We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pasedena Walking Food Tour”

Melting Pot Food Tours
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
Los Angeles Farmers Market Small-Group Food Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 38 Food & Drink in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Melting Pot Food Tours is the original food tour company in southern California. If you are looking for new and different things to do in Los Angeles, a food tasting walking tour is sure to please. Choose from amongst Melting Pot Food Tours' flagship Original Farmers Market Food & History Tour, its highly rated Old Pasadena Food Tasting Tour, or its off-the-beaten-path East LA Latin Flavors Food & Culture Tour Private tours available with advance reservation.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
anaheim
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pasedena Walking Food Tour”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The was a great day. there was a lot of interesting informtaion about Pasadena Ol Town. Pasadena is great place to visist and we will definitly be going back to Old Town for food and entertainment.

This is a great tour and would recommend it to anyone wanting to spend a day enjoying Old Town Pasadena.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank emge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    37
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Latin food tour in LA”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

LA has a metro system?? Who knew. The Latin food tour starts from the Chinatown stations and travels through east LA on the metro system to different little shops and stalls. At each stop we get a little to eat, a little to drink and some amazing back stories; stories of hardship, of community, of family. It is really the stories that is the backbone of the tour; the food is interesting but just OK, but the stories are compelling and make the food way more interesting.
Diane and Andy, our 2 guides really did a great job with the story weaving, but were also very knowledgable chefs and answered all sorts of foodie related questions.
With respect to the food: All the little things that we tasted were delicious, but lacked a little excitement -- I was hoping to try more esoteric stuff like Huitlacoche etc.
But none the less a super way to spend a few hours in LA - plus it was fun talking smack about the FoodNetwork and dumbing down of food for the people who like boring food!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shayping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Fantastic tour of Old Pasadena. My husband and I received this as a gift and really didn't know anything about it or what to expect. The only thing we knew was we both enjoy good food and trying new places to eat. The owners, Lisa and Diane, were very accommodating with our having to reschedule 2x because my husband came down with shingles. Our tour guide, Nick, was great and very knowledgeable on the area. There were 15 people in our group and he made it a point to talk to everyone one-on-one... he was patient and yet kept us all on schedule!

The thing that impressed me the most was the relationship that the Tour Company seemed to have with each of the establishments. Every one of the business we visited made us feel very welcome and were very hospitable. We visited all kinds of eating places, from hole-in-the-wall, to very nice dining rooms. They each made fresh food for us (carne asada tortas, falafel, orange chicken, filet of beef, dim sum, and 3 Peruvian dishes). You definitely will not go away hungry... in fact, eat a light breakfast! We also visited (and got to try) a gelato shop and a chocolate shop.

We have lived in the Los Angeles area for over 40 years and have never ventured to Old Pasadena before. Because of The Melting Pot Tour, we now know what a great place it is and what hidden gems are there. We are already planning our trip to go back to Old Pasadena, and one of the restaurants we went to on the tour.

We are also looking at taking another one of The Melting Pot tours... maybe the East L.A. one? Maybe this time, we will take our friends!

Thank you, Diane and Lisa! Great business!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Our choice”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had three choices of excursions in or about L A,

Want a relaxed experience, with time to eat - enjoy and learn?

Then listen to Diane, she involves you into the market`s world and the characters that work
in and live within the Market.

Buy white anchovies, eat morsels that taste as good, as you see them.

Australia votes - #1

Toby and Kathy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very interesting tour of Old Pasadena. You will visit lots of interesting restaurants (some of the hole-in-the wall variety), eat more tasty food than you would ever prepare for your own lunch, and learn some history of this old place. We loved it. Be sure to avoid eating too much for breakfast and don't plan to go that evening to a classy restaurant for a big meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lionel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melting Pot Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Melting Pot Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing