We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the poshest strip motel i've ever seen :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farmer's Daughter Hotel
Ranked #22 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Let me start off saying that they did a great job refurbishing this motel. Funky design ideas inside and out. Borderline affordable, with great service. Stayed in the "No Tell" room - for it's funky and kinky, yes, kinky too! design. Wheat field murals on the wall and mirror on the ceiling over the bed, eh!
The location is just as fantastic close to the Farmers market (a must see, must try!) and the Grove. The CBS studios are right across - this little extra together with all else will give you the absolute Hollywood feel :)
The most fun hotel I've ever stayed at. If I ever go back to LA I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizcarr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location if you are looking to stay in Hollywood. Right accross the street from CBS Studios where shows like The Price is Right, American Idol and X Factor are taped. This hotel is unique in its styling, clean and offers very friendly service. The Grove and Farmers Market are both conveniently located, visible from the hotel and about a 2-3 minute walk. Great place to grab a quick bite. Free Internet but extra parking charge. Free snacks in the lobby are a nice touch!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevieg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for your kinds words..
Our location is fortunate. Walking distance to so many attractions is a serious luxury in what is known as a car town.
Not only CBS, but LACMA, the LA BREA TAR PITS & PETERSEN AUTOMOTIVE MUESUM are all just ~ a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Hope I gave you a couple more reasons to come on back :)

Safe travels and see you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A fantastic hotel - great location, staff is amazing, and the restaurant rocked! I stayed here with 2 teenage boys and they were equally impressed. Beds are a bit on the small side for 2 people to share, but overall the room was comfortable. The location can't be beat - right across the street from the Grove, LA Farmer's Market, and CBS Studios. I can't say enough good things about Farmer's Daughter!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have stayed at Farmer's Daughter multiple times. Our latest visit was in October. I hate the price of the room and I'm always looking for a more reasonable hotel but I keep coming back to Farmers Daughter mostly because of the location. The parking price is also crazy high. Basically, this is an old strip motel that has been updated with hip decor and linens. But it's clean and directly across the street from the Farmers Market. We love to walk there everything for dinner. I didn't have any issues with the staff. There were fresh cookies and my son loved seeing the birds. Tart is a great place to eat but not for the budget minded.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdrtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for review.

There other rates available that might meet your budget, for instance we have a 21 Day Advanced Purchase Super Saver rate.

Look on our Web Site and use the Pull Down on the Rates button for the many rate options. Booking Direct is always the way to go for great rates.

Did you try Tart for dinner? $15.99 for dinner is a great value for our Meat N 3. You pick your protein and 3 Sides. Sure to fill the belly up..

There is not to much we can do about the parking. Such is the life in a big city, parking is a rare commodity on the street. Our parking rates on par with everyone around us, except downtown where the hotels are charging 21 to 36 a day, ouuch....
We do have rates on the web site that include Parking and Food, this might be just what you are looking. One Price for everything..

Next time you are in stop in and say hello.

Have a great day and safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at the Farmer's Daughter twice while we were stopping over in LA at the beginning and end of our trip.
The first stay was for 2 nights and the 2nd was for 1 night only, but I wish it had been for longer!
We were always made to feel very welcome with the warm and efficient service. We loved the cookies and lemonade, as well as all the yummy food at Tart (the restaurant attached).
We also loved the location - right across the road from the Grove and the Farmer's Markets - the best place to shop and eat in LA.
Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed here on Christmas Eve and arrived around 1 AM. The staff member was extremely chatty, which at that time of night all we wanted was to go to bed as we had traveled all day. He also basically insisted that we pay for valet parking for $18 even though the street signs were extremely clear that if we left by a certain time the next day, we'd be fine on the street. He insisted we were wrong and told us multiple stories about tickets and big car crashes from being parked on the street. He was peculiar enough that we were afraid he might call someone, so we just paid it (and it was already our most expensive hotel of our road trip by 50%). After we finally made it to our room, the floors were hardwood, not so nice for our feet and it was sparsely (farm-y?) decorated. It is close to the Grove and the restaurant next door was good. They had bicycles to take around town (though no helmets), which I suppose is nice had we been staying more than 10 hours. We also got a call around 11 AM asking if we were coming down to check out- they did accomodate us when I told them our Orbitz reservation said check-out was noon. But they sure did call right at 11. Overall, I just was not impressed with the value for the room quality or the staff. Disappointing based on the reviews.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you for your this review. We will be speaking with our night staff immediately about what you encountered.

Our normal mode of operation is never to dictate where a customer can park if they do want to use our parking lot.

All of our bikes come with helmets and your own personal combination lock.

Our normal check out time is 11 AM, under normal day to day operations extending until 12 PM is not a problem, there are those times when a large group is coming in and we only have a few hours to turn the entire hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Great Location. Staff very pleasant and helpful . Food in house was terrific. Stayed only 1 x night but my daughters have stayed several times on stop overs and always have found it consistently a pleasant stay. Good quiet rooms and the little extras in the foyer like the delicious cookies/ chips/cider/water made it feel very friendly and comfortable, After paying much more at various other hotels on our trip I considered it good value for LA
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,386 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#37 of 354 in Los Angeles
826 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 354 in Los Angeles
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#119 of 354 in Los Angeles
319 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#60 of 354 in Los Angeles
635 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmer's Daughter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Address: 115 S Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036-2199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#43 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £189 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farmer's Daughter Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmer's Daughter Hotel is a unique West Hollywood hotel offering country styled hotel rooms and down-home hospitality right in the heart of Los Angeles. Our location can't be beaten: Farmer's Daughter Hotel borders Hollywood/West Hollywood & Beverly Hills. We're across from the Grove, walking distance to Museum Row and the pedestrian-friendly parts of 3rd Street and Melrose, and, of course, CBS Studio where "The Price is Right" is filmed. When you book your reservation at our Los Angeles boutique hotel, get ready for a unique experience. Our Los Angeles boutique hotel rooms are truly inviting, with rocking chairs, hardwood floors, rain showers and plush bedding. Plus, as a pampered guest at our West Hollywood hotel, you'll be invited to join us for our Whisky Hour, dine at TART Restaurant, chill at the pool, relax in the courtyard, plan your Hollywood adventure, or just enjoy our fantastic down-home hospitality. At the Farmer's Daughter boutique hotel in Los Angeles, you are surrounded by many of the best places to visit, dine and play in Los Angeles, Hollywood and West Hollywood. No matter what your flavor of fun you're looking for, whether you're here for business or vacation (or a little of both), you will find it all at the Farmer's Daughter Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Farmer's Daughter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers Daughter Motel
Farmers Daughter Los Angeles
Farmers Daughter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing