We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Old Reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Griffith Park

Griffith Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.00*
and up
Los Angeles Movie Locations Bus Tour
Ranked #7 of 539 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Covering more than 4,107 acres of natural terrain, this is the largest municipal park and urban wilderness area in the United States, which offers numerous family attractions and activities.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“The Old Reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Need some Exercise? Want to Escape L.A.? Need a bit of Mother Nature? I enter at Riverside and Los Feliz. They have stuff for kids, and the hiking trails that lead to some of the best views.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HollywoodDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,571
    749
    122
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vast and gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Griffith Park is actually quite sprawling for a park in LA. There are several hiking trails, the observatory, The Greek Theater and other attractions to keep everyone entertained. On any given weekend, you will find tons of runners and families taking advantage of the lush grass and open space.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iannash85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“A little bit of Nature right in the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Griffith Park is a beautiful area with many things to do. There's the observatory, which is most definitely worth a visit, but there are also many hiking, biking, picnic, BBQ areas that are very nice. I enjoy the views from the observatory, and I love going hiking in the area or having get-together with friends and BBQ-ing. There's a Merry-Go-Round and a Choo-Choo train and horsie rides for the young ones, and a nice scenic area for adults. I feel relaxed whenever I come here. Oh, and there's a golf course, too! The Greek Theatre, which is my favorite outdoor venue, is also located within Griffith Park. All in all, I find this to be a wonderful place where one can feel like you're outside in nature, even though you're in the city.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GermaicanSpiceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful park, go and see it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I can't say enough about the many different and wonderful things that this park has to offer! It seems like there is something special around every corner and in every nook and cranny. There is a tiny train, lot's of big trains, a carousel, pony rides, a big zoo, a western museum, a charming little out door cafe and tons of green and shady areas to sit and picnic or play Frisbee or play with the kids on the swings and slides. It's really a treasure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank daycavtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views- watch out for the fog!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We got there just in time to see the sunset as we walked up the hill from our parking spot. Luckily I stopped along the way to take panoramics & regular pics of the hills and forrested areas. By the time we got to the observatory roof the fog had completely moved in! Everything was veiled in clouds. The building and grounds were still beautiful. I can't imagine how great the view would have been of the cityscape. Very happy I dragged my friend there even with the fog.

Helpful?
Thank Dierdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Griffith Park also viewed

 

Been to Griffith Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing