We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like no other hotel in the US”
Review of Hotel Figueroa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Figueroa
Ranked #148 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like no other hotel in the US”
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I've stayed at A LOT of fabulous hotels throughout Southern California & enjoyed being pampered at some of LA's ultimate luxury stays but if you want something that will truly make you feel you landed in some exotic, far away place.... Figueroa Hotel!! Smack in the middle of downtown Los Angeles (the epitome of concrete jungles) is a hotel that instantly begins to feed your senses w/the richest fabrics draping floor to ceiling (which is about 3 stories high in some parts of the lobby & lounge areas) nothing in this entire hotel lacks detail or expression. There's nothing about this place that says 'L.A.' though almost all of the guests that stay there actually live in LA! It's vibe is rich, sexy, mysterious. It has a touch of Gypsy feel to it as well with the jeweled eclectic & eccentric decor. They offer a number of Suites & of course no 2 are alike. Matter of fact, I don't think any 2 rooms in the hotel are alike. It's not somewhere that you're gonna get pampered w/the latest micro-peel... whatever-it's not that place at all. You'll fall in love with the pool at 1st sight!!! Please make it a point, even just for a couple days, to go & experience this mystical, beautiful & completely authentic Moroccan gem! It's surprisingly affordable as well! Book in advance, the weekends are had to book last minute. Here's their website: www.figueroahotel.com. It is going to take you to another place & time! highly recommend for a romantic weekend!

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — not close to LA's great shopping
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank missucali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    239
    166
    70
    98
See reviews for
80
192
69
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

The Historic Figueroa (Fig-you-roar-AH) Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles, California.
My roommate chose this hotel for herself, my daughter and me because of it being the closest walking distance (about 2-3 blocks) to the L.A. Convention Center (we attended the 2008 Screenwriter's EXPO). She also told me it was a neat atmosphere.
When I read negative reviews I became nervous about spending over $100 a night for what the reviews were saying. I decided to go with the positive reviews which included my roommate's and take a chance. How bad could it be? after all, I've stayed in Youth Hostels in Europe.
I was thrilled when I arrived in the rear parking lot to enter through a long corridor/out door court yard which was filled with plants, color and beautiful tiles. We had to park in the car wash parking lot (next to Figueroa lot) as there was a Wedding party taking over the hotel parking lot. Figueroa gave us a parking pass as they have an agreement with the car wash; so don't panic if you have to park there. Go get a pass at the front desk.
The staff were friendly and the service perfect. The men cooking and serving breakfast were sweet and very helpful. Everyone was always smiling!
Yes, the rooms had no carpet, and looked kind of "old world" but that is the POINT. The water pressure in the shower was better than most hotels I frequent.
If you want CUSH do not stay at the Figueroa. If you want historic ambiance (similar to a Tombstone Arizona B & B) and convenience to the Convention Center- then the Figueroa delivers more than you can imagine. The colors, lighting, decor, dressed employees, out door lounge and pool area-took me into a world that I wanted to stay in longer.
My only complaint? (no 5 Star rating here) No coffee pots in the rooms, signs up "Do Not bring in outside food or beverages" (yet they provide refrigerators hidden in the Television Armior and no one gave me trouble about having a cooler full of food for sack lunches and dinner); AND I did not like having to pay for a breakfast. They could at least offer free coffee and bagels.

  • Liked — The "Old-World Atmosphere" and the Service
  • Disliked — No Internet; no free coffee
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoniCido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

First off, I am sorry I read the negative reviews on this site...they really frightened me. When my husband surprised me with this trip I looked here for a heads-up to the hotel to see the amenities. We were going to the Staples Center and it was very close.

Is this a hotel for those used to all the 'extras'? NO! But is it perfect for those of us tired of the same old four walls...YES!

The ambience was great...including the silk on the walls and the tapestry on the floor. Yes, the bathroom was on the old side, but it wasn't 'disgusting' like another reviewer said.

We found the beds to be quite comfortable even though I had to climb onto it (I am kinda short and with two box springs and a mattress, once I was up...I didn't come down until morning:)

The weather was a bit warm and we kept the air conditioning unit on all day and night. And for those who complained about the concrete floors...they were nice and cool on the feet after walking around all day.

I for one will be coming back. It was a wonderful change from the ordinary.

  • Liked — The ambience was very unique...especially for downtown LA.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debsline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2008

ok well where to start hotel figueroa is most definatly a tourist trap unless your going to a convention or a concert or something in the general facility your stuck in the middle of no where unless you want to dish out $100 dollars a cab ride if your lucky you can ride to metro if there is room with the hallways smelling like something died the room was no better cracked floors with minimal repair multiple colored walls poor lighting 13 channels not really much of a selection windows with minimal view unless u like looking at more brick wall and parking lot and the occasional homeless the washroom was tight and cramped poor lighting something out of a slasher flick toilet had a sanitized sticker on it bowl had something at the bottom mildew like substance forming on the window beds were stiff i dared not take a black light to them cafe menu was another thing that could have used improvement food was mediocore bar was over priced and the bar was a joke over priced limited selection i may be coming off a little strong with this review but truth must be told the website is a lie unless u feel like shelling out the extra money for a so called theme room every part the hotel is dark if your looking to stay some where there is a holiday inn 1/2 a block up the road still in the same area

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miikey_187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We had a fabulous time at the Fig. The decore is colourful, eclectic and original. No plastic sameness in this hotel.The place has a really interesting history and great vibe.

The bed was very comfortable and the bath in the Casablanca Suite was the biggest we had ever dived into. The whole place was a visual and sensory feast . Breakfast and the bar were great. The staff were a delight - friendly, helpful and unintrusive.

We went to dinner nearby at CiUDAD which was also fabulous - Latin influenced food which was very in keeping with the Fig experience. The best Empanadas ever.

If you are into standardised everything in same same 4 star hotels then this isn't for you. If you like places that are different then you will love the Hotel Figueroa.

  • Liked — The decore
  • Disliked — I wasn't there for long enough
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellogirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Do you like clinical, predictable, have-a-nice-day hotels? Well, thank goodness not everyone does because the Figueroa is a treat for the brave.
It definitely has seen better times, I wish they would light the rooms so you can see the color - but it's not about trying to replicate an 800 thread-count prison room, this place has charm, and the minimal staff are lovely!
A restoration is needed but then it would be $400/night like the other prison rooms in major hotels. If you are in LA, particularly going to Convention Center - this is a treat for the brave!

  • Liked — funky and whacky
  • Disliked — jaded
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zing0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

I loved this hotel. I was 5 months pregnant at the time and by myself.............it was perfect. Old...yes.............but beautiful . Great breakfast, great service and the rooms were entirely comfortable. I recommend it highly for the traveler who wants something unique, safe and engaging. I would definitely go again.

  • Liked — Location and ambiance
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank akimball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#35 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,133 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#33 of 351 in Los Angeles
240 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#89 of 351 in Los Angeles
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#137 of 351 in Los Angeles
442 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Figueroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Figueroa

Property: Hotel Figueroa
Address: 939 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1302
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Figueroa 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Figueroa was recently restored to its 1920's Spanish Colonial splendor. There are 268 room and suites, all designed with comfortable elegance and in-room technology in mind for today's modern traveler. With two destination restaurants and four bars, a grand and expansive lobby, and breathtaking pool area, Hotel Figueroa stands at the center of Downtown LA's vibrant arts scene, attracting locals, foodies, artists, and all manner of creatives as well as the discerning traveler. At the heart of DTLA’s thriving culinary and cultural renaissance, Hotel Figueroa is located across the street from LA Live, the Staples Center and the Los Angeles Convention Center, and is in close proximity to the Los Angeles Performing Arts Center, the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) and the Broad museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Figueroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Figueroa Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing