We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super cozy, great location and awesome staff”
Review of Coral Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Sands Motel
Ranked #65 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super cozy, great location and awesome staff”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I may be 21 years old, but I do apreciate a good rest during a trip, and this cozy motel was just right for what we needed! The rooms are renovated and have a super confortable bed, air conditioning and a chill/ pool area. The Staff will help you with whatever you need at anytime, they are awesome. I was really surprised to get a great place to stay, on a low price range compared to other hotels in hollywood/ LA. The rooms are also very clean (I think the maids vacuum clean all rooms every morning, change towels and everithing is organized), eventhough the building may look a little old.
Coral Sands is pretty much suitable for all types of travellers, from young couples, to families and also for kids. I saw all types of people during my stay there. Its super close to a supermarket, CVS, Starbucks, and the metro red line, wich is perfect for people who, like me, didnt rent a car, but the place has a free parking lot if you do.
If you are on a budget and looking for a cozy place in a great location this is the place to be! I felt really sad when I left and will definately stay there when I go back to LA. Thank you Coral Sands, it felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    438
    199
    42
    23
See reviews for
141
449
82
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Like others have said, the place is, in general, pretty run down. It doesn't LOOK very appealing. However, as far as price/location goes, you can't really beat this place for somewhere to stay in Hollywood. The rooms are basic but very comfortable and more than sufficient!

Sure, it's a long (~45 min) walk to the main part of town, but it's an easy (~5 min) walk to the subway which takes you right there for a couple of dollars. The staff were fantastic, and were extremely helpful with directions and advice (both for Hollywood and California in general).

Like I've said in a few other reviews, as a tourist you're unlikely to do much more than sleep in your room, so I rate this place very highly, and probably the best value in Hollywood in terms of location. If you're looking for a 5* hotel, this obviously isn't your place, but independent travellers and couples on a budget will love it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed here with friends for four nights in late June. Arriving at dusk, the place looked awful. The reception area looked dreadful and, in my tired state, I quickly decided that the place looked like a crack den. My room (ground floor at the back) had certainly seen better days (as had the other rooms my friends had) but it was clean and comfortable.

I started to change my mind a little later while sitting outside in the garden area. With some nice plants, a few palm trees and some candles it was very peaceful and suddenly the place seemed to have a relaxed charm.

The area clearly isn't the nicest in LA but none of us felt unsafe at any point. The Metro is really close and there's a supermarket next door.

So yeah.. if you can look beyond the reception area and slightly worn rooms this place is a pleasant, relaxed little motel. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lackofimagination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

For 4 nights we had two rooms, top floor. Pool was beautful, ambience was nice. The motel staff was very helpful and accomodating. Aire conditioning was loud but put us to sleep. Bathroom was fine-just shower (no tub my lil one wasn't a happy camper.) Towels were thin but worked fine. Blow drier-thank god!! Washed laundry; also had computer and microwave in common room. Perfect spot to sleep and shower and relax. Close to many attractions and eats. We had a car (free paring) so anywhere we wanted to go-30 minutes due to traffic. But perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank may2004bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed for three nights and found the place perfectly functional - its not a five star hotel, but the service was good, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean. The room was air conditioned which was great although the conditioning unit was loud. My room was upstairs and away from the road so I had no problems with traffic noise. The free wifi worked well for me.
The location was good - close to the metro (two stops to Universal), a supermarket next door and less than 3km walk to Hollywood & Highland.
The place looks rundown from the outside but is comfortable & clean - I was mainly there to sleep and was perfectly satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvettevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in June 2012.Overall on first impressions we were disappointed with the look of this motel fromthe road side.
Upon entering the pool was clean with a hot tub and a small seating area this was relaxing after the madness of LA.
The rooms were compact but clean they need to be updated air con noisy and dirctly sticking out in the room .
Walls thin but most off all the room doors allfront out onto the walkway from the roomstothe exit and this is where allthe noise comes from as they are made of concrete and the doors are not very good at keeping the noise out of your room our friends asked to be moved and the staff did this straight away so good service there.
I wanted to not like this place BUT for the price, location 2 minute walk to metro, supermarket 1 minute walk good pool (but would feel cramp if every room was taken and by the pool ! ) staff friendly and helpful i came to except it for what it is a MOTEL.
Good for a short stay but has its downsides as mentioned .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel is just a minute walk to the metro station, very well-located and you can get to the main attraction like Universal Studios, Walk of Frame, Chinese theatre, etc very easily. The area looks quiet, but safe and although there's not a lot of happenings, there's a shoe shop, Starbucks, supermarket, couple of restuarants nearby.

Since we arrived pretty late at night and did not really get a very good located room as requested (we requested upper floor and ended up getting a room on first floor close to the entrance, anyhow, we knew we arrived very late and did not really complain), but the room itself is very clean, have free wifi and good enough for the price you pay in this location. The bathroom is a bit small and the shower in my room was not very easy to manage. Apart from that, it's a pleasant stay especially one of the staff was very helpful. I forgot his name, he is a Taiwanese guy and offered a lot of advices and gave us some coupons when he knew that we were going to an outlet.

One tip for the travellers is that this place also offer landuary, you need to have quarters to use the washing machine and the dryer, but if you do not have changes, you can check with the front desk. They also offer washing liquid/detergent for free. Overall, very nice hotel and would recommend to all especially those looking for relatively low budget stay in LA downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovechubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#120 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbor
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#102 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
#200 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Motel

Property: Coral Sands Motel
Address: 1730 N Western Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4830
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Hotel Los Angeles
Coral Sands Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing