We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyland Motel Van Nuys
Ranked #313 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Hyland Motel has an extravagant website. Almost nothing advertised on that website is accurate. Whenever we asked for something that was promised from the website, the management gave excuses and would/could never provide. The shower did not work; the toilet seat was broken; the parking lot was not secure. We stayed for a week and the room was not cleaned once. The management took no responsibility for any of these issues, blamed others but would never fix the problems. Prostitutes were on the property on a regular basis, stalking around to find clients.

Room Tip: We were given three different rooms during our week there. Instead of fixing problems, management ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank storbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

No remote controle for tv. Then when you try to turn the volume up or down the channel changes. I went to take a shower turned the water on and the complete faucet popped off! Then the desk guy came and fixed it but still no pressure. The towels were the size of washclothes. Burnt out lightbulbs. Practicaly no power outlets. I took my shoes off and went barefoot for 1 hour on the hardwood floor and the bottoms of my feeet were black.
Just gross. 95 dollars. Complete waste of money because at around midnight we couldnt take it anymore and just packed up everything and continued our trip.
But yes plenty of prostitutes nearby if thats your thing. It is Not mine.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RobnBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Have stayed in this place once before. It is a great price for one night stay. It is a clean motel with fence around the building; free parking; free wi-fi; clean sheets & towels; large room; and it looked like the floor was recently re-done - nice job. Nothing fancy here. Just a clean room at a reasonable price for the night. Last time there was a microwave & refrigerator in the room, this time, there was no microwave.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margeskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a bunch of friends for one night. The price was good so we said why not to try. We had a fridge in our room, a/c and wifi. There is a fence around the building, which gives you some kind of safety at night. Free parking, next to gas station and stores. Clean beds, not enough towels though. In this price I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szyn3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

If you really need a clean place to stay for a night as you are driving through the town, this is a good deal. Clean bed & towels. Has a small refrigerator & microwave (didn't need to use it). Some lights were missing bulbs. Has a working TV & free WiFi. The price was cheaper than the surrounding motels (cheaper than Motel 6!!! Hard to believe).

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margeskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in the 3 bed room. it was excellent, the rooms were clean and had everything we needed. it fit our family of 6 perfectly. We got it at a good price. was better than i had expected this room to be. There are many convinient stores and supermarkets around and very close to universal studios. in a good safe part of town.The Staff were very friendly even invited us to his room to look for cheap tickets for Disneyland online. Wifi worked arounf the whole room and the staff was very nice very friendly, i will happily come back to this place again.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel everything and more for the price we got it for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amandaBhillsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel rooms has 4 ceiling lights in each room but only two light bulbs attached. Hotel rooms seem been remodeled but smelled badly. I saw one quest came alone for one-hour rental, I am not sure it was for drug traffic or not. Dirty carpets in the rooms and hallway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hills168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#147 of 355 in Los Angeles
50 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
North San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
#158 of 355 in Los Angeles
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#184 of 355 in Los Angeles
36 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#137 of 355 in Los Angeles
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyland Motel Van Nuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyland Motel Van Nuys

Address: 7041 Sepulveda Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91405-2959
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £76 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyland Motel Van Nuys 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyland Motel Van Nuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyland Motel Van Nuys Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing