We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squeaky clean”
Review of Coral Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Sands Motel
Ranked #57 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 20 February 2012

If you want a cheap place to stay in the land of tinsel , you could do a lot worse than the coral sands. Room rates are $75 per night and more than worth that!.

The rooms are not up to the standards of the four seasons, but would you really expect that for
Such a low price ?. Although basic, and a little tatty , our room was the cleanest I have encountered in a budget hotel. They don't sting you for extras as a lot of cheap motels do. Included in the price is free parking, a decent safe, a coffee machine with real ground coffee, a fridge, and the best shower I have come across in any hotel including 5* hotels.

If your feeling up to it they even have a clean jacuzzi and a big swimming pool.

I wouldn't recommend it for families , as the rooms are a tad small but, otherwise, a really good find........ Well done!!.

Room Tip: Top floors best as less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights in January 2012 and was really impressed.. great location, the staff were the most friendly we experienced on our road trip from Vegas to San Fran & went out of their way to help us.. rooms were basic but clean & had everything you need.. theres a washing machine/dryer & microwave to use.. felt very safe.. free wifi & car parking!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannelips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I've been staying here off and on since 1991. It is basically the same hotel, the rooms are a good size, the staff are always super friendly (same staff several years running) and the beds are comfortable. Yes it could do with a make over but it's ok.

The biggest thing I like about the coral sands is I feel safe in Los Angeles here as to get to the room you have to be buzzed in by the staff and the hotel is not open to the street. Free off street parking and free wifi is always a good thing too.

It's reasonably priced, handy to tourist spots and good food (Thai town 5 minute walk) close to the Hollywood freeway too.

You don't get breakfast but there is a supermarket next door that does enough things for a fresh breakfast every morning.

Do your research read reviews here for other places nearby and you may end up here, I certainly will stay here again.

Room Tip: AwY from the spa pump is good, and down the back you have less people walking and talking past your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antinmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights pre-cruise in December, we wanted something central to the sights that wouldn't break the budget.
Whilst it was not a flashy hotel, it was the cleanest place I have ever stayed - all of the room was clean, every corner, lamp, the pipes behind the sink etc. someone cleaned the parking lot every morning - removing every last cigarette butt, our room (101) was on the ground floor quite near the entrance so I was worried about noise, but I was never woken once - we didn't use the pool or Jacuzzi as it was cold, but again it all seemed clean and well cared for. We had a car and there is plenty of free parking but used the metro to go to the Kodak Theatre - it's just a 5 min walk, as is a Starbucks, CVS, & Ralphs supermarket, it had a fridge which the swanky airport hotel we booked at the end of our vacation didn't, though the room was smaller - we saw couples, mixed and same sex, and families staying here I would use it again if we returned to Hollywood - because of the location, and the fact the owners clearly cared about the property - all the staff were very polite and friendly but if they didn't know us always checked our ID which was good ....recommended, as long as you are not expecting the Hilton!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanjeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I have heard sketchy things about this motel just a few years back. However, the motel has turned itself around. The location is great, within walking distance to Thai town. The metro is also just about 5 minutes walk away. There is enough parking for one car per room. The room was basic, but was clean. If you are just looking for a safe and affordable place in this area, this motel definitely fits the bill. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor towards the back for less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank road_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

If you want 4 or 5 star accommodation, this is not the place for you, but if you want a good basic place to stay in LA, this will fit the bill. Older building, but kept immaculate and you can't beat the location. Steps away from the subway, and a short drive if you have a car to all of the central city. Our room was quiet, very clean and the small refrigerator and safe were welcome additions. We didn't swim, but the pool and jacuzzi had the cleanest water of any place we've ever stayed at, and even though it is in a very busy Hollywood location, it was just far enough away from all the traffic that we never were bothered by city noise. We will stay again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the jacuzzi, pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_and_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Staff was very friendly.
Room was good, clean, fridge, ok bed, but it is very noisy so you can hear everything thats going on outside.
Pool seemed good.
Location is great.
Free parking.
Supermarket, pharmacy and starbuks 2 min walk from the motel.
It is good value for money I assume, compared to other motels in LA. It is rather expensive staying in LA, so I thought it was worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#119 of 353 in Los Angeles
685 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,158 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#120 of 353 in Los Angeles
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,179 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Motel

Address: 1730 N Western Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4830
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £73 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Hotel Los Angeles
Coral Sands Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing