We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect oasis in the middle of the city.”
Review of Hotel Figueroa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Figueroa
Ranked #148 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect oasis in the middle of the city.”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I recently spent a weekend exploring downtown LA and decided to make this hotel our home base. We couldn't have been happier. The hotel is so unique, you feel that you are staying in some old colonial hotel in North Africa until you look up and see that you are in fact in downtown LA. My only advice is to keep in mind that it is an old building in a busy part of town and light sleepers might want to bring some earplugs. We will definitely be back and next time we will upgrade to a Moroccan Suite although the normal room was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lila74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for your gracious comments. You are correct as to the activity from LA Live across the street. It is the most vibrant part of downtown.
We have our original windows which open so the noise might seep through, We like these windows a lot and will probably never change them. We do have some rooms facing west and they would be quieter. You can even see the Hollywood sign.Ask for me next time and I will take you on a tour.Again I thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    238
    166
    70
    98
See reviews for
80
192
69
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Here's the deal--I've never stayed at this hotel over night, but did go here for some down time after covering a USC-UCLA game.

You would never know this hotel is so nice judging by the hotel's stick-letter roof top sign. The lobby is old Spanish mission style and it's beautiful.

I met some friends at the pool bar for some drinks and had a blast. It's where the beautiful people hang out. I will say our drink server was not very attentive. I ended up just leaving our pool-side table and getting my drink from the bartender.

If you don't want to go to LA Live for some late-night people watching after a USC football hame, this is a great alternative.

Nickname of this hotel by the locals is Hotel Figgy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SportsReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you. I am glad you liked us .Actually we don't have any waitresses ..just the bartenders..we don't want our guests to feel that they are pressured to order drinks/..on the contrary..a great many guests just come for the ambience and music..no cover no minimum..so thank you again and please do come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audiojay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at this place many years ago and decided to revisit it for a recent trip to Los Angeles. The best way I can describe this hotel is that is an oasis in downtown LA. You walk in and you're transported to a different world. The architecture is kind of latin, kind of Moroccan. Lots of arches, lots of colors. Great, friendly staff. Our room was a regular room with a king bed (I believe). It was a bit oddly laid out, but comfortable and quiet, other than noise from the street (which can be substantial if there is a lot going on at the neighboring arenas). The window air conditioner helped mask some of the street noise, but sirens cut right through it. There was a ceiling fan above the bed which is probably all you really need on everything but really hot days. The bed was comfortable but nothing to write home about. The room had a desk, a couple of comfortable (not cushy) chairs, an ottoman, a dresser, a table. Colors tended toward rich red tones. Two closets, one didn't seem to be used often and had a musty smell, but the other was just fine. Things that seemed to be missing were an ice bucket, lots of blurbs about the hotel itself, and a mini-bar stocked with too-expensive treats. The hotel has a parking lot our back which seems really small for a hotel this size (12 stories) but we always had a space. One note about the lot is that you must turn into it off of Olympic and cannot get to it from Figueroa. You'll need to wave off all of the parking attendants if there is an event going on and tell them you're staying at the hotel. If you need web access or want to print your boarding pass, you can use a small netbook at the reception desk. The first five or so printed pages are free. The lobby and kitchen area are very comfortable and there were always people in them, unlike some hotels that feel too cold for humans to feel at home in. The two days we were there, the kitchen had a buffet breakfast that was good and inexpensive (priced by the item so you could choose what your meal cost, not just what you wanted). They'll even make you a latte or espresso if you prefer. Wander out back and you discover the bar/pool area, which looks and feels a lot like you're in a tropical paradise and not in downtown LA. Stay here for the vibe, the atmosphere, and the location. Don't stay here if you're expecting the Four Seasons treatment. If I need to visit downtown LA again, the Figueroa will be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the exterior of the hotel can be noisy when there are events in downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audiojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking time out to write such a long review.
It seems all positive to me...I should point out however that we have 200 parking spaces..$12 per day in and out priviledges ( theJW across the street is $40) ..also our box springs and mattresses are less than 6 months old..we buy from Serta.it is a Congressional Suite Supreme, considered to be of the highest quality.
Once again we are a tourist class hotel. nothing special frankly but a bit different and fun..we don't take life too seriously...come back and I will show you how we are painting our doors..problem is since they are so exquisite that it may be a let down once you enter the
room.
Thank you again for your time. Appreciate it..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This property is right across the street from "LA Live", which is a great location. It boasts a lovely pool/bar area, which is truly beautiful and romantic. The rooms are very tired, but still charmimg. The bathrooms could use some updating, especially the towels! They are worn and extremely thin, so it was like drying yourself off with sandpaper. Seriously, this is our biggest complaint, but it can be a deal-breaker.
Other than that, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff was more than accommodating.
However, the bar could use a few more wine choices other than just red and white.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaplanvsKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you...the tired look,,,actually on purpose..the cement floors and the persian area rugs,,the armoirs..regular TV's..the huge wonderful original leather chairs..original tubs..we realize that our style is not for everybody..but chances are we will never change.
Try to offer a good deal, great location..the bar is the way it has always been..no cover no minimum, no cocktail waitresses harassing you...back to the rooms again.those wonderful armoirs were purchased from the Bel Air Hotel about 15 years ago..real wood..truly magnificent..then of course our Botero's adorn the walls....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Front desk was poor, food was bad, hotel not clean enough. Good was they have a parking lot.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
This is simply plain nasty.
The staff at the front desk have been here for many many years and they are so very nice and efficient. Same goes for the maids. They clean their rooms as if it were their own living rooms. Truly take pride in their work.
Food....I don't know what you ate....breakfast buffet in the morning, you pick what you want and pay for what you pick,.. dinner, simple menu for the convenience of our guests...you have 15 restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Glad you liked our parking..$12 per night, JW Marriott across the street $40, Luxe $25....please try those hotels next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Great hotel, Moroccan theme. Hotel is very old but kept up very well. Beds are comfortable and hotel is clean. Nice pool and bar area. Staff was great. Ale' carte breakfast very reasonable. definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickMalizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words. Yes hotel is old (as am I) but we are well maintained.
Water pressure is important, plenty of hot water. new box springs and mattresses, maids who take personal pride in maintaining their rooms..really very basic..room keys, windows open, reasonable prices including parking $12 per day..the JW across the street is $40 and the Luxe $25..that makes a big difference..all in all real good value.
Many thanks again. Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Figueroa in downtown Los Angeles boasts an incredible location! It is nestled near to the Staples centre, Los Angeles Convention Centre & Nokia theatre, and a short distance from downtown's noted museums and art galleries. Having never stayed downtown before, I was incredibly pleased that it allowed me to walk between venues, and take in some of the jewels of DTLA.

The details of it's Moroccan theme are apparent throughout the venue, from the lobby and the lounge, all the way down the beautifully tiled covered walkway that leads past the pool, to the hotel's gated back entrance.

Each floor has a unique collection of furniture, plants, earthenware, draperies and carpeting, that invokes a warm feeling. Every inch of the hotel, from ceiling to floor, invokes an exotic, rustic charm, that challenges won't let you to believe you're in a hotel in North America.

Our double room at the Figueroa had an odd floor plan featuring, an entry way with large, walk in closet, followed by a long, narrow room, that extended left, into the corner of the building. Our bathroom was also quite narrow, which despite it's square footage being decent, made it quite cramped, and impossible to be used by more than one person at a time. There were no additional mirrors in the room, so this made getting ready a little bit slower than in a larger room.

Be sure to think of your usage and requirements before booking just any room here, as they each deliver a slightly different, foreign flavoured experience.

If you've ever traveled abroad, you will immediately understand this hotel's unique charm, and appreciate it for all of it's lovely details. However, if you are used to and more comfortable with the duplicate nature of hotel chains, and prefer the expected and antiseptic, you will have a hard time with this hotel.

As always, there is something for everyone out there. The Figueroa is a beautiful, artisan, boutique hotel, and will be appreciated by those looking for something out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Because this hotel is does not have a "cookie cutter" lay-out, be sure to be explicit when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupcakedujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
It is early Saturday morning. Your review makes me very very happy. You are absolutely correct in your constructive comments. When I arrived on the scene there were 345 rooms, many of them without a private bath. I therefore had to combine quite a few. I created an archway which I stencilled to look more important. Having been built as a YWCA the hotel lacks the grandiose heritage of the Biltmore for example. Some of the bathrooms are narrow. Out of the 285 rooms we have I believe 150 rather decent rooms. Those we offer for conventions and other travellers and they are well received. The balance we offer to foreign tourists who pay less. The combination has worked well for us and we supposedly have the highest occupancy in town.Many hotels in LA are better than we are but I really love this place.
Thank you once again..time to feed the sparrows in the garden..they expect scrambled eggs and Japanese rice at this hour. Then Tiger the feral cat wants his breakfast..hard work to be a manager...all the best to you and many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#36 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#142 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#90 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#217 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Figueroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Figueroa

Property: Hotel Figueroa
Address: 939 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1302
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Figueroa 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Figueroa was recently restored to its 1920's Spanish Colonial splendor. There are 268 room and suites, all designed with comfortable elegance and in-room technology in mind for today's modern traveler. With two destination restaurants and four bars, a grand and expansive lobby, and breathtaking pool area, Hotel Figueroa stands at the center of Downtown LA's vibrant arts scene, attracting locals, foodies, artists, and all manner of creatives as well as the discerning traveler. At the heart of DTLA’s thriving culinary and cultural renaissance, Hotel Figueroa is located across the street from LA Live, the Staples Center and the Los Angeles Convention Center, and is in close proximity to the Los Angeles Performing Arts Center, the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) and the Broad museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Figueroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Figueroa Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing