We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel”
Review of Hotel Figueroa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Figueroa
Ranked #150 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel is very unique compared to many other hotels. It is Moroccon theme and some families with children may not particularly like the walkways to the rooms, it's a little bit scary at night cause its dark. Rooms were fairly big, breakfast was small, dinner has a small manu. Location wise is ok, Metro was a 10-15 min walk, Staples stadium was next door. There was a FANTASTIC dinner near by, opens 24 hours, the breakfast was DELICIOUS. Overall good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCGM, Manager at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Max L,

Thank you so much for your review, we truly appreciate the feedback. Without feedback such as this we cannot continue to improve our service and our property! Again thank you so very much! Yes are in the midst of a pending renovation so our food and beverage offerings are limited however they are still very good in our opinion. That being said as we go forward we will eventually be offering a much wider range of food and beverage offerings that truly encompass the spirit and originality of the property.

Again thank you so very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Colin McBeath
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Figueroa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

I didn't stay here but I spent a LOT of time in the bar/pool area. It was a beautiful oasis after sitting in the convention center all day long. You don't even realize you're in downtown L.A. It was relaxing and calming. My friends and I enjoyed the atmosphere and the AMAZING Mojitos!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a stop over in LA for 5 days and wanted something cheap as we wanted to do the Tourist bit and have a look at LA. This Hotel was just the Job, the decoration is amazing and I think most of the stuff comes from Maroco. The room was not so hot (well it was hot if you didn't have the AC running), It was small with a very small bathroom, the Windows were barred and mostly taken up with the AC machine. Well we were not there for the room so it didn't seem to matter.
The pool in the garden was a highlight and the Drinks were not so expensive.
It was very cheap, I think around €80 a day with breakfast. LA is a great City and we were glad we stopped there.

Room Tip: If you want a good room you must pay a bit more. We had the cheapest but there were other ones that...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I took my children here as it looked like a fun place to stay and it had some great looking pictures on their web page.
The hotel is situated in Downtown LA just down from the Staples and Nokia centres.it has a lovely swimming oil surrounded by a Mexican Looking garden full of cactus.the rooms are a bit basic but the building was originally a YMCA so you get the idea of sizes although ours was big enough for the three of us.the lobby and entrance look amazing and has featured in many a TV show and films.an advert was being shot one morning which was fun to watch.
It is an ideal central LA position if you are planning on travelling...

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Mottrexruger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place is something else - They do everything old school - real keys (not swipe cards) no computer - no email confirmation. The rooms have no iron, no alarm clock, no cups or coffee pot in the rooms. NOT good for a business trip - I was scheduled to stay for a business conference but there was no iron in the room - not very impressive to show up in a wrinkled suit.
Additionally, it is really really dark with gold and red walls making it quite scary if you are not comfortable with big city LA - Coming in at night....Creepy! The wall décor - not child appropriate - my daughter asked why there were naked ladies on the wall (it was supposed to be artistic, but....)

Room Tip: IF you MUST stay here ask for a room not down a dark creepy hall
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSCGM, Manager at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Grandville traveller,

Thank you for the time and effort you took to provide feedback on your most recent stay. Firstly let me so that I agree with most of what you are saying. Thus we are in the midst of an extensive renovation to make this historic property into the luxury hotel that it was originally designed to be. The hallways are currently not well lit and the current design is very "specialized" so it is truly was not decorated to appeal to everybody, However that being are progressing daily with improvements and amenities that we feel will be met with very positive feedback from out guests. We look forward to sharing these with you we go forward.

Sincerely,

Colin McBeath
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. The check in was easy and the staff were accomodating and friendly. I choose this hotel because it had pretty good reviews and being DTLA I didn't want to get stuck in another roach motel like my previous experience. We attended the BET Experience at Staples Center, we were very close and it is easy walking distance about two blocks. We were close to the FIGON7TH which provides many places to eat. The room itself was fine, enough space to relax and get ready for our evening.If you are looking for something over the top and fancy this isn't the place for you. I must say the decor added much flavor tot he hotel and lobby as well as our room. There are no coffee makers in the room and remember it's downtown so it's very nosy during the night. The bed was very comfy and The Fig provided extra pillows which was a nice plus. The tv was not a newer one and it didn't get many stations but we didn't do much tv watching. The parking lot is behidn the hotel and has security surveillance 24 hrs a day. There was a guard on duty when we arrived in the afternoon. Parking is $12 a day. The food was good, the bar was cool, you must have a drink and sit by the pool. Overall, I happy with the room and the location. I wouldn't really recommend this hotel for families with young children. Oh yeah , the hall ways between rooms and elevator were really hot and muggy. The room old school a/c worked great. I will stay here again if attending a concert at the Staples Center.

Room Tip: If you are planning on staying here a few nights ask for the quieter rooms if they exsist.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARMANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms are very small and have very little technology in the room. The tv is from the late 90's and the hvac equipment is ancient. Wireless isn't complimentary and the dining area is mediocre. The only positive is that it's very easy to walk to the Staples Center and the convention center.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#55 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,228 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#76 of 353 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#151 of 353 in Los Angeles
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#98 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,255 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Figueroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Figueroa

Address: 939 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1302
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £261 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Figueroa 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Figueroa was recently restored to its 1920's Spanish Colonial splendor. There are 268 room and suites, all designed with comfortable elegance and in-room technology in mind for today's modern traveler. With two destination restaurants and four bars, a grand and expansive lobby, and breathtaking pool area, Hotel Figueroa stands at the center of Downtown LA's vibrant arts scene, attracting locals, foodies, artists, and all manner of creatives as well as the discerning traveler. At the heart of DTLA’s thriving culinary and cultural renaissance, Hotel Figueroa is located across the street from LA Live, the Staples Center and the Los Angeles Convention Center, and is in close proximity to the Los Angeles Performing Arts Center, the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) and the Broad museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Figueroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Figueroa Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing