We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but impressive (quality)”
Review of Hammer Museum

Hammer Museum
Ranked #90 of 547 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the Westwood Village neighborhood of Los Angeles, the Hammer Museum presents exhibitions of contemporary and historical work in all media of the visual arts plus a full roster of free public programs including film screenings, performances, lectures, readings, and panel discussions on current social issues. Admission to the museum is free.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small but impressive (quality)”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The Hammer is a perfect art museum for teens who are not particularly interested in art, but can appreciate it a little. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon just 1.5 hours before closing. It was the ideal amount of time for us to take in the temporary exhibits of modern artists, as well as a smattering of the permanent collections. The staff was friendly (except the guards, who were at least polite), the art was mostly very interesting, and some of it was downright gorgeous! The best part was the actual Armand Hammer Collection full of Old Masters. A Titian and 2 Moreaus were my favorites! We loved the courtyard, and hope to return to see more some day. We were fortunate to attend free of charge using the "Museums on Us" program sponsored by Bank of America.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    16
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

This is a terrific stop if you are in the LA/westwood area. While it is a relatively small museum it has some outstanding pieces from the great Masters. Truly a worthwhile place to spend a couple of hours. There is also a cafe but we didn't get a chance to try it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Empty spaces and not much else”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I guess you always get a snapshot of what is being exhibited on a particular day that you visit a museum or gallery, and all I can say is that on the day I went there was a lot of large empty spaces and not much to see by way of art. The core exhibits were originally a private collection, and in that context are reasonably impressive, though there's nothing like enough of them to sustain a public gallery. There were a lot more staff on hand watching visitors than actual exhibits. I was so uninspired that I actually counted them - and they were all standing around looking bored out of their minds, which is probably what made them so picky in telling visitors where to stand. The cafe was no better, and had almost nothing on sale in the middle of the afternoon, while the So a big disappointment for me after driving round the block a couple times trying to find a way into the place (it's right on Wilshire, though not signposted from the street so unless you're looking sideways at the buildings you will easily miss it). And the designated parking for the museum is down four levels of (on the day I visited) almost entirely empty space. I'll definitely not be back - there are far more impressive galleries in LA. The best thing about it is that it's in Westwood Village, which is a pleasant shopping and restaurant destination.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I like museums (a lot), and this one has a small collection with some great pieces. But I don't think they really want people to visit...and by that I mean that the experience isn't in any way welcoming. You are allowed in, and for that you should be grateful. The restaurant staff was indifferent, the guards weren't nice and we saw a performance piece that baffled the entire audience, we didn't know it had begun (honestly thought they were setting up late) and then it was over. We all raised raised eyebrows and wandered away. If they have an artwork you're interested in, then by all means -- visit. But looking for a pleasant place to spend a few hours in Los Angeles? You have a lot of other, better options.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“a small (not too) gem”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Hammer museum seems to get better and better. They know how to mount and curate a show. Their focused exhibits are much better, in many ways, than the more sprawling ones one tends to see at LACMA or sometimes the Getty. This Spring's Llyn Foulkes exhibit introduced us, with a strong retrospective, to a new artist and his body of work. Better displayed than the same exhibit in NYC, it appears. The Hammer has many participatory and spectator events as well. Easy parking. Don't overlook it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RomeTheSecondTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hammer Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hammer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing