Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Guest Inn
Ranked #50 of 92 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Choice in Hollywood”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We booked a room in this hotel for 6 nights and so far, its been really great. Location is just 10 mins walk to Hollywood Highland Station, 5 mins walk to Mel's Diner (you have got to try that place out for breakfast!!) and 1 min walk to a pharmacy.

Location is excellent, safety is good, though be prepared for car chases and helicopters hovering above you as you know Hollywood are famous for their
High crime rates. Albeit, it is still safe to walk back at night, just avoid the screw-looses, beggars and religious fanatics, you'll be just fine.

Just 2 blocks from the inn, you can find loads of restaurant so you don't need to order food to be delivered to your room. There's Subway, a small Thai take-out restaurant, a Lebanese restaurant, a vegetarian restaurant, a hair dresser, nail parlors and a 24 hours convenient store.

Cleanliness wise, I am a clean freak and I am especially particular with eekie toilets, so not hanging any problem whatsoever with the cleanliness means that this place is just clean enough though you may want to spray the room first as there's a slight musky smell when we entered. But that was during the cold season, so it does tend to be slightly damp. No issue though.

The daily breakfast are the doughnuts, you have to get up early in the morning to score some, we never had the chances we kept waking up at 10am and by then it's all gone. No issues too though.

All in all, this inn has got a great location, clean and comes with an excellent price. You can't get a good place that's any cheaper than this. Ps, don't consider Budget Inn, go for this instead, it's also way much cheaper than the hostels along Hollywood blvd.

Cheers

-D

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wondermeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    54
    58
    23
    29
See reviews for
24
51
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed there for seven days. It's a wonderful place. Room was newly renovated with pretty comfortable beds. Price was extremely fair comparing to surrounding inns. Few minutes walk to walk of fame and other major attraction is a plus. We recommend this place to everybody and definitely we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_white69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

could not even rate this place dont go there the room was filthy tissues under bedspread used toilet roll soap scum in bath dust everywhere tv was snowy and fridge did not work paid for 5 days would not give money back so left could not stay the photos are decieving of this place it is liworse than a tip and stinks pay the extra and go somewhere else we lost $450 because of this dump of a place

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseleigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Gladstone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We didn't have an issue with this hotel. We needed a cheap place to crawl into bed at the end of the night during our backpack across the states and thats what we got.
The guys at the front desk were nice and the room was clean and decent sized. The car parks are very tight if there is a full house but the front office guy was nice enough to help us park when we had trouble.

The free continental breakfast was enough for us to grap and go and the place had hot water.

We stayed here and had no problems but I do get the feeling if you did have a problem, they wouldn't be the forgiving type. Being Aussie girls on a budget we weren't expecting anything amazing but we got what we needed and we never felt unsafe.

Let's be honest - this isn't the Ritz and we aren't fussy. But if you want a cheap base to crash while you explore LA, this place isn't too bad.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaitL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The hotel was a little outdated, but okay price for the area. Only major issues was the noise from people coming back to their rooms in the middle of the night and the cigarette burns on the comforter. Be sure to suggest a 2nd floor room also since we constantly heard the people upstairs walking around. Hollywood Blvd was right around the corner in between Highland and Vine so all the major sights were within walking distance. The staff was very nice and offered coffee and donuts each morning along with discounted attraction tickets.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor room in the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for exploring, free parking which was great. Only downside is that being on a main road there is a lot of traffic noise all night. Rooms are spacious but in need of a refurb, very dull and out dated decor. Otherwise great for wanting to be near all the action.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayenpalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hueneme, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I needed a room for myself and my kids when my husband was transferred to cedar Sinai hospital. The room was dirty. Hair on the pillows and sheets. Rugs were dirty. Front desk was rude and threaten to call the cops on my daughter,s boyfriend. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Also have pay for parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gayle52855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#186 of 350 in Los Angeles
583 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#115 of 350 in Los Angeles
190 reviews
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
#209 of 350 in Los Angeles
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#10 of 91 in Los Angeles
97 reviews
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Le Bon Hotel
Le Bon Hotel
#227 of 350 in Los Angeles
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Guest Inn

Property: Hollywood Guest Inn
Address: 6700 W Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-7108
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Guest Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Guest Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing