We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Venice Breeze Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Room was nice & spacious. Was clean apart from the kitchen area although we didn't use that area. The walls were very thin and kept being woken up by banging doors and people coming in late at night.
location is great as right next to the beach and took us about 30 mins to walk to Santa Monica Pier. location during the day is good as lots going on... but at night is a different story...
We went out to get something to eat (firstly no good restaurants near by)! As soon as I walked out the hotel I did not feel safe!! Apart from the homeless on the street which were fine, we got offered drugs as we walked down, a random guy started talking nonsense to my husband and then the random guy run down and punched a guy who was just walking passed, by this time I was ready to go back to the hotel with no dinner! The police came within 2 mins though!

I will not be returning to this location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcuk8381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear dmcuk8381, Thank you for the review and staying with us. We are pleased you liked our suites and location and will address the cleanliness of the kitchen with our staff. We are adding some soundproofing to the doors and thank you for input. We are surprised you did not find any good restaurants. We are only 2 blocks from Abbot Kinney where there are numerous award winning restaurants such as Gjelina, Primitivo and The Tasting Kitchen. Venice Beach is a very active and diverse place and not for the faint of heart. We hope you have a safe and pleasant rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We (me and my 3 teenagers) spent just one night at the Venice Breeze Suites before moving to a swankier location in Hollywood. In retrospect, always a fine thing, I would have stayed on there and used it as a base as it is generously equipped (everything you need and some nice extra touches like an iPod Dock), the reburbishment is attractive loft style, well laid out, and it's right on the beach. Had a great swim under the eye of the lifeguard before packing up and moving on. The homeless people in the street outside were unthreatening and slept well. Much less noisy than the constant traffic in Hollywood as it turns out. It is a long drive (took us ann hour) into Hollywood/Beverley hills but it was interesting and there are plenty of day parking for 6 dollars.
Santa Monica pier is a 40 minute stroll up the sea front and there is also a lovely bike track all the way. We walked to the pier, then into the shopping area (4 blocks in) and got supper and the took a taxi back for 12 dollars.
Hotels instructions for arrival and parking are detailed and good. Parking is secured and free. Service is discrete but willco. Bring matches and a torch to use the gas BBQ on the roof terrace!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Team C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello Team C C and thank you for the great review. We are pleased you took advantage of our great location by visiting Santa Monica and jumping in the ocean! We hope you enjoyed using the guest roof top grill and please next time just press the black button to start the flame instead of using a torch. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Venice Breeze Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I brought my son to the Venice Breeze suites for a few nights this spring. All in all we were quite impressed with this place. I had spent hours pouring through reviews and am pleased with our final decision. We booked an ocean front suite on the 4th floor. Upon arrival I thought the place was cute, well appointed but smaller than I had anticipated. The hard wood floors and design were attractive and efficient. The one bed was comfortable but small for two people. I had to share the double bed with my 21 year old son because the "pull out" couch was completely non-functional. It was very short and covered with some unexplained debris/hair on it. There weren't any sheets to put on it.. so sleeping on it was not an option. The view from our ocean front studio suite was nice. It did not feel "panoramic" as the windows were between large areas of brick. I think next time I will save a $100 a night and get the partial ocean view and get the same benefit. I enjoyed that it was well stocked with nice dishes and silverware. Came in handy when we ordered take out one night. It was also walking distance to many great places to eat. We also walked to the Santa Monica pier and rode the ferris wheel and other rides. What a great time! We loved the action right outside our door and weren't bothered by the unique people. I do work in the mental health field.. So perhaps I am desensitized to such things. We bought some great stuff from vendors on the boardwalk. The roof top deck was beautiful (also smaller than I'd anticipated)... But a great place to relax if I could catch a moment when it wasn't overflowing with people. The 2nd night we were there a large group of people got stuck in the elevator. The fire department had to come and spent a couple hours trying to "rescue" these people. We spent the remainder of our stay having to go up and down the stairs and had to haul our luggage down four flights of stairs to check out. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Venice Breeze Suites and would likely stay again.

Room Tip: Ocean front suites are not worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancySparx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello Nancy,
Thank you for staying with us and giving us a nice review. We apologize about the sofa bed, we will be putting instructions in the suites on how to properly use them and that all the extra bedding is in a stow away compartment on the side. As for the cleanliness, we have brought this to the attention of our cleaning staff and they are paying extra attention to these sofa beds. Yes during your stay we did have guest that thought they could fit all 6 of them in our 2 person elevator and the result was a broken elevator for several days. We have ordered new signs for the elevator warning our guest not to overload it and hopefully this will prevent any down time with it in the future. We are glad you enjoyed all the things to do in our area and please contact us directly for your next stay at manager@venicebreezesuites.com so we can provide you with a special offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My very good friend from Australia was visiting and I suggested a couple of nights on Venice Beach. What a great find! Clean, modern with remnants of the old brick, fabulous kitchen, and more. The bedding and towels were great and better than expected for a vacation rental. I know it's gone through a recent refurbish...great job! I've already referred this place to others. We will be back. Thanks for the excellent service as well.

Room Tip: upper floor (we were on 4th) with partial ocean view toward the beach end. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank n2dzine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello n2dzine2,
Thank you for the "perfect" review! We are very pleased you found us and recommended your friends to stay with us. Your feed back on our linens and service is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay if you want to be right in the middle of the action at Venice Beach.

Our suite was newly refurbished and had everything we needed. The fold out bed in the living space made it comfortable for our group of 3.

The staff were very accommodating and the recommended restaurants were great.

We took advantage of the hotel discount at J's Bike hire and spent the day cycling from Santa Monica to Marina del Ray.

There were a lot of street people living on the beach nearby, but they didn't bother us. It was a bit noisy at night, but really good value.

Construction in the foyer looked like it was almost complete and didn't really disrupt our stay.

We would come back again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Jane,
Thank you for the great review and staying with us during our remodel. We are glad you took advantage of J's bike rentals discount and enjoyed your suite. We are on the final phase of the work and will soon be enjoying our new Handicap lift and suites as well as the other improvements we have made through out the property. Hope to see you again and have a safe trip home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here after coming back from cabos as we needed to transit back to LAX the next day. The room is quaint but was annoyed by the construction work at 8:30am. A bit pricy for what it is in CA. There are lots of homeless people sleeping outside hotel which it did bother us a bit. They could make the hotel much more vibrant since they have a roof top, eg installing a bar since it does have an amazing sea view from it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank drsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Shufan, Thank you for staying with us after your trip to Cabo and writing are review of our suites. We apologize for the inconvenience our remodel caused you and we do make efforts to let guest know when they are booking that this is occurring at this time. We have made some improvements with the homeless and they do not sleep on our property or directly outside our hotel. There are hotels that have roof top bars here by the beach but we feel our guest enjoy bringing the drinks of there choice and not having to pay $8 to 15$ a cocktail. We do offer a BBQ, mini fridge and sink on the roof top and there are picnic baskets in the room as well as wine glasses, wine openers and all the essentials you would need to take up to the roof terrace and have a great time. We are expecting the majority of our remodel to be done in the next week or two and hope to see you in the future when it is all done. Please contact me directly at Manager@venicebreezesuites the next time you make a reservation so I can make sure you are satisfied. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Positioned on the beach in Venice Beach.
Great views, but many homeless people just in front of the hotel.
Room nice, but needing some refurbishment
Personnel very friendly and helpful
Gave a real holiday atmosphere

Room Tip: Take one with view on the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear BrunoMBrussels, Thank you for your review and glad it felt like a real holiday! We are addressing the homeless kids outside with city officials and the homeless have been harmless and stay with themselves. Right now we are in the middle of refurbishing all of our suites, hotel front office, lobby, stairwells, roof terrace and adding a handicap lift which will make us one of the only hotels on Venice Beach that can accommodate the handicapped including 2 suites with roll in showers and two suite for the hearing impaired. We look forward to your return and showing you the new improvements. Happy Holidays from all the staff here at Venice Breeze Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,345 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 354 in Los Angeles
792 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#96 of 354 in Los Angeles
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#55 of 354 in Los Angeles
551 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,911 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Breeze Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Breeze Suites

Address: 2 Breeze Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: £136 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Breeze Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip ocean-front Hotel on the Venice Boardwalk. Ocean and Boardwalk Views available. Each suite features a unique blend of cutting-edge design and classic Venice Beach charm. Air conditioned with kitchens. Nothing on the boardwalk compares. The award-winning Venice Breeze Suites offer state-of-the-art amenities, unmatched access to all the excitement and comfort without any compromise. Once you visit, you'll never want to leave. Ocean view roof deck with BBQ and loungers! Venice Breeze Suites offer both Studio and 1 Bedroom Apartments. Contact us for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Venice Breeze Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Breeze Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing