We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hike is straight up but the views are worth it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Runyon Canyon Park

Runyon Canyon Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$149.00*
and up
Runyon Canyon Hiking Tour
Ranked #20 of 536 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located off Mulholland Drive in the Hollywood Hills, this park is especially loved by dog-lovers since they can hike with their dogs without a leash.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
442 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Hike is straight up but the views are worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I recently did an early evening hike here and the time could not be more perfect. Started out about 7 p.m. with a 8:08 sunset time. We had plenty of time to reach the top to take in amazing views of the Hollywood sign, downtown LA, Santa Monica and the observatory. Tips would be expect a good incline hike, bring water, good traction shoes and a hat/sunscreen. Lots of people so a very safe hike and the four legged guys are pretty well mannered here too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinelomeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    266
    62
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Hike, Close to Hollywood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went for a Sunday morning hike, it was great to see everyone out enjoying the great outdoors, very dog friendly. Great views of LA and distant view of Hollywood sign. Gets hot so be prepared with water and choose your time of day!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

One of the things I miss about living in Los Angeles is taking a hike in this incredible park to the top of the mountain where you can view the city in its immense size. Fun thing to do is watch the planes land and observe the freedom the dogs who frequent this park enjoy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cool4lfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yoga & hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We started with a nice yoga class on the front garden, you can view the schedule on the Runyon Canyon yoga Facebook page. We then went for a hike up the hill, it took about 30 mins and was seriously hot, but a great way to see the city, and good views of the Hollywood sign. A great workout too, make sure you bring water, there are fountains to fill up at the bottom. Don't park on the closest side of Hollywood Blvd - we were confused by the signs and thought it was safe to park but luckily we saw a warden who told us it was permit only, and a lot of people got tickets. We parked on Gardner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LFKK000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you like to hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you like to hike this is your place. With a view of the city in the background and several summits that you can get to the top of and take in the view this is a great place. Also the distance and degree of elevation this is not for beginners you have to be able to hike to be able to do the whole thing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Runyon Canyon Park also viewed

 

Been to Runyon Canyon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing