We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tasting Kitchen

Tasting Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Tasting Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #505 of 9,895 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$35 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Venice
Cross street: Venice
Red Deer
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool place with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The place is very cool, staff was super friendly and great service. Food was delicious. I recommend making reservations. We didn't and almost didn't make it in but they had 2 more spots at their "community" table.

Helpful?
Thank CrossfitCornerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    56
    32
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent. Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Tasting Kitchen on Abbot Kinney is a most enjoyable evening experience. The decor (we were upstairs) is warm and inviting and small enough to allow a party of six to interact (sat in the back of the second floor...three on the bench and three in chairs) I chose the rigatoni with squid and it was outstanding. Likewise, everyone in our party enjoyed their choices. The wait staff was prompt and friendly and our server really did give us good guidance on what to order. He was right on all counts. It is clearly on the come back list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in Hip Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Tasting Kitchen is a hip, visually interesting restaurant with wonderful food.
The staff is terrific. We had a overbooking incident and the accommodation that the restaurant made for us in response was incredibly generous. They could not have been nicer about the error. When we finally sat down after a moderate wait, we found the food to be interesting and delicious. The prices were very reasonable. The restaurant is very loud, so anyone looking for a quiet retreat, this is not the place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank napoli96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OK, but why a wine bar?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This place is fun, fun, fun, by which I mean noisy, noisy, noisy. It was less than a perfect choice for us because we were with people we don't see often, and would have liked to talk; but if this isn't your group, then go, go, go. The flavors are jumping. We had the tasting menu, which means I have scant recollection, especially as we were with a wine wholesaler who sells to the Tasting Kitchen and he had brought selections from his own cellar, a lot of them, which brings up the question posed in the title: Why is this a wine bar? One of the first dishes to come out was one of those salads featuring, like, frisee and arugula brined in balsamic vinegar in the modern style, finish the dressing with a soupspoon if you like that sort of thing which most people seem to. But this is not the way you begin a wine dinner.

Maybe box zinfandels.

Anyway, a splendid time was had by all. It really is a good place. We went home with overexposed flash pictures on our iPhones and oversaturated palates and you really want to take a Before Need Walgreen's Gaviscon equivalent before you pass out, especially if you have been reading all the horrible things that acid reflux will do to your throat in a time frame that you find yourself in, after a certain age. What a world!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“**MY GO-TO DATE NIGHT RESTAURANT IN VENICE**”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

OH.MEE.GAWD.

If I found a genie in a lamp and I had 3 wishes, The TK granted them all.

**WISH #1- ROMANTIC TABLE**

Made reservations on OpenTable with no problem, requesting a romantic table. Wish was granted.

Sat in the front room near the window with a private curtain.

We actually heard ourselves speak. Bonus.

**WISH #2 - FANTASTIC FOOD**

Ordered the Chef's Tasting Menu ($50) for 3 courses

CORN SOUP (amuse-bouche)
Incredibly delicious, fresh and tasty, in a tiny but oh so efficient cup.

BUTTER LETTUCE WITH CHEESE
Wonderful starter with super fresh lettuce and wonderful cheese.

PORK CHOP WITH SAUSAGE
Good cut, well cooked, and tasted perfect. The sausage was not overly salty and tasted just as good.

MAC AND CHEESE
Probably the best mac and cheese I've ever had. The quality of cheese and the pasta was beyond awesome.

BREAD PUDDING AND RICOTTA CHEESECAKE
Nothing mind blowing, but above average.

**WISH #3 - GOOD SERVICE**
Friendly, not an ounce of pretentiousness at all. Seated without a wait. Food came out orderly. Staff was professional and friendly at all times.

Thank you, genie in the bottle for making all of our 3 wishes come true.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasting Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Tasting Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing